We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Delightful Banks Mansion Hotel-Amsterdam”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is the perfect hotel for a short break in amsterdam. The location is great, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and spacious, and the reception staff most friendly and helpful. There is the added touch of a free self service drinks bar in the reception area, and a complimentary mini bar in the rooms. We travel to amsterdam every Easter, and will defintely be staying at the Banks Mansion next year!

Room Tip: Request a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamperLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review on Tripadvisor. It is good to see that you made good use of the values of Banks Mansion. We are looking forward to welcome you again on the 31st of March 2013.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,990 of 2,840 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great hotel in central location, friendly staff, good breakfast and the added touch of complimentary refreshments.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

Even a small sentence on Tripadvisor makes the team of Banks Mansion motivated to provide our guests with the service that we stand for! Thank you very much for your review.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent five nights at this hotel last week and have only good things to say. It is in a great location..walking distance to everything. Great staff, clean, comfortable room (212) with big bathroom (separate shower and large tub). Breakfast included - nice selection with made to order eggs and pancakes - more like crepes but delicious. Nice to go back to the hotel after walking for hours and have a glass of wine with some appetizers. And the wine was not bad! I had initially wanted to stay in a canal house to really get the flavor of the city but wanted one that included breakfast and couldn't find that. I also usually stay in a smaller, more boutique style hotel. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Every room has a different shape, but is provided with the same facilities like a free private bar, movie system and LCD flat screen. We always try to keep in mind what a guest prefers: staying on the front or back of the hotel or for example a room with a bath. The staff in the breakfast room is looking forward to help you again with some freshly made eggs or pancakes. A canal house would be a lovely experience, we do hope to welcome you back to Banks Mansion some day.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

An unexpected treat! Upon arrival we were granted a free room upgrade- to the third floor corner room overlooking the Herengracht canal. The hotel was perfectly located for exploring the city on foot. During our stay in Amsterdam the weather was quite chilly. Since this hotel was so centrally located we were able to stop back into our hotel in the middle of the day to put on more layers, warm up, and enjoy a free espresso or cappuccino from the 'living room' of the hotel.
At night we would relax in the 'living room' with a free drink and a snack that the hotel provided. At the hotel we were also able to buy tickets for the canal tours, Anne Frank House, trams, etc. The room was excellently clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a a menu to order pillows to your liking each night. This hotel is also very close to a stop for the tram which is a quick ride anywhere in the city, especially Centraal Station.
The staff was warm and welcoming each time we entered the hotel. The breakfast was delicious each day, and the staff in the kitchen was also very friendly.
I suggest this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. April is a month with cold and warm days, it could easily be that we have high temperatures at the end of this month. It is nice to hear that our Living was of good use to you to warm up and drinking a cappuccino or eating an appetizer which is all included in the price. To make it as comfortable as possible for each guest we have tickets available for sights in Amsterdam, that way the guest is able to avoid long queues. The pillow menu is there to give all our guests the option to the pillow that they prefer to get a good night sleep. We will make sure that we will give you a warm welcome next time you visit Banks Mansion!


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is located half way between Dam Square and the Museum area, very convenient to the main tourist sites, yet far enough away from the noise and tackiness of the Red Light District and the area around Central Station. There is even a tram which stops right outside the hotel. The room was comfortable and very clean and despite the fact that we were on the ground floor with a tram running outside the window, there was very little noise at nighttime. We also liked the "all inclusive" facilities of the hotel, namely the DIY free bar and cheeses offered in the evenings - a very nice touch. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Probably not the cheapest option in town, but well worth the extra money - I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do your research if you are travelling to the hotel from the train station - we paid 20 Euro for a 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMoore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

It is very good to hear that we have made your stay an enjoyable one. We are proud of the location of Banks Mansion, as you say: in the city centre but away from the biggest noise. Besides the tram, we also have a metro and bus stop close to hotel. The hotel is very well reachable with the public transport. If you do take a taxi please keep in mind that the costs will approximately be €10,- from the Central station to Banks Mansion. Thank you very much for your comment towards the team of Banks Mansion, I will make sure that this message will be passed to my colleagues.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,173 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $315 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing