We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,057)
Filter reviews
3,057 results
Traveller rating
2,365
528
101
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,365
528
101
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptpillow menucanal viewlounge areaevery afternoonflower marketwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentboutique hotelrain showerwalked everywherecoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
2,180 - 2,185 of 3,057 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great hotel in central location, friendly staff, good breakfast and the added touch of complimentary refreshments.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

Even a small sentence on Tripadvisor makes the team of Banks Mansion motivated to provide our guests with the service that we stand for! Thank you very much for your review.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent five nights at this hotel last week and have only good things to say. It is in a great location..walking distance to everything. Great staff, clean, comfortable room (212) with big bathroom (separate shower and large tub). Breakfast included - nice selection with made to order eggs and pancakes - more like crepes but delicious. Nice to go back to the hotel after walking for hours and have a glass of wine with some appetizers. And the wine was not bad! I had initially wanted to stay in a canal house to really get the flavor of the city but wanted one that included breakfast and couldn't find that. I also usually stay in a smaller, more boutique style hotel. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Every room has a different shape, but is provided with the same facilities like a free private bar, movie system and LCD flat screen. We always try to keep in mind what a guest prefers: staying on the front or back of the hotel or for example a room with a bath. The staff in the breakfast room is looking forward to help you again with some freshly made eggs or pancakes. A canal house would be a lovely experience, we do hope to welcome you back to Banks Mansion some day.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

An unexpected treat! Upon arrival we were granted a free room upgrade- to the third floor corner room overlooking the Herengracht canal. The hotel was perfectly located for exploring the city on foot. During our stay in Amsterdam the weather was quite chilly. Since this hotel was so centrally located we were able to stop back into our hotel in the middle of the day to put on more layers, warm up, and enjoy a free espresso or cappuccino from the 'living room' of the hotel.
At night we would relax in the 'living room' with a free drink and a snack that the hotel provided. At the hotel we were also able to buy tickets for the canal tours, Anne Frank House, trams, etc. The room was excellently clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a a menu to order pillows to your liking each night. This hotel is also very close to a stop for the tram which is a quick ride anywhere in the city, especially Centraal Station.
The staff was warm and welcoming each time we entered the hotel. The breakfast was delicious each day, and the staff in the kitchen was also very friendly.
I suggest this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. April is a month with cold and warm days, it could easily be that we have high temperatures at the end of this month. It is nice to hear that our Living was of good use to you to warm up and drinking a cappuccino or eating an appetizer which is all included in the price. To make it as comfortable as possible for each guest we have tickets available for sights in Amsterdam, that way the guest is able to avoid long queues. The pillow menu is there to give all our guests the option to the pillow that they prefer to get a good night sleep. We will make sure that we will give you a warm welcome next time you visit Banks Mansion!


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is located half way between Dam Square and the Museum area, very convenient to the main tourist sites, yet far enough away from the noise and tackiness of the Red Light District and the area around Central Station. There is even a tram which stops right outside the hotel. The room was comfortable and very clean and despite the fact that we were on the ground floor with a tram running outside the window, there was very little noise at nighttime. We also liked the "all inclusive" facilities of the hotel, namely the DIY free bar and cheeses offered in the evenings - a very nice touch. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Probably not the cheapest option in town, but well worth the extra money - I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do your research if you are travelling to the hotel from the train station - we paid 20 Euro for a 5 minute ride in a taxi!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMoore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

It is very good to hear that we have made your stay an enjoyable one. We are proud of the location of Banks Mansion, as you say: in the city centre but away from the biggest noise. Besides the tram, we also have a metro and bus stop close to hotel. The hotel is very well reachable with the public transport. If you do take a taxi please keep in mind that the costs will approximately be €10,- from the Central station to Banks Mansion. Thank you very much for your comment towards the team of Banks Mansion, I will make sure that this message will be passed to my colleagues.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Spent one weekend there with my husband and had a great time. Amsterdam has so much to offer and certainly Banks Mansion helps to enjoy this wonderful city.

Our room was a typical european size room, small but clean and with a wonderful via of the canal. We specially enjoyed the free drinks on the lobby.

Would come back again happily.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. The rooms are indeed of European standard, but to compensate we offer the guest the full service concept completed with breakfast buffet, drinks and appetizers offered in The Living, private bar and movie system in the room, use of our Business corner and WIFI connection through the hotel and a location in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you back happily.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews