We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Centrally located, right on the canal/river, walkable to amost everything you want to see/do. Their facilities including terrace restaurant and spa are great. Concierge Marcel helped pre-trip so I could maximize my time when in Amsterdam. Thanks to Concierge Ave for helping when we were on site. We very much appreciated our Junior Suite. Staff is lovely; there is an easy, yet attended to feel. Thanks to the breakfast chef (for great spinach mushroom cheese omelette every morning) and to all the staff that make this great hotel run.
If I go again to the charming city of Amsterdam, I will return to De L'Europe.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    248
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
244
752
71
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Working and living now in Netherlands just one hour from Amsterdam in Den Bosch has really only seen us a "day trippers" to the city...as especially when we have guests of our own. We decided to stay a night and enjoy the city for a full 24 hours.
After reading many reviews we chose De l'europe. It is in the heart of the city, only 100m from the floating flower market. We arrived before official "check-in". Our car was valet parked (extra charge) as there is no car park. (the hotel is surrounded by canals!) and luggage was taken care of until our room was ready (promised around 3) after we checked in. This was OK for us as we were dressed ready to hit the beautiful streets and canal-ways of the city! The hotel is very chic with a sumtous deep red/pink colour in the light, bright large comfortable lounge with a spectacular sparkling bar close to the bay window overlooking the canal.
We returned at 6 to be disappointed to hear that our room was still not quite ready ...some trouble with the linen for the bed! We were shown around our room which was a deluxe room with a large marble bathroom (slighly complicated lighting system) with huge walk in shower! There was a Nescio coffee maker and bose sound system for our ipods. It was very spacious. I was dissappointed with the view- a courtyard roof...and not the canals. I believe you need to pay an extra 200€ for that! The bed was done when we returned from our dinner in the West canal region and a cognac in the hotel bar.
Breakfast was in a light airy room. The usual fare....nothing special there. The service at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We did hear a common excuse that 'the hotel was fully booked the night before and that is why rooms are not ready..., etc. ' too any times at reception. Was this supposed to make me feel special that we had picked a popular hotel and lucky to be there? To be honest...that should not be my problem. AT the time we were understanding but on thinking on this further, being full is a good thing for the hotel and they should be set up to deal with this and not inconvenience or make people aware of this for THEIR visit to the hotel as this is now OUR stay there and service should be set up for us (at over 300€ a night) and not the fact other people had enjoyed themselves there the night before. Overall I would recommend the hotel and go back. It is lovely and in a super location.

Room Tip: Check the view you expect o have ith the room you book...especially if you hope to have canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ub
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The classic and elegant hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. The hotel is renovated in 2011. The room was spacious and the bathroom was superb with separate shower and bathtub.
The internet is free of charge and in the suite they had an iPad. The only shortcoming for me was lack of light in the bathroom for make_up and in the room there is no mirror for doing make-up. The staff is extremely nice. The breakfast did not have vast veriety: cold cuts, cereals, suasage and eggs, but I liked the fresh orange and grapefruit juices, they had.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here recently for one night only but I will return. This a classic hotel that has been renovated in the not-too-distant past. The room I was is was very large and comfortable with a large bed covered with crisp, clean linens. The bathroom was marble throughout but in-floor heating made it warm and comfortable.

Service was friendly and attentive. I only had breakfast there and I found the experience to be rather ordinary but my table bynthe window provided an exceptional view over the canal.

Overall, it was a fine experience and I would not hesitate to reccomend to anyone looking for a comfortable and clssic hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank High_seas_drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Summary: relax in luxury, but with no stuffiness. The room is total comfort, the toiletries first class, the staff friendly and the brasserie superb. Take in a deep breath, exhale and enjoy.

Details:
1. this is a superb hotel
2. I arrived about noon and my room was not ready yet, so I was instantly upgraded to a junior suite, overlooking the courtyard, quiet, with a sitting area and the bedroom. A Samsung LCD TV in each area, the same brand I have at home.
3. the sitting room has an iPad with free internet, which is great since I am a veteran Mac user. There's also a safe, coffee/tea maker, & minibar.
4. the bedroom has luxury linens, the biggest pillows I have ever seen and a comfy king bed.
5. the bathroom is all marble with adjustable heated floor and big thick big towels, nice bathrobe and premium shampoo, soap, etc.
6. the dining options are several: I had late night in-room dining one night and it was delicious. The Brasserie, which overlooks the canal, is superb with very friendly wait staff and super value 35 euro prix-fixe 3 course menu. I was dining alone and had ongoing banter with the wait staff throughout the meal - it made the experience pleasant. The wine by the glass list is extensive and well-chosen, ranging from 5 to 11 euros. The bar is called Freddy's and has light food. Lastly, there is a gourmet restaurant, Bord-Eau.
7. when I was ready to print my airline boarding pass, I asked where the business center was [it was downstairs]. But the staff member I asked, named Titta [from Finland], said she would personally assist me with the printing and we proceeded to her desk and had a pleasant chat while doing the printing. That's the level of service here.

Summary: Is it expensive? yeah, but not outrageous. Is it total luxury? Yep. Is it worth it? I think it's a good value. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: a courtyard room provides total tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $501 - $1,145
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing