We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair deal and good location”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #153 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We took two rooms just for one night, as we were on a stop-over in Amsterdam. Having read previous reviews, I asked for rooms in the upper floors to make sure we were not given the ones downstairs, almost basement. Good thing we did, the rooms were two floors up, very quiet, tiny but fine for our purpose. As we were staying just for one night, we were happy to have left our luggage at the airport as there is no lift to go up to the rooms.

Bathroom was clean, shower hot, and the night staff that welcomed us that night was friendly and helpful. They recommended a good place to eat dutch dishes in the very nearby Liedseplein area (just 2 to 3 blocks away), called The Pantry. In the morning we had just a little time to walk around which the location of the hotel allowed for perfectly.

Breakfast was not included in our rate and too expensive for what I saw they offered for euro 10 per person.

All in all, a fair deal and very well located.

Room Tip: ask to be placed at least one flight up the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 279 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Alexander in January 2012 because we wished to be within easy reach of;
key museums, places to eat, tramway connections, pleasant walks and shopping.
(Trams 1, 2 and 5 from Central Station to Leidseplein and then a five minute walk)
The hotel is on a quiet street in the museum area. There's a park nearby with it's cafe.A great area to walk or ride a hired bike through towards the Van Gogh museum and beyond.
The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful in all ways, recommending good eateries etc.
They gave us early access to a room giving us time for a rest after our journey before we set off on our visits. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and a good size for the two of us.There is a lift to all floors. The buffet breakfast was sound and would suit most tastes.
A really pleasant, quiet hotel near everything that's 'Amsterdam' at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Alexander is very nice hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. My husband and I have arrived few hours earlier of check-in time and they have been keeping our belongings in a security room as long as we wanted. The same service we had on our departure day.
The location is excellent (just behind Marriott Hotel): easy to get to from the airport (bus #197), 5-7minutes from the city centre. Museums, restaurants/café area are within walking distance; the Canal Cruise Tours stop -5minutes away. The street is quite and beautiful.
Very clean warm rooms, very well ventilated, good shower (no probs with hot water).
I would recommend this hotel as a best value!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here 3 nights with a ETBD tour. Room 28 top floor, no elevator to this floor. Room was clean, quiet with a large bathroom. We had a good view of the courtyard and the resident parrots. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel is on a quiet (for Amsterdam) sidestreet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My two friends and I stayed in a triple room in the Hotel Alexander in October. It was fantastic! Our room was lovely and the service could not have been better. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, making personal recommendations for sight-seeing, shopping, restaurants and jazz venues. The Hotel was perfectly located within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends, and we plan to go there again ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#129 of 372 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#124 of 372 in Amsterdam
681 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#133 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,021 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 372 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $133 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing