We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, informative and fun private tour”
Review of That Dam Guide

That Dam Guide
Ranked #1 of 475 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small group size tours. City, Red Light District, Tulips, Windmill, Cheese & Countryside Day Tours in English. Small groups of 10 people max make for the best experience of Amsterdam. We love this city and can't get enough of it and it's inspiring history, quirky facts, hidden places & feisty inhabitants. Come along on a tour and give us the chance to make Amsterdam as special for you too!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We went and had a very enjoyable three hour tour with Lee.

Easy to contact and book and flexible, we only called with 24hr notice.

The tour took us down a route we’d never have found on our own and learned a lot about the city in a chronological order, which I guess was a benefit of our hotels location and start point.

As we are only here for a day asked to see Anne Frank’s house, was probably 30 mins walk away from where we had got to, with not so much to see, and this so ate a lot of time that I’m sure Lee had for More history of this fabulous city!

Gave a recommendation for dinner in a venue that has to be seen to be believed with local food and great service.

Thank Jeaniest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi, thanks for booking a tour with us, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your tour with Lee. Besides history and stories, what we try to do as much as we can is help you find the right things to do / places to eat for the rest of your time here. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here. It is a very precarious and somewhat daunting position here at these lofty heights and we all really appreciate you helping keep us there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"small group"
in 195 reviews
"city tour"
in 175 reviews
"great tour"
in 168 reviews
"the red light district"
in 315 reviews
"mark's tour"
in 55 reviews
"walking tour with mark"
in 24 reviews
"mark law"
in 24 reviews
"working windmill"
in 29 reviews
"ask questions"
in 56 reviews
"three hour walking tour"
in 18 reviews
"private walking tour"
in 17 reviews
"sex workers"
in 27 reviews
"apple pie"
in 38 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 31 reviews
"great overview"
in 25 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 36 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 17 reviews
Filter

198 - 202 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This tour was a perfect start to our stay in Amsterdam. It was interesting, informative and amusing. Mark is a fantastic tour guide, very knowledgeable and easy to listen to. Our group was small , 8 people, so we covered a lot of ground and did not miss out on any information. We received information on places to see and eat which will be useful to us for the remainder of our stay. The tour is scheduled for 3 hours . Ours actually was slightly over this but was so enjoyable it felt like we had only been out half that time. Don’t waste your time on larger group tours, go with That Dam Guide and you will not be disappointed.

Thank bluebells26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Bluebells! It was fun this morning and a really great example of why small group tours are the way to. When I think back and see our group sitting around a table in cafe having a beer or similar and chatting comfortably, I smile because that, to me, is what travel is all about, new places and new people happily sharing time and stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We enoyed two tours with this company. The first was a private walking tour with Rob. Rob met us at our hotel and took us on a three hour walking tour of many of the most interesting parts of Amsterdam. We got an entertaining 7 minute quick history of Amsterdam at the start and them roamed around the city with a stop mid way for a coffee break at a pretty, airy cafe that we would never have otherwise found. Very informative without being a lecture or boring. It was a great start to our city break
The next day we had a full day tour to see "tulips with Rory" which started at 8.30 and took us to the Keukenhof gardens to see an amazing array of tulips, orchids, crocuses, daffodils etc. in beautifullly landscaped gardens. The variety was totally unexpected. We got the full background to tulip mania from Rory during a Dutch pancake lunch at a quirky little Dutch pancake house and were then taken on a tour at a working windmill in a lovely medieval town called Haarlem. We were then taken for a walk around the pretty streets of Haarlem where we stopped for a coffee before heading back. Rory was a great guide with a good sense of humour. (Always something we appreciate on a guided tour. ) We had the added bonus of having along another guide, Mark, who came along to refresh himself regarding the tour. As there are only a maximum of 8 on each tour, we got two guides between seven of us! Mark also gave us some recommendations regarding restaurants and shops. We decided to forgo our original choice of restaurant to go with a thai restaurant that he recommended as he had spent some months in Thailand and obviously knew what he was talking about. Boy, were we glad! Kinnaree was fantastic. We immediately booked for a second evening when we finished our meal. Thanks Mark, Rory and Rob for making our trip to Amsterdam so enjoyable! I highly recommend them all.

Thank AnneW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Anne, thanks for coming on 2 tours with my company, It's music to my ears to her you enjoyed them and we all really appreciate you taking time out to say so here, lovely meeting you and chatting in the back seat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My sister and I enjoyed taking this tour with Rob. Unlike other companies in Amsterdam, they keep it small here and you're better off for it. Great information and recommendations - highly recommend!

Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks, groups of 10 max rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Our English friend booked this walking tour for us Australians. Rob originally was from the US but has lived many years in Amsterdam, so there were none of the communications problems/ambiguities that sometimes can arise with English second language speakers. Informative and interesting on a number of levels, highly recommend. Thanks Rob.

Thank KangarooPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Phil, thank you for your booking and review here, 4 out of 5 of us at That Dam Guide are actually from abroad, English speaking countries. I have a little theory that expats make good guides as we see things that local people take for granted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Dam Guide also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to That Dam Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing