We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #125 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stood at Poet Hotel for just one night. The room was modern, white, quite clean, but very small and uncomfortable. It is difficult to go to bed if you are by the side of the wall.
Also walls are tiny so you can hear everybody from other rooms.
In the bathroom we could hang our towels nowhere.
Breakfast was not great. The room is downstairs and it is reachable with steep stairs.
Staff is young and nice. Wi-fi costs 3 euros a day.
Just in front of the hotel there is the Rijksmuseum. In a few minutes there is the Van Gogh Museum and you can reach the center of Amsterdam by feet.
We think it is a little expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_messini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    417
    241
    77
    33
See reviews for
181
395
46
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Thanks to everyone in the Poet Hotel. The renovation of this hotel has been perfectly done, the family was great for us 4, not noisy at all, and we really appreciated our arrival withthis smiling guy ! Breakfast was a bit poor for us, but sufficiant anyway. Very well located in the heart of the Museum Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luistico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

For a budget hotel this was superb. The family room was spacious and clean. The staff was excellent and friendly and the breakfast was adequate. It is set in a nice location with trams a minute away and the centre a 15 minute walk. Only drawbacks are that noise from other guests can disturb your sleep as the walls are not very thick and I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I found this hotel to be very good for what I paid. Basic but clean and in a nice and quiet area of Amsterdam.
Walking to many parts of amsterdam was in my opinion very easy. I walked it to Central station in under half an hour which I belive was the other side of the city.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly as were pretty much all the duch people I come across. The hotel had a little bar whcih was good to finish off the night.
Breakfast was conitinental and I thought was very good.
The heiniken experience isnt too far from the hotel and is well worth a tour.
If i return to Amsterdam I shall certainly consider this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85MANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#164 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#86 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Property: Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40 - 46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $171 - $391
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing