We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, first class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #52 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location, first class service”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is split over two buildings and is a carefully crafted blend of the historic and the modern. There is a basement passage which links the buildings.

I stayed for one might whilst attending an event in the City. I walked there from the main railway station, taking about 15 mins at a gentle pace.

I would not be put off by its proximity to the red light area which is easy to avoid if you want to... But I dare you not to take a peek....

Breakfast was more than adequate with hot items. Everyone I met from the hotel staff were charming, polite and efficient, making my short stay a pleasant experience.

Would be very happy to return

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadysmithJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    1,256
    322
    71
    35
See reviews for
493
1,336
156
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 days prior to a cruise. This was our second time to stay at this hotel and we found that standards had been maintained and improved since our first visit. This hotel has an excellent location for the nonbusiness traveler. You are centrally located with all the main tourist zones and attractions within easy walking distance or access to the tram system. Despite that you are located in a quiet neighborhood that belies its active zone centrality. I had arranged for a business class room which is about 20% larger than the superior rooms with more amenities. I had also requested a "canal view" and was pleased to have been given a great room with a wonderful view. Looking out the windows you just knew you were in lovely Amsterdam. The room rate included a great buffet breakfast which has been moved to the hotel's restaurant. The range and quality of breakfast options should please almost all. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner but the menu looked really good and others have commented favorably as to the food quality. I would recommend this hotel highly to nonbusiness travelers looking for quality accomodations in a great central location and are not budget oriented.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

stayed at this hotel with friends for a long weekend break. Great location, just minutes walk from where its all happening! Rooms spacious, clean, quiet and good value. If returning to Amsterdam, would definately stay here again. Red Light district is to be avoided, but the rest of the city is great. Would recomend a guided bike tour (see Yellow Bike and ask for Sacha as your guide), as you see parts of the city that you would never otherwise find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top (6th) floor - its very quiet up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I travel to Amsterdam frequently on business and have stayed at various hotels around the city. This property was definitely the best I have enjoyed.

The rooms were comfortable and clean. The service was exceptional. The food from the restaurant was just ok but there are plenty of other local options.

The fitness center was small but nicely equipped.

The location for this property could not be better. It is right in the heart of Amsterdam but a few blocks outside of the craziness of the Dam Square, etc. Save yourself a few Euros by taking the train rather than a taxi from Schiphol Airport. A direct train from Schiphol to Central Station is 8 Euro or less (tickets are available at the kiosks at the airport). From Central Station, the Radisson Blu is about a 15 minute walk, or you can take Metro lines 50 or 54 south one stop to Niewemarkt which is just 2 blocks from the hotel. A 48 hour metro pass is only 12 Euro. That's not bad compared to 35 or 40 Euro for a taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancburm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Recently spent 3 days in Amsterdam at the Radison Blu. Paying over £200 a night I expected a little more. The reception, lobby & rest of the hotel where old and tired. Having paid a little extra for the room it was up to scratch. Service was not what I would expect from a 4-star. There was no offer of help with our bags on arrival and 3 mornings in a row at breakfast a poor waiter came over to rush us by telling us the buffet would be closing in 10mins. Paying these prices you don't like to be rushed. Overall not bad, but not great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tums68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
552 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $250 - $859
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing