We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

we stayed for 5 nights at this lovely hotel centrally located near Rembrandt square, the redlight district, shopping, the flower market and walking distance to any other musuem and area of interest. Simply fantastic service, great breakfast!! wine, beer and liquor are all free. I cannot say enough about what a lovely experience this place provides. I travel extensively all over the world and highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KellyH867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear guests,

We highly appreciate your fabulous review. It is great to read that an experience traveler as yourself enjoys all the aspects of the concept that enriches Banks Mansion. It is great to read that you also enjoyed the convenience of having Amsterdam’s famous hotspots and restaurants close to the hotel.

Thank you for your recommendation and we are happily awaiting your next visit!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,900 - 1,904 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Everything about this hotel is awesome. To start with, the location is perfect. It's walking distance to Dam Square, The Hermitage Museum. If the Red Light District is your thing - that's walking distance as well. The Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum are both a short tram ride away. The service at the hotel was excellent without being stuffy. The staff was friendly, which is more than I can say about some of the other places I stayed while in Paris later that week! The rooms at Banks Mansion were clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was my favorite. The cook-to-order omelette was delicious. My primary complaint was that I was unable to spend both nights at this hotel. Great experience all around.

Room Tip: Choose a room on as high a floor as possible - cars and foot traffic noticeable but not bad on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccsmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the effort of writing one. We are happy that the hotel was joyful to you and that you liked all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the (near) future.

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is simply great. Warm welcome, clean rooms, great recommendations from staff on places to eat and shop. The breakfasts were delicious and included both Dutch fare and the regulars of eggs, bacon and sausage ... fresh breads and croissants. In the afternoons guests settle in the lobby for wine, snacks and a cheese tray ... all included in the room rate. The mini bar in your room is also free. A very fine experience.

Room Tip: We had absolutely no problem with noise and our room was overlooking the canal near a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neriagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear guests,

We are happy to have given you this fine experience, thank you for writing a review about it! It is a treat for us to read that all the aspects of our hotel were joyful to you; the complementary drinks in the Living as well as in your room, the daily chesse and sausage platter, the live-cooking breakfast restaurant and all the comforts of the rooms.

We hope to be able make you experience the total hospitality experience of Banks Mansion again during your next visit in the (near) future,

With indulged and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel deserves its latest 2012 Trip Advisor award. Rooms, service, staff (nothing was too much trouble for them) breakfast, complimentary coffee/tea, drinks and nibbles - everything was just great. Best hotel we have stayed in for years and we travel alot for business and pleasure. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and request a canal view room. You won't regret it. They are quiet as the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear guests,

What a surprise to read that your heading already summaries what we try to achieved for you as our guest to experience at Banks Mansion! Thank you for your review, we are doing the best we can to earn the TripAdvisor in an honest way again for 2013! We are glad that your experience has contributed to this!

We hope to be of service to you again during another stay!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a great stay! My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of September. The rooms were clean and supply everything that you could need. The beds were very comfortable and we had a great canal view. The breakfast was great in the morning. The staff was always pleasant and helpful.
The free drinks in the "living room" were always something we looked forward to at the end of a long site seeing day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwagner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review, we appreciate this very much! How wonderful that you have enjoyed all the features of Banks Mansions’ concept; The comfortable beds, a lot of rooms with great canal view, and the other rooms with a great view towards the rest of Amsterdam. Not to forget the breakfast with one of our chefs live-cooking eggs, omelets and pancakes for you. Thank you for the complement about the pleasantness and helpfulness of our staff!

We hope to be able to let you indulge again during a next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,723 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,107 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
567 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $309 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing