We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding location and fantastic view”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is another all inclusive well-priced hotel. We had a corner room with views over the canal and main strasse....cooked and a la carte breakfast included as well as day-long drinks and cheese/wine/meat platters for afternoon delight. Outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the canal. Weekend can be noisy but you are in one of the most amazing cities i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear guest,

How amazing only to read the heading of your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the location of our hotel, with it’s great proximity to all hotspots and fine restaurants of Amsterdam. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the great view from you room, it is worth it staying in one of our Canal View Double Deluxe room!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the (near) future.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,873 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

The "Home away from home" concept here is fabulous. We had just spent a week in Paris in a rented apartment, and another 3 days in a B&B in Epernay. Both were wonderful experiences. But as we neared the end of our vacation in Amsterdam, we were so thankful for being pampered by a full service hotel. By "full service", I mean all the fine details: Soft, comfortable bed; free refreshments in the room including a marvelously displayed stand of gin, whiskey, and cognac in crystal carafe; a comfortable and inviting "living room" in the lobby which also features free beverages and iPad's for your use. Above all, the staff is genuinely friendly and willing to help you with all of your tourist or business needs. And all of this is located in the most conveniently for hitting all the tourist spots. Everything is within walking distance from here. I love this place.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room, and while it can be noisy when the windows are open, the windows block all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurtravelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate it very much that you have taken some time to write these great complements for us! It is a treat to read that you have enjoyed all aspets of our “home, away from home” concept. From the complementary drinks in our Living room and in your private mini-bar, till the comfortable beds and pillow menu. And not to forget the free use of iPads and complementary wireless hi-speed internet!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the (near) future.

With warm regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I were finally able to visit the Netherlands, where my mom was born, and we knew about the Banks Mansion Hotel because we had stayed at another Carlton hotel - the Carlton George in Glasgow. From the first experience of phoning to make a reservation, to our actual stay, the people at Banks Mansion were helpful and well informed. The property itself was beautiful and very central to everything we wanted to see. Our room was filled with art deco furniture and a well stocked complimentary bar. The complimentary 5 o'clock happy hour included a charcuterie and cheese platter that introduced wonderful local products, including giner hazelnut bread. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and included pannekoek - the best we tasted during our travels. Our goal was to see the museums, and the hotel desk had tickets to the Van Gogh that could be purchased in advance - eliminating time wasting line ups. We may never be able to visit Amsterdam again, so this visit was made extra wonderful by the great service provided by this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a canal view room and it was worth it - very beautiful, with large sunny windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear guests,

It is wonderful to read that your good experiences at one of our sister hotels made you book a room at Banks Mansion as well. And even more important that our hotel have lived up to your expectations! It is amazing that you were indulged by the great features of our “home, away from home” concept. All the complementary drinks, as well in the room as in our Living, the cheese table, our live-cooking breakfast restaurant, free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel, the use of iPads and the availability of pre-sale tickets to some great museums, massages and the public transportation.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in the (near) future!

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel, located perfectly near the flower marked, Rembrandt square and a few minutes walk from Spui street. The "Home away from home" concept is really exceptional.
There is a 24 hour self service bar in the lobby included in the price of the room. It really changes the whole vacation for the best. You can stop for a soft drink, coffee, beer or a cocktail on your way out or to the room. The "Five O'clock" cheese and sausage buffet is very nice too. Breakfast is wonderful.
We found ourselves sitting in the lobby much more then we usually do, surfing the internet using the new iPads. Wi-Fi is free of charge and the signal in the room was strong.
The stuff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very nicely decorated, very clean and there are free minibar, espresso machine and alcoholic beverage in them.
The only downfall of the standard rooms are their size - rooms are considerably small.
Would definitely go back when going to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorit12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear guests,

How wonderful to read through your review! Thank you for that! It is good to read that you enjoyed our special concept, the “home, away from home” concept! With all its features, just to give you as a guest the feeling like you are at home; all the complementary drinks, as well in the room as in our Living, the cheese table, our live-cooking breakfast restaurant, free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel and the use of iPads!
Our hotel building is a monument in Amsterdam so this creates the charm that all our rooms have different characteristics, some larger than the others.

We hope that we could welcome you again for a next visit at Banks Mansion!

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early August and enjoyed the room, service and free bar both in the room and in the foyer. We were even offered breakfast when we arrived at 6.30 am to the hotel. It's on a great position so we could walk or team to most places.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

How lovely to read the heading of your review! A big thank you from the chefs of our Live-Cooking breakfast restaurant for the compliment! It is a joy to read that you have enjoyed the features of our hotel, not only the breakfast restaurant, but also the complementary bar in both Living as in the hotel room. Next to that the proximity of our hotel to all great hotspots and restaurants was also appealing to you!

We hope to be a host to you again for another stay at Banks Mansion!

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,658 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,011 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $308 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing