We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable cycling experience in Amsterdam”

Amsterdam Black-Bikes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Black Bikes Amsterdam This is the address for good looking rental bikes in Amsterdam with classic look and feel. Just like the locals ride. We offer handbuilt Dutch quality for a fair price. Riding a bicycle in Amsterdam has become an experience on your bucketlist, just like the city itself. More and more people around the world start coming back to the great sustainable invention of the bicycle. There is a lot of choice. We offer: bikes for children, tandem bikes and cargo bicycles. Amsterdam is beautiful. Canals with trees alongside, green parks and classical buildings; we’ve got it all……go see it on a Black Bikes bicycle. In summer or wintertime Amsterdammers are on their bicycle. It’s a way of living.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We hired bikes here after doing some research and this seemed a good option as you could return to different shops over the city. Be aware you need a credit card (not debit card) to rent them otherwise you have to leave a very hefty deposit!! The bikes were fine and great to get around the city. would have been nice for the assistant to check the height of my bike as it was too high and we had to do it ourselves. But returning them was easy and really useful.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBikes, Manager at Amsterdam Black-Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks for your great feedback!
Yes, dropping-off your bike in one of our 13 shops in Amsterdam is easy and quick! :)

We're sorry to hear that the renter didn't check the height of your bike, normally we do it for every customer

Hope you had a great time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hand brake"
in 6 reviews
"bike shop"
in 7 reviews
"renting a bike"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyed cycling"
in 4 reviews
"rental experience"
in 3 reviews
"shop manager"
in 3 reviews
"rental process"
in 3 reviews
"whole process"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
"three hours"
in 4 reviews
"red light district"
in 5 reviews
"brakes"
in 21 reviews
"pedal"
in 16 reviews
"tandem"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 14 reviews
"height"
in 4 reviews
"riders"
in 3 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We wanted to rent 2 bikes they were super nice and friendly and they had good bikeswell located , different places to drop the bikes off

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank AnnaSasot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBikes, Manager at Amsterdam Black-Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for this feedback! Hope to see you again in Amsterdam !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Waited for two times 40 minutes and could not get info or bikes. Slow staff with no idea what they are doing. Never go back

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank IstvanM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBikes, Manager at Amsterdam Black-Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Istvan,

Thank you for your feedback

We are sorry to hear that, we are going to review this with our team ! If you want you can send us an email and we will offer you a good discount !

We hope you enjoy your stay in Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutly Perfect staff and services, you can get bike in one shop and leave it in 13 Around the city which makes this trip really good! Best way to see city IS rent a boat and bike. This IS must be in Amsterdam !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LukasZ317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBikes, Manager at Amsterdam Black-Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thanks Lucas for your nice feedback.
Have a good trip back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We wanted to rent bikes as a fun and quick way to get around Amsterdam. We used Google maps and looked at a few nearby bike rental shops. The prices we available on the websites so we could compare. Black bikes was the closest to us with a resonable price. £17.50 for 24 hours, including insurance and locks. Some places looked cheaper but listed rental prices without locks and insurance. Once you add those on most places were offering roughly the same price.

The Staff were friendly and welcoming. Bikes were excellent quality. We really enjoyed cycling around Amsterdam depsit the -7 temperatures. Cycling was better than walking in the cold as it warmed us up and got us from place to place quicker.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank TyBeasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBikes, Manager at Amsterdam Black-Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback! So happy that you enjoyed your trip, even with the -7°. Hope to see you soon in Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdam Black-Bikes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Black-Bikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing