We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 196
USD 185
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 237
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Manor Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
USD 161
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 334
USD 272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 268
USD 227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
USD 188
USD 172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 226
USD 207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
USD 200
USD 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
USD 361
USD 283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
387
45
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
45
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopconcert hallvan gogh museumguest kitchenlovely balconymajor museumsfresh flowers in our roomcharming b bfresh fruitthought of everythingrooms are largesmall kitchenperfect place to staytrams and busesfive minute walkpublic transportgreat shower
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Very central location. A beautiful house in a great neighbourhood, large and airy rooms and a perfect host made our stay at The Collector B&B unique. I can highly recommend this place if you're looking for a place that feels like home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The Collector B&B is a great place to stay when you are in Amsterdam. It's located right across from a tram stop and is very easy to get to from the airport (bus 197). Our room which was at the front (with balcony) was clean, tidy and warm, beds were comfortable it had a good bathroom too. It was really handy to be able to make yourself a snack/breakfast and to be able to keep items in the fridge. The collections are fun too and are what make this B&B one of kind. Karel is a helpful and welcoming host and the area around the B&B is lovely also. Would not hesitate to stay there again if we are in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Collector in April of 2012 as part of 3 weeks in UK and on the Continent. It was slightly above our original budget but ultimately well worth it. I'll save you some embarrassment now and let you know that the innkeeper Karel is a man. "Carl" would be the Americanized version of the name. He was very helpful with museum tickets and directions, but you'd do well to allow an additional 5-10 minutes if you're headed anyplace on foot (Karel must walk at a pretty brisk pace). Karel was very laid back and personable, and answered every idiot tourist question I asked. DO take him up on his offer to get advance tickets online for any attraction you intend to visit. It will generally mean skipping the queue when you get there and it almost always means a discount. In particular the Anne Frank House is timed entry only, so you'll want a reservation there if you don't want to spend half the day in line.

The Collector is easily accessible via public transit. We arrived at the Amsterdam Central Train Station and it was a short ride on the #16 Tram. You can catch a bus to the airport at a stop about one block away. The Collector doesn't have a lift if that's an issue for you.

We stayed in the "Clock Room" on the 1st floor (2nd floor if you're an American) facing the street. It was absolutely gorgeous. It is a large en-suite room with a very comfortable bed. Double french doors lead out onto a narrow balcony. We had more than enough space after staying in some fairly small hotels in London and Paris.

The kitchen is just next to the Clock Room. The arrangement at The Collector is that the kitchen is stocked with staple items and you make use of them in your own time. We found cheese, salami, fruit, eggs, milk, juice, etc. There is also a little space in the fridge for items you might purchase (I had no end of trouble finding a supermarket. Finally learned there was a Albert Heijn at 33 Van Baerlestraat about two blocks away. Helpful hint... it's UNDER the Museumplein). On the plus side, it gives one more of a home away from home feeling and you needn't worry about missing breakfast if you sleep in. Of course, it's also nice to have someone else do the cooking and washing up so you can get out the door to see the sights. It made for an interesting change in our routine, but just be aware that this is the arrangement if it's an issue for you.

The Collector is located within an easy (and very pleasant) walk of the city center and many of Amsterdam's biggest attractions. The Museumplein is less than a 5 minute walk to the north, putting you moments away from the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum, and the Rijksmuseum. The farthest afield we traveled was the Dam and the Anne Frank House, both only about 3km distant, and remember... the city IS the attraction in Amsterdam.

We both slept very well. No street noise beyond the occasional tram or bus. The area is heavily residential and nearly everyone in the city uses a bicycle, so no cars at all hours.

A very pleasant stay in a lovely B&B. Good location, friendly and helpful innkeeper. I highly recommend The Collector!

Room Tip: The Clock Room!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyldWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed for one night at The Collector. We were on a trip in Amsterdam and we thought this was better than a hotel. And it was! The Collector is a perfect looking Bed and Breakfast. The location near the Museumplein and the Concerthall without noise from the center of the city, is perfect. Also the chambers in the Bed and Breakfast were perfect looking and well cared. The rooms are very big. The host, Karel, is also very kindfull. We really recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in late Nov-early December 2012 and had a lovely time. The location is ideal, with 5-10 minute tram rides to Dam Square from the tram stop outside, we used this stop about five times all together for all our trips around town.The B&B has rightly won awards, the set-up is lovely, a shared modern kitchen fully stocked for breakfast, we made a fruit salad, bacon and eggs and lots of coffee. We are in our early thirties so we like to have comfort and safety after our wild nights out! I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a good base for the main museums and in an area with good restaurants and away from the Central madness.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinnyCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews