We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #299 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

hi we stayed in the plaza for two nights, nice hotel great location, friendly and helpful staff, room was small but clean plus there was a kettle in the room for tea and coffee, however the beds were more like camp beds small and narrow, our double room was two single beds pushed together. would have rated the hotel much higher but for this

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 223marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    99
    133
    65
    75
See reviews for
48
124
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I often read reviews on here over and over for different hotels when booking a trip for hours. Pondering what to do and where to stay, worrying over every negative comment that is made and after all the stress and worry I still end up going for the cheapest available within reason that I can at least find one half decent review for. I am therefore going to give a very blunt and honest review to try and save you the same pressure i unnecessarily put myself through each time i plan a trip. -

Its was rated as a 3 star hotel - i feel this is a correct rating in comparison to other places I have stayed.

Ive given a pointer for each catagory and then written more details below -

Location - Close enough to be convenient but far enough to be quiet!!!!
Hotel Room - Small but clean and equipped.
Food - Continental and as you would expect from this level of hotel - But no room service!
Staff - Mostly friendly
Noise - Quiet and no "Louts or Stag / Hen Parties"

Location - It was in a quieter part of the City Centre - Approximately 5 minutes from nearest cafes and restaurants, Approx 15 minutes from Dam Square, Central Station and Red Light District. If like us you are into Strolling and taking in the surroundings it really does not feel a long walk as you are looking at canals and monuments along the way and stopping for the occasional drink. When booking tours they do a bus service from the hotel so there is no need to worry about getting to the tour near central station. In the opposite direction about 10 mins away you have the Artis Zoo (this was expensive at over 18 euros a ticket so we didn't bother) but another 10 mins further on is the Oosterpark which was peaceful and very pretty. Living in a town near London I like having everything on tap and can be a bit lazy with walking - I did not feel this hotel was too far out or a problem. Furthermore on the odd night where you are worn out from walking or had one too many holiday cocktails then the tram is cheap and very accessible. Oh and the Ice bar is only 5 mins away

Hotel - From the outside was not the best (but then you are not there to stare at the outside) After reading reviews on here about the canabis smells and thugs I was nervous expecting the worst but must say extremely surprised it was clean, fresh and modern looking. The Reception staff were friendly. Our flight was early before the room was ready so they happily locked our bags away for us and explained where we could get food and drinks etc.

Room - When entering the bedroom i was a little disappointed by the size (it is small) but again it was clean, modern, fresh and very well equipped. The TV was a large flat screen and had several English channels, the bed although a small double was comfortable with crisp sheets. Bathroom - This was probably the most disappointing as it was Tiny. Don't expect to pamper yourself in the bath as there is not one and the toliet is so close to the wall you have to sit sideways. However, again it was well equipped with a warm shower with good pressure. We didn't get any hot/cold situations and the hairdryer although not the best, did its job.

Food - The breakfast was standard. It is continental and same each day Consisting of Croissants, Bread, Rolls, Tea Cakes, Boiled Eggs (although luke warm) Scrambled Egg, jams, cereal, yogurt and tinned fruit plus some pineapple. It is not the best by any means and don't expect a hearty fry up or hangover cure but it filled a gap and was included in our price. Normal Selection of Drinks. The only downside was that you cant get Room service so if you want a romantic breakfast in bed its not available. We did ask reception if we could take food back up to bedroom and they agreed but be careful as this is not correct information. Do not attempt to remove food from the restaurant as the two little chinese waitresses will pounce on you, waving their fingers, shouting no no no! and creating a scene in front of all the other diners so unless you have thick Skin like my other half who gave as good as he got I would recommend stick with not attempting breakfast in bed in this hotel :-)

Staff - Polite, well spoken, friendly (apart from waitresses if you remove the food),

Noise - I was from other reviews a little worried I would be kept up all night or in the morning but have to say our room was very quiet. The average guests we saw at breakfast were middle age couples and young couples. One group of 4 guys in their 20s but we experiences no noise trouble. Did not see one stag party or any "Louts" near the hotel area.

Overall - We could not fault our trip but we expect to get what we pay for. If I want 5 star to enjoy a luxury hotel with huge baths, tip top Staff and incredible food then I spend £400 a night to go to the Dorchester London or George V in Paris. If I want a last minute good city break for a reasonable figure where I am more interested in the Sights and Experiences then this hotel did a good job and was clean quiet and friendly. I would recommend it :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207. We requested a quiet pleasant room on our request and we had it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no1sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. If you are looking for space, don't stay here. Two people with any more than two small suitcases will not be happy!!! The beds were hard, the room was not soundproof and the hotel is generally just in need of a tidy up.

However, the staff are very nice, the room was clean and if you like watching TV you will be pleasantly surprised at the size of the TV in such a small room. There is a safe in the room and also tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was OK, but not startling.

Its OK , but overall I think the hotel is over priced for what it offers.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a very busy road, so obviously the rooms at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

With this hotel location is everything - a less than 10 minute comfortable stroll to Dam Square more then make up for the small rooms. Perfect for short break where your more interested in the city and sights then in the hotel any longer then 3 nights may be claustrophobic.

Our room was clean and tidy and no issues with plumbing, staff or breakfast which comprised the usual croissants, rolls, bread, cheese, ham, yogurt and eggs.

Only real downside of this hotel is no lounge where you can have quiet drink before retiring

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisKolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#282 of 369 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#319 of 369 in Amsterdam
354 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#113 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#219 of 369 in Amsterdam
111 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#7 of 369 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#295 of 369 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Property: Falcon Plaza Hotel
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $164 - $434
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing