We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and fun way to stay in Amsterdam”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom leads out to a sunny balcony and roof terrace Living room and open kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Bedroom leads out to a sunny balcony and roof terrace
Living room and open kitchen
Living room
Enter a caption for your photo
Fully equipped bathroom
View from the balcony
Roof terrace
View to roof terrace
Flowers on the market
Cheese stall at the Saturday market
View of the Westerkerk
The Noorderkerk tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ArtistJam...
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Comfortable and fun way to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

LOCATION: Ever wondered what it would be like to stay in one of those adorable narrow Dutch houses, and at an affordable price? Here’s your chance!

On a quiet street in the lovely, happening Jordaan neighborhood, this location for an apartment rental is a fine choice. Owner Dianne lives on the ground floor of this house from the 1800’s, and you can rent the apartment above her.

Dianne does a great job in getting back to guests quickly and efficiently on-line. She even made a restaurant reservation for us at my request. Our airport cab driver had no problem finding the place, especially given Dianne’s excellent directions. She’d requested our flight arrival information and was waiting for us as promised.

We were able to walk nearly everywhere we needed in Amsterdam, though some places like the main museum neighborhood were a bit of a hike. A tram stops not too far from the apartment and we easily took it to the Dutch Resistance Museum.

APARTMENT:

Once you arrive at the apartment, you will need to climb one rather steep set of shallow stairs, but hey, that’s Amsterdam. It’s really only a challenge when you’re carrying your bags up, and Dianne will offer to help.

The apartment feels bigger inside than I expected, particularly the living room. The wi-fi works great. There’s good light from the three large living room windows.

The kitchen is small but cute and recently remodeled, and well-equipped. Dianne also had it stocked with some food to get us started--sliced meats and cheeses, juice, milk, coffee, jam and butter, bread and half and half. Very much appreciated. There’s a dishwasher but the oven had a note that it wasn’t currently working (which was okay since we didn’t require it.) There’s no clothes washer or dryer.

Down around a couple corners is a good grocery store called Jumbo for whatever else you might need food-wise--Dianne will help you with directions.

The bathroom could use some cosmetic updating but everything worked well. At first I was concerned about the low water pressure coming into the bathtub, but it did fine with the shower attachment. I think it’s because there’s plenty of hot water to keep you warm. My husband loved taking a bath in it.

The bedroom, while small, has a good-sized bed. Actually it is two twins pushed together. My husband and I have experienced this before in Europe but never with separate twin comforters. Trying to snuggle with your spouse makes a little mess of your covers when they’re not all in one piece--it would be nice if there were just one large comforter.

The entire apartment is spotless and the heating system works great even on the coldest of winter days.

My only real issue with the apartment is the small amount of residual smoke odor. I have a sensitive nose and this bothered me for the first day until we went and purchased a room deodorizer for our stay.

In the apartment’s instructions, it says that you can smoke in the apartment--tobacco only--but she would prefer you do it on the back patio. Clearly some guests have chosen to smoke inside, or maybe the smell seeps in from other smokers in the building through a shared ventilation system? The smoke odor actually was strongest one day after we’d been away from the apartment for several hours.

Again I know we’re in Amsterdam and the smoking culture is a little different than many of us are accustomed to. But the fact remains that the lingering tobacco odor is bothersome to some folks like me.

PRIVACY: Despite having our landlord for the week live downstairs, we experienced a lot of privacy. She only came by once at a pre-arranged time to change out the towels (and sheets if we’d wanted that, too) during our stay.

It is nice, really, having the owner live just downstairs. Knowing she would be around in an emergency was comforting. And she was happy to call to arrange an early morning taxi for us to return to the airport upon our departure.

OVERALL: If you can manage the stairs and work around a little stale smoke smell, you’ll love this place. Despite the handful of minor issues, we very much enjoyed staying here and would do so again. We found it much more affordable than staying at a hotel, with plenty of space and character spare, and with a kindly landlord.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you for your detailed and helpful, and appreciative review. Some of the points will be acted upon immediately. I did stress that you could ask me if you required anything and that includes a double comforter/duvet. I would have supplied this with pleasure. The oven is very complicated, so a small electric oven is available in the apartment.
As you say, there is plenty of hot water at all times. The old pipes are not as wide as the new ones, and this can affect the pressure for filling a bath. It just requires a little patience, and a bath was still enjoyed.
Sensitive noses, mine as well, can pick up lingering odors, and this is also related to the season. Although we air the apartment, doors and windows are not kept open as much as in the sunnier months. We will devote even more attention to this.
And, of course, the stairs in Amsterdam. Actually, our staircase, wider than most in the city, is also considered quite friendly as it is straight and not as steep as most in older houses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quirky and fab location
Liked least: I can't honestly say that there was anything I did not like
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for the kind review. In comparison with most staircases in the Jordaan, this one is actually "friendly", straight and only 16 steps. I hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JeffBandB...
1 review
“Great location in a quiet neighborhood!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stated at the flat for two weeks. The location was convenient to all the museums, canals,and many fine restaurants. We appreciated the quiet neighborhood in addition to Dianne's helpful information and flexibility on our early morning arrival. We highly recommend the flat to anyone planning a visit to Amsterdam!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith W
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Live like a local ”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed 5 days at this great apartment in the heart of the exciting artistic ,cafe culture, that is the Jordaan.
We were greeted warmly by Dianne , who showed us this large one bedroom apartment with all mod cons including a good sized balcony where we could enjoy an early morning coffee or a wine later in the day,
Dianne had thoughtfully provided us with some treats in the fridge which was must appreciated.
The apartment is close to so many attractions including a 10 minute walk to the Central Station.
Great area, great apartment, warm and knowledge host.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beau_mond...
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely place, Lovelier Host, Loveliest Amsterdam”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful area in Amsterdam where u have cosy apartments with loving people living in them, Jordaan, this is where this apartment is located in. And I felt I am part of the neighbourhood while living in this apartment. It's located on the 1st floor and u have all the amenities possible. Very walkable distance to the Centraal station. Do not forget to carry a map as all the roads look similar, as they are all linked to canals. A few hours of walk with your map in hand, and u can become an expert on Amsterdam roads... Seriously.
Just 2 roads parallel, a few minutes walk, less than 5 mins, u have the Jumbo Supermarket, which has everything u need.
Now coming to the host, Diane. No words can describe this lovely host. She had filled the refrigerator with the basics like fruits, milk, yoghurt, bread, butter, cheese, jam( we r vegans). She was really sweet enough to welcome us and gave a map guiding us with all the directions. She was literally there for us anytime we needed guidance.
Trust me, anybody travelling to Amsterdam, should stay at this place n enjoy the hosting.
At night, when we required a taxi, she was really nice, to book one for us.

There are numerous restaurants just one road parallel to lindenstraat ( the street where the apartment is located). I believe, we were blessed with a great place, hearty people, energetic environment. Hairdryers, pots n pans, everything is there in the flat. Computer, tv, books to read... Everything.
Just no washing machine. I was told that there are laundrettes around the corner.

Explore Amsterdam by walk or by cycling... Avoid trains n buses. U will miss out on the beauty of the streets n the canals if u use transport.

Really pray that I go back soon.
Thank You Diane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location n host
Liked least: The black cat moving on the terrace behind the bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing