We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Axo Houseboat

living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
living room
living room
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
sunset view
exterior of boat
part of the Light Festival 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Steve P
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great accommodations, great location, great landlords. We stayed here over Kings Day 2014 and had an amazing time. A unique experience to be able to sleep on a houseboat on the Amstel. The rocking of the boat was minimal, and did not bother us at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The fact that we got to sleep on a houseboat
Liked least: Was hard to find where to pick up our keys
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizab0b
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I don't understand the negative reviews”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

If this isn't the perfect place to spend a long weekend in Amsterdam then you're not the kind of person who wants to spend a long weekend in Amsterdam.

We had a wonderful 4 night stay in the axo houseboat at the end of March..
The boat is in a great location, not too busy but everything you want is a short walk away. The boat was clean, had everything we needed and was more spacious than we expected.

The shower (which, contrary to a previous review, was very easy to operate) was great, so much more powerful than I expected, considering we were on a boat. There was a bit of a smell, like you get when you're on a boat but we just propped the bathroom and bedroom doors open to let the air circulate and it was no longer noticeable. Sightseers go by during the day and some of them are even having fun but... you're on a canal boat in Amsterdam. You can wave at them, take pictures of them, ignore them or dance naked for them but you can't be surprised that they're there. I didn't need earplugs to get to sleep in the most relaxed and groovy city in Europe. Incidentally, the beds were very comfortable.

Simon was very helpful but not at all intrusive. We arrived many hours after we were expected and I hadn't been ab le to get in touch and we were given a lovely welcome after a very stressful day.

Lastly, the dreaded cycle lane or "freeway", would you believe it... Bikes.... In Amsterdam, and there was no warning before we booked our flights!

We had a wonderful time.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thanks Debbie, so glad you had a nice time. hope to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thanks Olivier, it was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brulee C
Mobile, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Axo Houseboat is centrally located and has everything you need!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked online and the description and pictures were accurate. Very spacious, very clean and has everything you need. Even the bathroom was roomy for a houseboat! TV, WiFI, IPod dock, pots, pans, linens, umbrellas are all there.

Centrally located with two grocery stores (one organic), liquor store, bars and cafes within the surrounding few blocks. The "Hop On-Hop Off" dock is right across the canal - very convenient. Taxi and Uber always readily available.

This is a great home base to explore the city. Simon is very helpful! We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view - it's everchanging!
Liked least: No bathroom fan but you can't have everything...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing