We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast, huge rooms”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #147 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast, huge rooms”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2011. We changed our travel plans last minute and required an extra 2 nights at Keizershof, which was not a drama for our hosts. Our rooms were large (we divided our time between a room facing the canal (a bit noisy) and a room facing the rear garden), and our breakfasts were great. I didn't realise that you can't hang washing out in your room that's in view from outside the building - our washing line kept moving into the bathroom! We were finally told about 3 days into our stay - something to be aware of for other travellers.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the rear garden - it's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    91
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
154
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Keizershof for 2 mights in August. I stayed in the Rita Hayworth room that overlooks the beautiful garden. The room had it's own bathroom and was quite large and clean. The hotel is very close to everything, including a short walk to the Anne Frank House. The owners of the hotel were fantastic hosts! They were so friendly and gave me a map as soon as I arrived and suggested somewhere for me to stop for lunch. I came back later with some bread and cheese and wine and they provided me with utensils and a wine glass so I could dine in style! The breakfast is hearty and delicious, breads, cheeses, cereal, salads, coffee and fresh orange juice, it was a great way to start my day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam, it was like staying at an old friends house. It was one of my best hotel experiences in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Keizershof for 4 nights in July on a vacation with my husband to the Netherlands. We stayed in the “Marlene Dietrich” room which overlooks a pretty garden in the back of the hotel (they also have canal view rooms, which are a bit more expensive). The room was simple but nice, very clean and comfortable. The room did not have air conditioning, but that was not a problem (even in late July), we just kept the windows open and it was very comfortable. While there is a sink in the room, as their website notes the room shares a bathroom and shower with a few other rooms. Sharing was not an issue for us, and not including breakfast time, we only saw one other person staying in the nearby rooms, even though all seemed to be booked up. Also, as their website notes, the stairs as in all canal houses are winding, narrow and steep. Pack light if you can, we had backpacks which made it much easier but I can imagine that pulling up a huge suitcase would be really tough. For us, the highlights of the hotel were the hosts and the breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful, with lots of fresh homemade breads, many different cheeses, and omelets which were really good. There were always several fruits available along with cereals and yogurts. It may have been the guests, but with a shared breakfast table (which we hadn’t experienced in many B&Bs that we stayed in) we always seemed to have a very warm, convivial and friendly atmosphere. Note: This is listed under general Amsterdam hotels but it's really more of a bed and breakfast. However, a lot of the places listed on TripAdvisor under Bed and Breakfasts in Amsterdam didn’t seem to have breakfast included. Just something to look out for. The owners were great hosts, very welcoming and friendly and they answered any questions that we had with lots of helpful suggestions. The hotel is in easy walking distance to most sites in Amsterdam. We walked everywhere we went, but it’s very close to the tram if you don’t want to walk. It’s on a beautiful canal/street, not too many cafes/restaurants/bars on that block which keeps it quiet and all of those things are very close. A nice place that if we are back in Amsterdam, we’d love to return to!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel is located in a great location. It is within walking distance of all the main attractions, yet in a an area which is quite quiet. However, it can get a little loud if you keep your window open throughout the night and have a room facing the canal. We stayed in the Mae West room which is the smallest of all the rooms. The room was very comfortable and clean. The room comes with a shared bathroom and shower, which was fine and we never had to wait. The hotel also has a beautiful garden in the backyard, however the garden is not accessible in the evening after around 9pm. The rooms come with a hearty breakfest which includes breads, cheese, cereal, juice, coffee/tea, cakes, fruit, and omelette. However, on one day we were not provided an omelette, so this may not be provided on a daily basis. There are three people who run the hotel, the grandmother, her daughter and son. The daughter was very helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. However, we found the grandmother and son to be not as welcoming or approachable as the daughter. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harps13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I came here to stay on our first trip to Amsterdam and were greeted with a very warm welcome from Mary, Ernest and Anika. Mary's breakfast was fantastic. Made to feel very welcome and had comfortable surroundings. Very clean and friendly couldnt help enough, gave us lots of info on sights to see etc. Look forward to going back. Tricia & Billy - Scotland

Room Tip: If we were going back I would recommend asking for an on-suit room, although this did not put us off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 368 in Amsterdam
147 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,149 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,065 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $223 - $249
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing