We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located !!”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #134 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very well located !!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The goods :
-The location, Dam Square
-For such a location you can get pretty good deals, Swissotel and NH for instance are around but you could use the money in local entertainements
-A bike rental shop belonging to the hotel, 12Eur/day and you can keep it 'til 10pm
-Big Breakfast buffet included
-Free wireless Internet connection
-Friendly and helpful staff

The bads:
-Walls are kind of thin so if there are loud noises going on, you will hear them
-internet connection is very slow when not in the lobby
-Canned fruits at the breakfast buffet are NOT 3 stars hotel quality

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to elevator if you don't want to be disturb by loud noises by guests passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einmal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    1,226
    445
    101
    66
See reviews for
335
1,034
127
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perhshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at the rho hotel for 3 nights at new year for my 60th birthday with freinds and the staff at reception couldnt be more helpful . On my day of departure my flight wasnt untill the evening . My health wasnt to good that day. They let me stay in the room for as long as i needed it and asked if there was anything else they could do.First class. The location of the hotel is good just of dam square walking distance to shops bars resturants.Rooms are clean and a good size.Great breakfast. Will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: i would prefer a room on a higher floor facing the front onto dam square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leith1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here with my wife for three nights in feb 2012. And agree with everything everyone else has said really. the location for sightseeing is excellent with only a 15 to 20 minute walk from the main station and nothing is more than about 20 minutes away.
Upon arrival, we were given the choice of 3 different rooms, the 1st one was a proper double bed but the room was VERY small and not ideal for a three night stay. the other two were quite a bit larger but had two singles which we thought would be ok, and the room we opted for had a proper bath (with shower atatchments)
although we were right next to the lift we could hardly ever hear it and it certianly didnt stop a good nights sleep which is something i seem to have trouble with in most hotels.
Again, a common comment is that the breakfast is very good, and yes it is. on the face of it it looks nothing special and it has all the usual suspects it just seems the quality of the produce is very good.
if i did have a complaint it would only be that the room seemed to get very hot at night, but we were on the top floor, however this was soon remidied by turning off our rooms heating at night.
Overall, if your going to amsterdam to see the sights you could do a lot worse than stay here, and when we next return to Amsterdam, we will certainly be staying at the Rho.

Room Tip: the rooms seemed very mixed, some bigger than others some with A/C etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magoodliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

i stayed here with my family, in fact i'm writing this from the same hotel, it's a very good choice if you don't wat something expensive, but don't wanna stay back in being comfortable and well located in such a beautiful city as amsterdam is.
very big rooms, clean, big lobby, and exceptional breakfast

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank driber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel itself: Located next to the Dam Square and a short walk from the train station. Airy lobby, friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet with plenty of choice.
The room: This can be a bit tricky, as the hotel is made up out of adjoining houses, there can be a few stairs you need to take before you get to your room. If you are traveling with lots of luggage, a small child in a stroller or someone in a wheelchair you'd better opt for a room close to the elevators. The rooms itself are more than adequate, with a decent sized bathrooms with all needed amenities. Wifi internet is free of charge, but you need to ask an access code at reception, speed is decent; however note that it can slow down quite a bit (I stayed there while there was a trade show happening in Amsterdam, and once all the business people got into their rooms the speed dropped significantly). However it's free so there's no reason to complain about it really. Depending on the room you have you could have slight noises of the street seeping into the room.
As the hotel is next to the Dam Square you are plain in the city center and everything can be done on foot.
Definitely a hotel I'll be considering again when staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BDeMaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#168 of 368 in Amsterdam
496 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
609 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 368 in Amsterdam
800 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 368 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $199 - $509
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing