We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
392
355
88
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
355
88
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath quiet street sister hotel museum quarter honesty bar junior suite overlooking the garden the main hotel van gogh museum great boutique canal ring minute walk walk in shower lovely hotel mini bar flat screen tv small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

1 night stop over for business.

The room itself and bed were fine. However it did look as if the carpet could do with a hoover as there were crumbs both in my room and up the stairs.

The reception team were ok but seemed stretched.

Location is great for central Amsterdam.

Overall I wanted to like this hotel more than I did. For me it didn’t have enough quirkiness for a small hotel or the slickness of a big one.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Receptionist at Hotel Roemer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay in our hotel!

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us wasn't what you expected. We always do our best to make the stay of our guests as good as possible. It is always possible to go to one of our staff members and let them know if your room should be hoovered again, they are always happy to help out when needed.

However we are very happy to hear that the location was to your liking. It is indeed very close to the center of Amsterdam and the museums.

Again our apologies, we do hope that you will give us a second chance to prove we can deliver the service that is expected from us. If we can do anything else please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Whatever the prior complaints were regarding bed comfort appears corrected! This was the tail end of a 3-country visit and was the most comfortable sleep we had by far! Great bedding, etc. Executive room was roomy, clean (including maintenance in between) and every staff member we met in the 4days + there was extremely helpful, nice and quite upbeat! Location is a very nice neighborhood and close to most major museums.

Room Tip: Executive room was nice and roomy - GREAT tub. I did not see other rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, receptioniste at Hotel Roemer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi Ferrybell,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Roemer. There's nothing more important than a comfortable bed so we're happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Everyone's opinions can be a little bit different in regards to hotel beds but it would seem in this instance, it's a winner!

In addition, I am really pleased to read that every single staff member you encountered was friendly, approachable and upbeat! High-quality service is non-negotiable for us so it's great that this is apparent in interactions with our staff.


Finally, Hotel Roemer really is located in an excellent neighborhood. Close enough to all of Amsterdam's main attractions, but quiet and has a nice 'local' feel. It's always good to see guests taking advantage of the close proximity! Ferrybell, should you return to Amsterdam, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Roemer.

Kind regards,
Eleanor
Hotel Roemer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Easy to reach from and to the airport (Connexxion's line 397, drop off at Leidseplein). Great location near the museums. The staff was extremely friendly, and our room was ready for us before the official check-in time.
Aside from some noise from an adjacent building (some music) in the early evening that stopped rather quickly, there are no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel Roemer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Dan R,

Thank you for your time and kind review. Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at hotel Roemer and also our accessible location could made your stay with us even nicer. Our team is very pleased to receive such an lovely feedback and that will motivate us to do our outmost, more than ever to the reach the satisfaction of our guests and in case of visiting Amsterdam again we would like to warmly welcome you back with us at hotel Roemer in Amsterdam.

Team Hotel Roemer
Mortis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Small and comfortable hotel in quiet location but really accessible for transport, museums and shopping. The executive double we booked was comfortable if not a little shabby in places. The shower was in a huge jacuzzi bath (which I didn’t use) but the pipe work could be renewed as it dripped in many places. The marble sink needed some work to bring it back to its original state. Apart from that all good. A big comfortable bed. Room size was adequate and we had the added advantage of a balcony. Air con worked efficiently. Tea and coffee making facilities good. On the whole a great little hotel. The reception team were polite and courteous. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tjspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Receptionist at Hotel Roemer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tjspain,

Thank you for taking the time to write us down a review about your stay at our hotel, we always appreciate the feedback guests give us!

Our apologies about the pipe work in the jacuzzi bath / shower and the state of the sink. The sinks in our rooms are made of natural stone and with time stain because of water and chips may appear, we are of course working on getting them back to their original state.

We are however very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, that the room size was up to your expectations and that you were able to enjoy one of our rooms with a balcony overlooking our cozy garden. Thank you for the compliment about our reception staff as well, we always appreciate positive comments about our staff!

If travels ever bring you back to Amsterdam we hope we can welcome you back again at Hotel Roemer!

With kind regards,

Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Hotel Roemer is very well located close to Amsterdam´s main atractions and close to Old Town and very near to public transportation facilities. Has a very good service and nice personnel. The neigborhood it is located is very quiet. The room we stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JGFlores1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, receptionist at Hotel Roemer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear JGFlores1963,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your stay at Hotel Roemer!

We are very happy to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel, we are indeed very nicely situated near a lot of facilities and public transportation as well.

It is always great to hear that our service and staff are appreciated, I will let them know definitely! Thank you for the positive mention as well about the room we are very happy to hear that it was comfortable during your stay.

If travels ever bring you back to Amsterdam we would love to welcome you back again!

With kind regards,

Maxime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews