We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pictures - Terrible Rooms! Grubby Bathrooms!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blyss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Blyss
Ranked #323 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pictures - Terrible Rooms! Grubby Bathrooms!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Dont be fooled by the pictures! The best part of this hotel is the foyer and thats it. We booked a double room and were first given a room that smelt damp and had two single bedsa pushed together. I had to go to reception and request that it be changed - after which we were shown another room Double Bed - single quilts - no amount of asking could get us a new quilt. The window was propped up by a wooden block, rooms were cold and smelt of damp. AVOID. Definitely now worth the money we paid - you have been warned

PS Nice things? Lady @ reception and location!

Room Tip: Avoid room 203!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    76
    106
    82
    119
See reviews for
62
102
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
342 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

the location is the only good thing. Breakfast is laughable, rooms are dirty and cold, hotel is very old, people not nice, price very high.. All is negative!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vale_p_177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed in the Blyss hotel for 5 nights (alas!), as part of a group of colleagues attending a conference in the city. Almost all of us had issues with our rooms. One person had dirty bedding on check-in, another person's booking was lost etc. I also saw other guests complain at reception after they had checked into their rooms.

The investment in the hotel has been made in the reception and bar area which looks stylish and contemporary but once you go to the corridors with the rooms, you see a much shabbier view of the hotel.

I had room 208, which has nice views on the street, but which stank of mould - the walls behind the curtains were flaking with mould and the top of the windows were speckled black with mould. The sash windows would not stay open so I had to prop them open with the bin. My clothes smelled horrible - as soon as I got home, everything had to be washed or dry-cleaned.

I felt very sorry for the lovely helpful lady on reception (she helped call taxis and find restaurants for us) - she is better than the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckytravellerCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here from 4-6 October. The website gave an excellent impression of the hotel but the reality was somewhat different. Pleasant reception and staircase leading to hostel style corridors and rooms. Once in the room the walls were grubby, everything looked very tatty and the bathroom could be described as basic at best.
There was significant noise all night from other rooms which was resolved once I'd managed to get hold of the night porter at 04:00 after 15 mins of calling reception.
Never again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My partner and I stayed her from 23/9 - 25/9 2011 for 2 nights. The hotel on the website looks fab, we couldnt wait to arrive and get settled into our room. The hotel lobby was lovely with a big chandelier and loud wallpaper........but our hotel room was discraceful. We were put in the cellar with a small bathroom which was dark, dull and miserable. We could here everything as the windows were on the outside path level. We paid over 400euros for the 2 nights. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The location however is great....just 5 mins walk to next town and then another 5mins walk to dam square......Ann Frank museum is a must, very emotional but well worth the money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ema340x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#154 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Hotel Europa'92
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#242 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Property: Hotel Blyss
Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $105 - $351
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing