We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but...”
Review of Hotel Apple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Apple Inn
Ranked #159 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel but... you can hear every neighbour coming in and out of their rooms, which is not partucularly nice when trying to sleep and having to get up early in the morning.
Other than that nice & clean, neat 3 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Maël R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Apple Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay which cost over £400 and was supposed to include breakfast! Breakfast does not start until 08:00 during the week and 08:30 at the weekend. Not ideal if you want to get into the city centre early....did not get breakfast first morning. On Saturday night we explained we had to check out at 07:30 to get to airport and asked if breakfast would be available. We were told to help ourselves to croissants and tea/coffee. Indeed there was croissants but when we went to help ourselves to the tea/coffee machine we were met by a very rude and abrupt female who refused us to use the machine because it was not included in the breakfast fee!! Dry croissants it was!!! Only 1 breakfast out of 3 mornings...not very cost effective. This was a very disappointing end to an otherwise enjoyable trip. However, I would not stay at this very basic and over priced Hotel again. Sometimes you get what you pay for but in this case it was far from value for money!

Room Tip: Lower floors as the staircase is very steep and narrow
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tattie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Just back from 2 night stay. Cost for 2 nights in standard double room £316 + city tax. Room 28 2nd floor was clean but at best just functional. Bed only accessible from one side & blocked window. At the front of the building noise from trams & traffic are excessive even with windows closed, which then makes the room unbearably stuffy and hot. Kettle can only be operated by placing on floor and tea bags only in room. As mentioned by other reviewers hotel doors & thin walls make it incredibly noisy from inside the building. The two flights of narrow steep stairs are not for the faint hearted. Breakfast poor and dining area not large enough to accommodate all guests. Would not stay again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Arrived early, yes, I know, but sent away twice till room ready. Room 4 is awful. Its a crawl on bed with paper thin walls. Broken toilet seat not fixed after 7 hours, then my wife checked the mattress!! When we showed it to the receptionist, they moved us straight away. After this, the hotel was OK.
For £400 for 3 days, it was expensive. The staff were friendly, but it needs decorating, with sound insulation.
I don't think this is unfair, yet I am not sure what others have seen here that I didn't.
Position is ok, travel time to centre 15 mins.
The wifi was good.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 4
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jont33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The hotel is not as close to the centre as expected, but is accessible via Tram 2 (which is a 1 min walk from the hotel and about 10-15 mins into the centre via tram). When we arrived the hotel was very pretty and boutique like - with free water and apples in the bar area which is a nice touch. We were given a room on the second floor, which was apprehensive due to reading the reviews on the stair situation... they are not kidding!!! The stairs were practically ladders, and getting our luggage up two flights was a nightmare and very hard work. It was a struggle for two girls in their 20s so for an older person I cannot imagine how they would get them up.
The room itself was clean and spacious, despite reading other reviews saying it was cramped, i guess we got lucky.

HOWEVER.. housekeeping left our door open all day and it was only noticed when we arrived home at 8pm (we had been out since 9am). We were v annoyed due to the fact the safe was not secured down, and so could have easily have been lifted out of the room - as well as our luggage which was obviously lying around. After going to reception to make a complaint we were met with a very defensive attitude- "Housekeeping comes every day, did you not know that?!", "Sometimes things like this just happens", "we do have a safe" (which again, was not glued down and so could have been lifted out). The staff member on reception did not offer an apology of any sort until my other friend stepped in to explain the reason we ere frustrated was that our room was left unlocked all day, something which I had been saying for the last 10 minutes. It was very disappointing that our room safety was so unimportant to them, and ruined the overall impression that we had on the hotel in general.

Room Tip: Room 30 was very high up with no aircon or fan. Try get moved.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#105 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#78 of 371 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#197 of 371 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#218 of 371 in Amsterdam
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apple Inn

Address: Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apple Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing