We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 254
USD 191
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 246
USD 221
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 308
USD 248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 231
USD 202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 270
USD 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 335
USD 178
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
USD 224
USD 132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 532
USD 400
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
USD 370
USD 277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,990)
Filter reviews
2,990 results
Traveller rating
2,310
517
100
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,310
517
100
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptall inclusive hotelpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentboutique hotelrain showerwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
2,001 - 2,006 of 2,990 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A very relaxed and friendly hotel. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice of fresh breads, rolls & pastries, fruit, sliced meats and cheese, plus the wonderful fresh cooking of eggs, omelettes, pancakes etc A real treat and they cooked it to order just how you like it. Best fried eggs I've had!
In the evening you can relax in 'the living' early evening enjoying a glass of wine and some cheese and at the end of the evening, no need to have coffee at the restaurant, just come back and relax with coffee and liquiers. This is an 'all inclusive' hotel, so no extra cost, wonderful. It was our 20th Wedding anniversary and we have a lovely time and felt thoroughly spoilt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your review on your stay at Banks Mansion! Our Guest Relations Officers thank you for the compliment about their friendliness! It is great that you have enjoyed all aspects of our hotel; the live-cooking breakfast restaurant, the complementary drink in both the Living as well as in the private bar in your room, the wireless internet throughout the hotel and the great accessibility of the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you again for your 25th wedding anniversary (or maybe even earlier!)

With kind and lovely regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Banks Mansion kept its promise - "feel at home". Where else but home would you expect your wi-fi to be free, drinks and snacks on hand, a newspaper to read or an iPad, comfortable lounge to chill in and great cooked breakfast. The front desk staff would bend over backwards to help us. These guys have worked out what travellers want. We booked a room with channel views and got a great view on level 3. I wouldn't have liked a room on the road with the trams, as it may have been noisy. The location is awesome, a tram right outside the front door, another 2 blocks away to go the markets.. plus the walk along the channel is beautiful.

If you like massages - make sure you book a massage from Clayton (the front desk will line it up for you), I would rate it one of the best massages ever, 9.8/10 - and I have a lot of massages.

Room Tip: Book the channel view rooms. Book a massage with Clayton. Check out the cookies at Coffee Shop Green, just around the corner from the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear guests,

It is fantastic to read your review. This is what we strive for; to make your stay an amazing one! Thank you for summarizing the features of our charming boutique hotel Banks Mansion, which you have enjoyed; the complementary drinks and snacks in our Living as well as in your own private mini-bar, free magazines and daily worldwide newspapers and the complementary use of iPads, in the Living or the possibility of taking one to your room!
Our Guest Relations Officers thank you for the compliment about their friendliness and attentiveness! Achieving this is one of their main goals.

We are happy to have made you stay enjoyable and we hope we can welcome you again in the (near) future to make you stay faultless one more time!

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and I just finished a 15 day jaunt through Europe, with Amsterdam being our last stop. After traveling for 11 days, we arrived a little tired, but from the minute we walked in to the Banks Mansion, we felt at home. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, but they took our bags and recommended a nice walk to see some sites. We returned a couple of hours later to find a large, clean, comfortable room, overlooking the bustling street and a canal view. While nervous that our second floor room would be loud, it was anything but, with dual-paned windows keeping out the noise! The beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful. We enjoyed the included breakfast each morning, with a great staff cooking fresh eggs, pancakes, etc at your request. The "everything included" concept was great, and we really enjoyed coming back at Happy Hour to snacks and beer/wine.
All of the staff we encountered were kind, helpful and a joy to be around. I look forward to returning to Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RHTubbs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for you lovely review. It is joyful to read that you have enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to all great hotspots, squares and restaurants of Amsterdam. Next to that is it great that all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept were appealing to you; the complementary drinks in our Living as well as in your private mini-bar, the first class beds, the choice of 6 relaxing pillows of our pillow menu and the breakfast restaurant with chefs prepares omelets, eggs and pancakes for you on demand.

We hope we can be welcoming you again when you return to hotel Banks Mansion in Amsterdam.

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Useful Tips First:

Visa is regarded as a credit card in Holland even though it can be a debit card, if you are buying train tickets and wondering why your card is being declined despite it being a debit card its because only Maestro is considered a debit card. Regardless of you using a debit card you have to select Visa as a credit card.

Second only Amsterdam Centraal and the Amsterdam Airport train station except visa payments AT ALL (ticket machine or service desk) for tickets. All other train stations in Holland do not except Visa - so make sure you buy all your tickets at these stations or get cash :)

Third, it is $3.80 per person to get the train from the Airport to Amsterdam Centraal, a taxi to banks mansion cost us $50.

The hotel sells tickets to some of the museums and attractions, bike hire at reception which is extremely useful as you don't have to join the very long queues of tourists. Bike hire was $25 a day I believe.

The hotel:

The hotel is situated in a great place and is walking/cycling distance to everything, it lies upon the Gentleman's Canal which is reported to be the most attractive canal in Amsterdam. It is a very striking building with an art deco theme inside.

The reception was warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel not only has a free minibar but the "concept" of the hotel is that all drinks are free. Let me say that again.......the drinks are free!!

Although the minibar is not fantastically stocked you get 3 decanters of spirits topped up daily but this doesn't matter as you can go down to the lobby and essentially have any drink you desire just help yourself.

The room was not particularly big but it is very clean and new looking, they even have a pillow menu in the room and variety supplied so you choose what type of pillows you want at night.

The room is equipped with air conditioning, safe, ironing board and iron, wardrobe, dressing table, fridge, hairdryer, his and hers sink, large shower, complimentary toiletries replenished daily and dressing gown and slippers.

The room had TV with an acceptable number of English channels and movie channels, there is a DVD player in the room with DVD hire available.

The hotel is brilliantly located in between all the shopping and night life but also the outer channels and boutique / arts / museum. But as all other reviews have stated this really is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheQuietObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this great and extensive review! And how great that you have left these great tips for future travelers! These are very helpful!
It is great to hear that all facets of our “Home, away from home” concept have been joyful to you; the complementary bar in the Living, the private bar in the room, comfortable beds, the pillow menu, the movies and DVDs, as well as the iPads and internet offered throughout the entire hotel. That you have enjoyed the breakfast restaurant full with daily fresh (local) products and the snacks we have presented to all our guests all day long in our Living area.

We are looking forward to be of service to you again during a next stay at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location with great service. Did I mention I had a "Great" time. The experience is worth it. Make sure to enjoy what the hotel offers - in addition to what the city of Amsterdam offers.

Room Tip: Canal view is a plus. All rooms are quiet at this hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guests,

It is good to read that the great city of Amsterdam has been a welcome place for you and that Banks Mansion has been a part of this! The goal of our Guest Relations Officers is to make you have the total Banks Mansion experience, part of this is to be of service of our guests for the maximum amount as possible. We are happy we have achieved this during your stay.

We hope to achieve this again during your next stay, see you soon at Banks Mansion.

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews