We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Feels Like Family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Feels Like Family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Once again, booked solely based on reviews.

Was soo happy with my choice here...once again scored points on this one (I do all the hotel booking).

We arrived after a long flight from Perth. It was around 7am in Amsterdam and dark and cold. On the way to the hotel to drop our luggage i was thinking, goodness what are we going to do to entertain ourselves for the hours before our room was ready! Roel welcomed us with a smile and then proceeded to tell us "that we were in luck our room was ready". This was heaven to the ears. What I loved was that Roel was expecting us, new who we were and our situation (long flight). That felt so nice compared to bigger hotels!

Hotel Fita was a family run hotel and is a tradtional style Amsterdam house. This however added to the charm for us Aussies as was a world away from how we live. Elevator available if you need. Hotel Fita consisted of around 15 rooms..we stayed in 2 of them (as we returned on two occassions).

Rooms were perfect, clean, bright and comfortable!!! Bathrooms were excellent (heaps of room) and the best shower of our whole trip in Europe. Nespresso in the room (yay), no fridge however. The only instance I think you would need a fridge if you were travelling with a young baby or something and I know Roel/Martjin would assist if required (bottles etc).

Breakfast is served daily downstairs and was lovely. Continental Breakkie and in addition they will make you eggs/bacon or dutch pancakes. There is a fridge downstairs with drinks, which was handy as sometimes you really didnt want to venture out just to get drinks. It works on the honesty system, you pay for what you consume!.

Location - Hotel Fita is in a great place. Best shopping district (high end street) very close by. The canal tours leave just down the street and some of the best museums 2-5 minutes away!

My husband and I will always look back on our trip and remember Hotel Fita, it was definately special. The family are wonderful.

If your looking for an excellent value hotel, in a good location, nice staff and very clean and comfortable this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RenniePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    406
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
261
871
169
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Overall I would recommend Hotel Fita as a place to stay while in Amsterdam. By American standards, the rooms are small - but that was expected when I went to Amsterdam. The staff was awesome and could help you with everything you needed while staying. The breakfast was good, especially the pancakes. The location is perfect as you are less than one block from the Van Gogh Museum and a short walk from everything else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammyvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were greeted by Martijn when were arrived early evening. While no one was monitoring the desk and the door from outside was locked, Martijn quickly responded and let us in when we buzzed the ringer at the door since he was obviously expecting us. Hotel Fita knows when everyone is expected to check-in and check-out. A very nice touch.

The room that Martijn showed us to was just as described when we booked and was clan and spacious for a European room. The Hotel Fita is within walking distance or tram from most major attractions. We always felt safe and welcome in the area and at the hotel. Martijn and his family really know how to operate with hospitality.

Room Tip: Take Bus 197 from Schippol to the hotel. Tram 2 and 5 also run to the street next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed for one night in February, and it was absolutely perfect. There are a vast number of ways to reach the hotel from the airport, including bus, train, and shuttle. I opted for the shuttle and had an easy ride to the hotel and back to the airport the next day. Once I reached the hotel, I felt very welcomed by the friendly staff. The clerk even drew on a map to show me a good walking path to see different parts of the city, since I only had one day. The hotel is in close proximity to many of the museums as well as some great shopping and restaurants. The room itself was quite comfortable, especially for the price. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: There are two schools / parks adjacent to the hotel, so if you plan to sleep during the day to recov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Well, I was little unlucky - asked for an early check-in, which was unavailable, but according to Hotel Fina, Hotels.com never relayed the message to me...first up, the doors from the outside don't open automatically and the reception desk isn't staffed permanently; I find that uninviting, despite the fact that the bloke who showed up was a delightful man, full of useful tips etc. The room I was in overlooked a school yard, so it was noisy enough from early on and hard to work with the playground in full swing during the day. The room itself was fine - big, in fairness to it, complete with iron, tea & coffee making facilities and FREE WIFI, but the shower was just too fierce pressure-wise; the sockets available are not work-friendly in terms of where they are placed and the TV stations available are limited. But I suppose the most disappointing aspect for me is that the two single beds pushed together were small and I just didn't / couldn't get a good night's sleep. One of the in-built bedside tables is head height and I ended up banging my head of that for good measure! Look, its location is fantastic, staff are lovely, but Amsterdam is relatively cheap in my experience and for E135 - E140 per night, I expected better...

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the school..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $158 - $274
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing