We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but better places around.”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ok, but better places around.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We are not the biggest party people, so a hostel in Amsterdam was probably not the best choice. In saying that, the staff were good; friendly and happy to help. Our shower leaked water which made it very slippery. Also, our window didn't lock or even shut properly. We had no clean towels when we arrived (although we did get some when we asked). Breakfast was good. The most annoying thing was that the fire alarm went off twice in the time we were there, not because there was a fire either. We weren't told why or given any instructions.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    297
    119
    30
    21
See reviews for
10
125
155
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

First let me say that I stayed the first half of the week at Bob's Youth Hostel so this place was a palace compared.

But, its expensive. I realized later that I could have probably stayed at a small hotel for 15 euros more and had my own room. And the location isn't great...quite a walk from dam square.

The common area is very nice and I liked sitting down there and reading and having a beer. People were friendly and not just stoned all the time. There is also a kitchen you can use.

The bedroom was nice and the beds were good, but it was a bit cold for it only being September.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Flying Pig Uptown is a great hostel. Free breakfast (can get a little crowded of a morning), clean rooms, and cheapish bar.

The majority of the staff were very friendly. Any problems we had were sorted out very quickly!

The hostel is quite a walk from the main restaurants and attractions, and a decent walk to the Red Light District. There is lots on your doorstep though- Leidseplein- has lots of bars and cafes and is a lovely area!

'The Ultimate Bar Crawl' is well worth doing!! We did the Leidseplein one, got a free tshirt and lots of free drinks! The free shots is slightly misleading, as the reps just walk around pouring shots into your mouth- but still, free drinks...Met lots of people and had a blast!

Roller Blading around Vondel Park was great fun!

All in all, a clean hostel that has everything you would need for a stay!

Room Tip: We read on here that you had to stay on rooms 3rd floor or higher in order to escape late night nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stay away!! We booked a private room for 2 nights and it was terrible! 2 out of 3 washrooms and 1 of 2 showers on our floor were out of order and our bed broke 3 times!! They tried fixing it all 3 times with screws but the cheep Ikea frame was clearly done. Our private room cost us 90 Euros per night which works out to 140$ canadian each night. Considering what you get, -a room that only fits a bed (literally, it touched both walls), sketchy carpet, showers with mold and a bunch of stoned hostellers, I would definitely stay somwhere else. When we spoke with the manager, they did provide us with a discount but I still wasnt impressed considering you're paying to sleep...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty_McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Good - walking distance to all you need, free breakfast, wifi in reception, communal kitchen, smokers room, funky atmosphere, comfy beds, lockable storage cages

Bad - lots of steep stairs, no soap in the toilet.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#11 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Property: Flying Pig Uptown
Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $60 - $222
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing