We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Room with a View" and sparkling Dutch...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
FlyingFin...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Room with a View" and sparkling Dutch hospitality.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The apartment has a spectacular view over the canal and we spent many hours gazing at the changing scene below. We were perfectly placed to visit Ann Frank's House and the main museums plus the famous Red Light District. We were really impressed with the Van Gogh museum and the Josephine and Napoleon exhibition at the Hermitage.Don't miss the beautiful Wilhet-Holtthuysen museum across the Herengracht canal. Our hosts have tickets for all these at a discounted rate which enabled us to avoid the long queues. Chan and Gijsje's hospitality is second to none. On our arrival, after a long chat, Gijsje learned all about our food preferences and every day was a culinary delight. Breakfast consisted of a variety of exciting bread, different cheeses, eggs, bacon, muesli, yoghurt, fruit and on the last day some wonderful Dutch pancakes which were heavenly. Chan and Gijsje are very attentive and generous hosts. We were told to use any leftovers for lunch- although our breakfasts sustained us for well past the lunch hour! We can thoroughly recommend the apartment and its facilities as an ideal base for visiting Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAcadem...
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful and comfortable flat, ideally located, with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed with my eighty two years old mum for a long week-end. We had a fantastic breakfast, kind and generous hosts. The bedrooms are quiet and comfortable, and the main room has fantastic views to the canal. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beauty of the place and the kindness of our hosts. Also the delicious and abundant breakfast
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This apartment is located on the Herengracht canal, just off Rembrant Square and so is well situated for a few days sight seeing in Amsterdam. We walked to all the usual tourist sites and didn't need to use public transport at all.

The apartment was well equipped for our stay and as others have commented, our hosts Chan and Gijsje were the most hospitable people you could meet. They went over and above to ensure we had all we needed and wanted - the breakfast was unbelievable in range of food and quantity! My kids are now addicted to sprinkles on bread! You won't need to buy lunch during your stay here...

We can't rate this apartment and it's hosts highly enough. If you want to stay in a traditional Dutch house in a great location, with everything you need, then look no further. Just be sure you can manage the near vertical stairs!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattsgl
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views, superb terrace”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Apartment occupies a great location on the canal and it was great to be in an authentic 'tall' house. Both Chan and Gijsje are very welcoming and could not have done more to be helpful or make our stay easier.

The Apartment had more the feel of a a B&B occupying the top floor of a house and it had a slightly quirky set up - but that worked for us but may not have work if you wanted total seclusion/ privacy.

The breakfast whislt overlooking the boats on the canal was substantial and the five of us (adults) felt well prepared a day of sight-seeing afterwards.

In terms of booking and commnucation - all very easy and instructions were very easy to follow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhooney
Freeport, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Combination of premiere location and space and wondeful hosts”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

In brief, all other reviews were spot on. Excellent location, space, breakfast, and the host made me feel like family from the first moment. The best rental experience I have had with many many free extras. A real value and lots of memories to boot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The view and the owners
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing