We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not bad - not good?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #195 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lisburn
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not bad - not good?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

It’s all to do with your expectations and why your in Amsterdam in the first place. Seems OK for business but might not be great for couples? Hard to tell? Location was near enough to the centre of town and easy access via the local tram just outside the door. The hotel is quite non descript but I’ve stayed in worse. Don't go for the breakfast as it’s not good and there is a nice coffee shop next door that seems a better option.

Rooms were small and basic but as we were on business did the job. Would I stay again? I'd look for somewhere better but would happily saty again if I couldn’t'.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titteringtonrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    178
    113
    30
    17
See reviews for
50
174
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here one night as we needed to be in the neighboorhood. Very average hotel, stains in the carpet, very soft beds. One of the cheaper options in Amsterdam, but 2 stars is more appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We found this charming hotel located in an area which is close to all areas of interest in the Amsterdam area. Small, but very clean rooms, with an outstanding breakfast to complement our visit. The personnel are all very friendly and enjoy giving directions or recommendations to various interesting places, for instance the Rijksmuseum is in walking distance.
Restaurants are all available in the neighborhood, with higher class boutiques to please the locals as well as the tourists.
If however you want transportation to the center of Amsterdam, the streetcar, which is very clean without graffiti stops about 100 yds from front of the hotel.
Pricing is very reasonable, not subject to gauging like other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear of the hotel rooms, as you may be disturbed by the traffic pattern in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollandsglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Dont know really what was wrong but it just seemed a bit tired! Rooms were basic to fair and a bit grotty. Good point for me it was within walking distance of the Rai centre and close to a tram connection for the centre. Take the number 24 or 5 for central station and Dam square. Breakfast was poor and a bit dry looking, usual ham and cheese (for a change!) Staff were friendly and helpful and the shower was decent. No frills basic+ hotel. Dodgy looking patch of carpet by the bedroom door and nothing to do with me! Stayed in a twin room and the beds were tiny! Had worse though so if you get a decent deal go for it.

Room Tip: Have a word at reception if your not happy. Push for larger beds (worth a try)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spadgeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Since Amsterdam is very expensive, we found this hotel to be well priced in a very good location and clean. The room was more spacious than we expected. We expected to be a family of 4 crammed into a small room, but they actually gave us adjoining rooms which was nice. The room is very basic and could use some updates. Beds were comfortable.

The breakfast is not bad but not great, the eating area crowded and not very comfortable to navigate when there are others there. But it is great to have a breakfast included and we appreciated that.

We found this hotel to be the best we could find in our budget and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverKoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#167 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#131 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#248 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $90 - $323
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing