We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,076)
Filter reviews
3,076 results
Traveller rating
2,383
529
101
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,383
529
101
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bar living room all inclusive concept pillow menu canal view lounge area every afternoon flower market wonderful hotel mini bar in the room home from home rembrandt square breakfast was excellent boutique hotel rain shower walked everywhere coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
2,072 - 2,077 of 3,076 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Everything about this hotel is awesome. To start with, the location is perfect. It's walking distance to Dam Square, The Hermitage Museum. If the Red Light District is your thing - that's walking distance as well. The Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum are both a short tram ride away. The service at the hotel was excellent without being stuffy. The staff was friendly, which is more than I can say about some of the other places I stayed while in Paris later that week! The rooms at Banks Mansion were clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was my favorite. The cook-to-order omelette was delicious. My primary complaint was that I was unable to spend both nights at this hotel. Great experience all around.

Room Tip: Choose a room on as high a floor as possible - cars and foot traffic noticeable but not bad on lower 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccsmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the effort of writing one. We are happy that the hotel was joyful to you and that you liked all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the (near) future.

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is simply great. Warm welcome, clean rooms, great recommendations from staff on places to eat and shop. The breakfasts were delicious and included both Dutch fare and the regulars of eggs, bacon and sausage ... fresh breads and croissants. In the afternoons guests settle in the lobby for wine, snacks and a cheese tray ... all included in the room rate. The mini bar in your room is also free. A very fine experience.

Room Tip: We had absolutely no problem with noise and our room was overlooking the canal near a street.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neriagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear guests,

We are happy to have given you this fine experience, thank you for writing a review about it! It is a treat for us to read that all the aspects of our hotel were joyful to you; the complementary drinks in the Living as well as in your room, the daily chesse and sausage platter, the live-cooking breakfast restaurant and all the comforts of the rooms.

We hope to be able make you experience the total hospitality experience of Banks Mansion again during your next visit in the (near) future,

With indulged and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel deserves its latest 2012 Trip Advisor award. Rooms, service, staff (nothing was too much trouble for them) breakfast, complimentary coffee/tea, drinks and nibbles - everything was just great. Best hotel we have stayed in for years and we travel alot for business and pleasure. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and request a canal view room. You won't regret it. They are quiet as the rooms have double glazing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear guests,

What a surprise to read that your heading already summaries what we try to achieved for you as our guest to experience at Banks Mansion! Thank you for your review, we are doing the best we can to earn the TripAdvisor in an honest way again for 2013! We are glad that your experience has contributed to this!

We hope to be of service to you again during another stay!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a great stay! My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of September. The rooms were clean and supply everything that you could need. The beds were very comfortable and we had a great canal view. The breakfast was great in the morning. The staff was always pleasant and helpful.
The free drinks in the "living room" were always something we looked forward to at the end of a long site seeing day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwagner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review, we appreciate this very much! How wonderful that you have enjoyed all the features of Banks Mansions’ concept; The comfortable beds, a lot of rooms with great canal view, and the other rooms with a great view towards the rest of Amsterdam. Not to forget the breakfast with one of our chefs live-cooking eggs, omelets and pancakes for you. Thank you for the complement about the pleasantness and helpfulness of our staff!

We hope to be able to let you indulge again during a next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a really great hotel in an excellent location. Wonderful staff, breakfasts,beds and showers. Add all the free tea , coffee, wine, liquor, and snacks they provide and how could you not stay here? You feel so comfortable and at home. Would absolutely stay at The Banks Mansion again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bytheseaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear guests,

We appreciate your lovely review! Thank you for that! It is great to read that you have enjoyed you stay and all its features at Banks Mansion! The complementary coffee, tea, soda’s, liquors, beers and wine in out Living. But also the snacks, cheese, sausages and complementary candies in this area. We are very happy hearing you say that you felt at home, then we have succeeded in our mission!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the future!

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews