We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #158 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location in Amsterdam, short walk from the train station (maybe 0.5 miles), right next to Dam Square, and just outside of the Red Light District. Room was easily big enough for 2 people, was clean, beds were comfortable, and no problems with the temp in the room! Our room was located on the side facing Damrak street, with a busy road we figured we'd hear something from out there, but overnight we couldn't hear anything. We could hear some of the other people in the hotel shutting doors and such, but not a big deal. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, as we wanted to explore the city streets and find a pancake!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Expat_in_UK113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

A quiet sleep is appreciated by everyone and with our double-glassed windows we can assure our guests that it will be quiet, even at the front of the hotel
We were happy that you enjoyed your stay with. And we are sorry that you had to explore the city to eat a pancake. We promoted pancakes some years ago but that was not the success we expected so we discontinued it.
Looking forward to welcomng you again
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

we have just returned from a 3 night stay in Amsterdam. we booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. the location is right beside dam square and just 700 m from central station. it is a perfect location for people who are travelling to tour and view Amsterdam. the staff at reception are very helpful and efficient. the rooms are on the small side but very comfortable but then we were not there to sit in the hotel all day. there was both smoking and non smoking rooms. the rooms were cleaned everyday and the facilities were modern. it had a a mini bar and kettle with tea and coffee available. the beds were very comfortable and in total this hotel met all the reviews that had been written. thank you Hotel Amsterdam for a lovely city break. you deserve your good reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

We were happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We presume that you had one of the renovated rooms as you describe that the rooms were modern. Renovation will be continued this fall and will be ready for all rooms at the end of February 2013.
We hope that you will pay us a visit again.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Phantastic location in the centre of Amsterdam. All major topics are on walking distance. Room was clean, but unfortunately a little cold. Adequate reaction on our complaint.
One of the few hotels with a smoking room policy, that leaves the choice with the guests.
We really enjoyed our stay at a fair rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjaak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

We appreciate your review and have taken note that the temperature in the room was a little cold during your visit. I do not know if this was during the period of frost . I apologize for the inconvenience. Our climate control system should allow temperatures up to 28 C .
Unfortunately I also have to disappoinht you. Starting January 1st, 2013 we shall not offer any rooms for smokers anymore. Operations with one floor with rooms for smokers proved to be difficult to manage. But we shall continue to offer room rates which are attractive.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I booked online just before Christmas and got a good deal for me and my mate to stay for two nights in Amsterdam. The hotel looked to be recently renovated and the room we were offered was very clean, modern and spacious. The en suite bathroom was also modern and was very clean. The room had a mini bar, television, safe, European and English plug sockets (which was lucky as I'd forgotten my adapter) and air conditioning.

The location of the hotel could not have been better, situated right next to Dam Square within 5 minutes walk of Central Station.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUtdOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We just finished the renovation of another floor so 50% of the hotel has gone through a renovation and items such as built-in UK and USA plugs have been added for the comfort of our guests. Apparently you had one of the renovated rooms. In autum we shall start with the renovation of the remaining rooms.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

stayed 4 nights, Great location- walking distance from rail station , room (after upgrade) large, staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Room quiet Be careful with eating in the attached restaurant Lovely meal but we paid cash and we were also billed on credit card. It was sorted out quickly as we were remembered but could be problematic if long period had passed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodtrishmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the fact that your restaurant bill, which you paid cash, also figured on your hotel invoice. Technically this should not be possible so we shall look into the system to see how this could happen. We hope that, despite this incident, we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 373 in Amsterdam
726 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,126 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $200 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing