We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant atmosphere and decor, let down by tagine that was not tagine and slow service”

Rainarai Westgasfabriek
Reserve with
Rainarai Westgasfabriek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,043 of 4,612 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Second location of Rainarai, the one on the site is the central one Prinsengracht, whereas this is located in a park about 2 km from the city centre.
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The large detached building in the lovely Westerpark is full of character and has an amazing terrace with bamboo structures and lanterns which make for an inviting atmosphere.

It was not busy when we arrived early evening, and things started well as the waitress took our order and returned promptly with the drinks...

We ordered lentil soup and salad for starter and chicken tagine for main.

Some 40 mins later we still hadn't got the starter and so prompted the waitress twice as were super hungry. She said they were 'cooking the soup' and it should be on the way.

All this time the chefs were cooking what seemed like a massive chicken stirfry in a large pan on an outdoor wooden oven. It smelled amazing but we assumed it to be another dish on the menu as tagine is not made that way.

The starters came eventually and were reasonably tasty, though the soup was not hot hot and the salad didn't seem at all North African in flavour, more like a Russian beetroot salad than anything.

The portion was large thankfully as we had to wait another half hour until the main tagine came out.

At 20Euro a dish I was expecting something pretty special. The reality was that the chicken stirfry we had seen being made earlier has just been put in a tagine dish and chucked in the oven for 10 mins. It was not even really hot. The flavours were not North African in vibe... the chicken was bouncy and not melty like a tagine should be.

The so called tagine made me feel very bloated for the rest of the day and was generally forgettable in flavour.

I really wanted to like the food as the restaurant looks so perfect... what a shame the food could not match it.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

It is now one of my favourite restaurants. Food was great and the atmosphere were even better. Highly recommend

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Isa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We had an amazing lunch at the restaurant -- if I describe it, it may sound a bit odd but it was super tasty -- grilled vegetables with a sauce, a nice sausauge (a bit like merguez but not so strongly spiced), a fish fillet, served with some very nice filled flat bread. Really delicious! The staff was very friendly; after having my food I was eying the chef prepping meat for dinner, and so he came to our table with a special complementary dish -- super tender grilled meats with an amazing tapenade-like sauce. The space is also very beautiful. We will defintely come back very soon (maybe tomorrow?)

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I was here in a party of 19 at the end of a big exhibition. The staff were great, the food was absolutely delicious. Spices were delicate and fragrant and this food felt life enhancing and nourishing as well. The house red is good, my colleagues liked the beers and we all enjoyed the hospitable atmosphere. The cook book also looks wonderful, even in flemish!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoMcA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Good food! Delicious, nicely cooked and served with extra delicacies, salad and couscous. The portions are big enough. Starters are also good. There are meals for vegetarians. All meals are halal (no pork).
Drinks were average. You may drink alcohol. Traditional mint tea is not that special but normal. Choice in glass of wine is limited but big if you order bottles.
The service is good enough but can improve.
Decoration was nice, you may choose between normal tables or pillows and low tables.
In mind this point I was the music which was Algerian but very modern.
Recommended!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank timasitheos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainarai Westgasfabriek also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rainarai Westgasfabriek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing