We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
188
12
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
12
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews major museums room was spotless home away from home tram stop three nights location is excellent minute walk stairs city dutch sink cafes suitcases rijksmuseum
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We stayed in the "Nice" room which is at the top of the house. the stairs like everyone has mentioned are steep as in it feels like you are climbing a ladder. Antoine was great and greeted us when we arrived and helped me with my luggage. We stayed there for 3 nights. The room was big and very clean. Because the place is at the corner of a bar it can get loud at night but we were able to sleep through the night just fine. The breakfasts were amazing. Simple breakfast but everything was very fresh. The location of the place is pretty much 20mins walking to wherever you want to go. Our time here was very pleasant and would def stay here again. Antoine was a great host and made us feel right at home!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Well, my husband Jim and I checked in 9/28 and stayed 5 nights at lower level room. The room is modern, extremely clean, bed is comfortable and even the slopping floor added to the charm. Every item in our room as well as breakfast room/kitchen had homey but stylishness to it that one can tell Antoine takes pride in his house.

OK, stairs are steep but everything else so outweigh this and is wonderful - fresh cut daisy in cute little vase in the room, windows on both front and back side of the room so the light pours in. We loved the room.


Now let's talk about Antoine. He was perfect. We never stayed at B&B before and are not too keen on too close of let say invasive host/hosts. He cooked us the most wonderful breakfasts (something different every morning) with candle lights lit, gave us fantastic restaurant recommendations, sights, etc. whatever we needed but NEVER stepped out of the boundary - privacy was important to him as well.

Well, this is the place to stay if you ever go to Amsterdam and let Antoine take care of you. He even packed us sandwiches for the road the morning we left early.

Thank you so much for added help you had given us to love your adopted city, Antoine!!

Room Tip: As I mentioned, we stayed in lower room and loved it.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miok4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Staying with Antoine was a great choice. First, the location was perfect. Just outside the tourist mess downtown but accessible with a 5-10" tram ride. The area around the B&B is beautiful, quiet with lots of places to eat (with the locals at reasonable prices). The room itself was beautifully renovated, decorated, clean & well maintained. A caution for anyone with problems on steep stairs. The two rooms are on the 3rd & 4th floor (ground floor is the 1st floor in this case). Antoine makes it easier by insisting on helping with the luggage but it's not for someone with health issues. Breakfast was great with cereal, fresh bread, cheese, fruit, eggs & homemade pastry. We loved our visit and definitely plan to visit again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

we spent four nights at antoines sleep with me´, from 24. to 28. 09. 15
we enjoyed our stay very much.
the b&b is situated in a very good area close to the center.
the rooms have a stylish design and are very comfortable.
antoine spoiled us every morning with a new table decoration and breakfast by request
not to forget the daily extra surprise like a fabulous tarte aux pommes or strawberry
soufflé.
his egg-creations were a hit !
his tips for restaurants were also very helpful.
when we left it was like leaving a friend.

thank you antoine.
traude, theo and rene

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 747theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We recently spent three nights at Antoine's Sleep With Me B&B in the uppermost room. For the most part, it was a fabulous stay. Antoine is a very engaging host, a great cook and his decorating skills are great. Our room on the top floor had all that you could ask for except wifi reception. The bathroom was very large, the bed superbly comfortable and the room tastefully appointed. We had to go to the dining room on the second floor to get wifi which, after three days, got to be a bit annoying as we were on the internet a lot for communication with home. On the other hand, it does make you aware that you are on holidays and have better things to do than to go down an iPad internet hole! LOL! The other rooms in the B&B get wifi in the rooms just not the uppermost one. On his website and in your communication with Antoine, it is stressed that the stairs are steep. Steep? Steep! They are almost more like a three storey ladder than stairs as they are true to the house and, by law, can not be changed. Handrails are there and you will need them. Antoine graciously carries up heavy luggage but if you are travelling with a lot of heavy luggage be aware that getting it up to your room will take some effort. The breakfast is great. Cold cereals, home made jams, an egg dish of some kind, cheeses, toast and dessert which Antoine insists that you eat. Dessert for breakfast? I could get used to that and then the stairs would become even more a challenge.
The B&B is just off a wonderful street full of great restaurants and boutiques and within easy walking distance of the major museums and downtown. There is a great pub next door which is a mixed blessing. It has good reasonably priced food for lunch but is a local gathering spot so is noisy at night as the patrons gather on the patio to smoke, drink and chat-loudly! It did not interfere with our sleep but be aware that on a weekend you may have street noise well after midnight.
Without question, we will return to this B&B next time that we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If wifi in your room is essential, do not choose to stay in the uppermost room.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dronick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews