We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
147
324
281
68
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
324
281
68
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dam square great location the red light district noisy at night the heart of the city breakfast was included boiled eggs star hotel central station yogurt damstraat centre stairs luggage hairdryer tram
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The hotels location is fantastic.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful.
We booked a double non-smoking room with nice view or balcony.
On arrival we were given a room with 2 single metal beds with a window onto the street.
Upon query we were told no other rooms were available but we would be moved to the room next door the following day. This was not a last minute booking and we had booked many weeks ahead.
The room was very small and devoid of any colour or decorations like pictures or mats even.
I would compare it to a youth hostel. It was really not nice to say the least.
The bathroom was small and quite old but clean, and had no surface to stand ones toiletries.
The small box tv was up on a cupboard. Not many tv channels to choose from in English.
There was no stand or table to put our suitcases on either so one had to step over cases to move around the room.
The second day we were moved to a room next door. This was exactly like the previous room exxcepting it had a double bed and a small flatscreen tv this time.
I would definately never recommend this hotel to anyone, married or single.
This hotel is not worth what you pay for.
To put it plainly, it is horrible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I am a guy who has standards when it comes to hotels. I've been to Amsterdam and stayed in the Barbazon Palace & the Amrath.
I was travelling to Amsterdam on my own for the first time and was really just looking for somewhere central to lay the head at night.
I'll admit to having some concerns about some of the reviews but I needn't have been worried. The rooms although small and basic (it was a single room after all!) was clean and comfy, had a great sleep each night.
The hotel isnt a 4 or 5 star hotel (it is above a pizzeria after all!) but then it doesnt claim to be. The breakfast on offer is tasty, fresh bread each morning, eggs, ham, cheese, etc.
The staff are friendly and couldnt be faulted.
I probably wouldnt recommend this hotel to a couple who like peace and quiet but for someone looking for somewhere central (within 5mins walk, you can either be at a tram stop or in the Red Light District) but for someone looking for somewhere central, clean and comfy who doesnt mind the noise from outside then here is ideal!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 September 2012

great location and friendly staff , room was a bit on the small side but was ok,cntinental eat as mutch as you like breakfast was spot on,all round was a good hotel will probably stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews