We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & a beautiful old building”
Review of De Leydsche Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Leydsche Hof
Ranked #129 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2016

The De Leydsche Hof hotel is a beautiful old building located in the centre of Amsterdam city. The building over looks one of the many old canals in the City and is close to lots of very nice bars and cafes. It is also only a short walk to most of the main sights and museums. Despite being in the city centre our room was very quiet and we had a great sleep. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. They advised us about where to go for food and drink and about the shops etc.This is an excellent place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2016

We stayed at De Leydesche Hof for a weekend break having the double room overlooking the canal. It was spacious, warm, light and airy - everything we could have asked for. The bed was comfortable, everything very clean and the Wifi great.It was very convenient for the sights of central Amsterdam and very evocative of traditional Amsterdam being situated on a quiet canal. We spent most of our stay walking along the canals direct from De Leydsche Hof.

We arrived late at night but it was easy to find and only a short walk from the tram. Although the bell appeared not to work (we heard it working later during our stay) a quick phone call alerted the inhabitants to our presence outside. Frits was friendly and very helpful explaining what was to see nearby and how to get t the places we wanted to visit. Breakfast was expansive without being over elaborate and served at a time to suit us. (We were the only people staying at the time)

De Leydesche Hof was everything we wanted and gave us a real feeling for Amsterdam. However as other reviewers have said it has no lift and if you have mobility difficulties or struggle with stairs this is not the place to stay.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank dkrj589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Didn't need the trams. 10 to 15 minutes walk, always interesting, to the museums, Anne Frank house etc. Lots of bars and restaurants in area. Very helpful owners, esp. Frits. Our room was recently refurbished. Very comfortable. Would be five stars with an elevator and no mosquitoes (keep the windows closed). If you can't do stairs then not for you

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ToTrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Perfect location, truly downtown! In the same street as the bench from the movie "the fault in our stars". You can reach everything by foot in the city centre!

Owners are very friendly and know Amsterdam very well. They referred me to a lot of great restaurants and museums.

Room is very spacious for a B&B in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: The room/apartment with canal view offers a fantastic view over the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We had the pleasure of staying here 31st of July for 2 nights,

This is not a massive soulless chain hotel it’s small and personal . Simply everything we could have hoped for.

The room is the 2nd floor (room 3 ) the room was hands down the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. There is a mosquito net and a great strong fan provided. There is a flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.
I wanted to stay somewhere that was a bit of the real Amsterdam and this hotel provided that feeling. A truly warm welcome by a great host who took the time to show us all the landmarks and how to get there. The wifi was free and a great addition.

The location is outstanding 15 mins walk from main attractions.
If you want a good honest beautifully clean room go here!!
Its right by the canal and the view is beautiful!
If you want a/c a pool and a gym go somewhere else …. This place a true jewel and a fantastic find

Thank you for a perfect stay

Holly

Room Tip: room 3 is large and beautifully cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brokenlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loes P, Eigenaar at De Leydsche Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Holly,

Thank you for staying at De Leydsche Hof!

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you soon back again! Kind regards, Loes - De Leydsche Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel IX Amsterdam
Hotel IX Amsterdam
#23 of 340 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 340 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 248 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Leydsche Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leydsche Hof

Address: Leidsegracht 14, 1016 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $246 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Leydsche Hof is a 17th century golden age canal house, situated on one of the premier canals in the grachten gordel (canal neighborhood) of Amsterdam. The house is located on the Leidsegracht (Leidse Canal) which is not a thoroughfare and thus promotes a peaceful night's sleep in Amsterdam. The canals and bridges are lighted at night and thus create a wonderful, festive atmosphere! Hotel de Leydsche Hof used to be a hotel and has been renovated into a B&B with 4 rooms in total. The owners decided to keep the original name of the property as Hotel de Leydsche Hof. The rooms of Hotel de Leydsche Hof are beautifully decorated and roomy and can be reached by easy staircases (there are no elevators in the house). Each room features a seating area, cable TV and free wi-fi. The private bathroom has a shower and toilet. Loes and Frits, the owners, will be serving breakfast each morning if so ordered. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room which in the front of the house overlooking the canal. Hotel de Leydsche Hof is situated in the very heart of Amsterdam close to shopping areas, the Royal Palace, Dam Square, Anne Frank House and the Rijksmuseum. Tram stop Koningsplein is only 300 metres away, tram lines 1, 2 and 5 go there. It provides easy access to the Central Station of Amsterdam and the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Leydsche Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Leydsche Hof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing