We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
125
23
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
23
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great apartment fantastic location stairs canal lodging bathtub
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed at Eric's Prinsengracht canal house for a long weekend in August. Eric was extremely welcoming and we were able to make ourselves at home very quickly. The view out over Prinsengracht was one of the highlights, particularly enjoying the hustle and bustle of canal boats.
As mentioned by other reviewers the stairs are extremely steep and fairly narrow which makes maneuvering suitcases tricky. This is only a word of caution though as it doesn't detract from the delightful apartment.
The apartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, including a well appointed kitchen.
Having walked around the majority of the more central parts of Amsterdam we decided this was in one of the best areas. Being able to wander down to the Saturday Farmer's Market or the Nine Streets was great, without being far from many of the attractions that Amsterdam offers.
We loved this place - hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dream803137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Eric's Prinsengracht canal house is the best choice we made in Amsterdam. Eric greeted us at the door, helped us upstairs with our bags (necessary) and showed us what's around the neighbourhood, then left us to enjoy this two story apartment all to ourselves. Don't let the name fool you, this is not your North American style serviced B&B. You are on your own in a fully equipped apartment in which you can choose to eat-in or dine out at many of the fine bistros in the neighbourhood. We delighted in sitting at the table overlooking the canal, eating breakfast and watching the locals stream by on their bikes. The neighbourhood is quiet, away from the tourist crowds downtown yet only 3 minutes from a tram stop or a 20 minute walk either to downtown or the Riks Museum. area. The apartment is clean, comfortable and well furnished. One note of caution, it's a charming canal house, meaning it has extremely steep circular stairs and is not for people with mobility issues.
Great value, a true taste of old Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Absolutley amazing place to stay. Really good location. Would definitley come back here again. All the main attractions are within walking distance. Eric was a really good host and very welcoming. Beautiful views from the apartment.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wayniano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

It is a little annoying that we were given only a few days notice that the outside of the building was being renovated whilst we were there.the balcony,and canal view obscured ,by scaffolding.still Eric was good enough to give us a discount,
The only other complaint , and I am surprised no one has commented on this before is you do not have a LOCKABLE DOOR IN YOUR APPARTMENT. THERE ARE 2 appartments ,ours was upstairs open the left door Eric's appt ,open the right and go upstairs ,our APPARTMENT. Of course there is a lockable outside front door

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The place is located perfectly in Amsterdam. Close to all things in Jordaan, and easily walkable to all of the desired sites. Jordaan is a beautiful part of Amsterdam and great restaurants close by. The apartment is well furnished, and very hip, cool looking, that my teenage daughters appreciated. Eric was waiting for us when we arrived. Will return here again.

Stayed: December 2014
2  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews