We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
387
45
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
45
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh eggs tram stop concert hall van gogh museum guest kitchen lovely balcony major museums fresh flowers in our room charming b b thought of everything yogurt rooms are large small kitchen trams and buses five minute walk public transport great shower
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Our room was very cosy and we also had a small cute balcony, everything is clean and you got all you need in the bathroom. (Toothbrush, toothpaste, shampo etc) Karel even asked if we would like something special for breakfast! But the offer is really good with a kitchen with whatever you need if you want to make your own lunch/dinner.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank TheGreekSweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We absolutely love this place! Karl is great, so kind and accommodating. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and have such fun decorations! The location is excellent - right outside there is a trolley stop and it is just a short trolley ride away to everything you would want to see in Amsterdam! The neighborhood is nice and quiet, yet so close. The shared kitchen is adorable and Karl provides so many fresh ingredients, it's so nice to enjoy breakfast on the balcony. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackenziebaker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

This very small B&B (currently only two rooms for rent) has a terrific location: in walking distance of all the major Amsterdam museums, as well as a few blocks from the charming Vondelpark. Quite a few good restaurants are within walking distance, and Karel, the host, is a good source for recommendations. Getting to the city center is a longer walk, but there is a tram stop just in front of the house, and we also sometimes used Uber to get to destinations not on the tram line.

The house is full of quirky charm — Karel is the collector of the B&B name, and everywhere you look there are shelves, display cabinets, and niches full of odd and interesting items. Breakfast is self serve, in the small second floor guest kitchen, but there was always a nice supply of breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, and eggs, which you could cook however you wanted with the available cookware. The room and bathroom were clean and had everything you would expect and need. The room was charming and comfortable to hang out in, to read or to spend time watching the wild parrots that visit the small leafy back yard outside the window. Karel was a low key and unintrusive host, but made it clear he was available to help us with any needs, including purchasing tickets and making recommendations.

A couple of minor cautions: the part of the building owned by Karel is the first and second floors of a four floor flat, and we were sometimes aware of the upstairs neighbors thumping and bumping late at night or early in the morning. Because we travel with a small speaker and white noise app, this wasn’t a big bother for us, but if you are a light sleeper it might be an issue. And, like most antique Dutch buildings, this one features a breathtakingly steep staircase to get to the second floor where the guest rooms are, so if you don’t have the physical or psychological fortitude to haul your bags up ladder-like stairs, you may want to stick with a hotel with an elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtAndFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We had a great stay at the Collector, a small friendly B&B with 2 rooms. Karel is very friendly and the rooms are spacious with fun additions of all of Karel's collections. Breakfast is make-your-own- Karel provides so many nice options (eggs, pancakes, bacon, fruits, yogurts, breads, etc.). We saw people using the lovely kitchen for cooking dinner, as well. We stayed in the front room which has a nice balcony overlooking the street. Location was perfect for exploring the major museums and getting into the heart of the city by walking or tram. Karel also kindly did some laundry for us. Definitely would return!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicfish18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

What we loved was the non-hotel, more home-like atmosphere. King bed great for back (did ask Karel to possibly raise up from floor a bit) and not a trick was missed: Outdoor clothesline, great shower, covered terrace overlooking a garden with chickens and green parrots, quiet, hangers and hooks everywhere, fresh flowers, cosmetic removal pads, kitchen available all hours and well appointed with fridge, stove burners, Nespresso, and lots of breakfast options, etc. We used it for food prep for other meals / nearby supermarket! You can't have a more convenient site for public transport from the airport, for tram transport, or access via walking to the entire Museumplein and Concertgebau. We loved it!

Room Tip: We chose the covered terrace overlooking the garden for quiet (not street side) and usage in case of rain.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpokaneJan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews