We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
319
188
42
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
188
42
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews m club midtown grill great location the executive lounge lounge access concierge desk major museums van gogh museum district heineken experience family room hop on hop upon check canal boat short walk within walking distance early check
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed here back in August and found the hotel a great place. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the hotel entrance was clean and had a great scent throughout. The main entrance ins round the side but you can also enter the restaurant side and walk through. The room seemed fairly newly refurbished and was all very clean

For a video review of our room, head over to You.Tube and look for our channel called ‘Tim and Matt’s Travel Reviews’

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank TimAndMattTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf_Vaessen, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear timandmatttravel,

Thank you for taking the time to not only review us here on TripAdvisor but also on youtube! We are so pleased to see that we provided such a great base for your visit to Amsterdam. It makes us especially happy to know that our staff were so welcoming and friendly. We hope to see you back again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I was meeting a friend in Amsterdam, and through work they were staying at the Marriott Amsterdam hotel so decided to stay with them for one night. The Marriott is located in the southern part of the city, near the Rijksmuseum. The hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants and bars, as well as to bus and tram lines. Via the tram, it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the main square and downtown. Another convenience is that the airport-to-city bus stops across the street from the Marriott.

From the outside, the hotel itself looks old and more like a converted apartment building. Inside, however, the hotel has been refurbished so it looks nice and modern. The main entrance to the hotel is on the side street, while the main street has the entrance to the hotel via the bar/restaurant. From the main entrance, you enter into the lobby with the check-in desks and concierge on your right, lounge straight ahead, and elevators and restaurant to your left.

My friend had arrived early (around 7am) and had requested an early room but it was not

ready; it seemed to be consistent with the hotel that rooms were generally not ready until close to the stated check-in time of 12p. I was staying in another hotel so my friend came and joined me while the room was being ready. Around 10:30a we got a message stating that the room was ready.

The room was located right next to the elevators and throughout the night noise could be heard from the hallway. Also, it was very cold in Amsterdam but the heat in the room didn’t seem to work properly as the room never seemed to get warm – even though the heat was set to the max. The room itself was spacious a big, more akin to American-size rooms versus European sizes.

As you entered into the room, on the right side were shelves and the closet while on the left was the bathroom. There was a small closed closet along with open shelves and a space to put your luggage. In the closed section was the safe. The bathroom was spacious and contained a sink, a toilet, and a rain shower. The only problem was the lack of the barrier between the shower and the bathroom – there was no barrier to the water went everywhere. Bathroom amenities included toiletries, robes as well as slippers.

As you went further in the room, on the right hand side was a chest with drawers on the

bottom and a TV on top. Next to that was a desk and next to the desk was the window which looked outside. Even though we had requested two beds, the hotel only had a king-size bed room available so on the other side of the room was the king-size bed with a nightstand on either side. The bed was comfortable and spacious enough for two people to sleep comfortably. Updates to the hotel included USB ports on other side of the bed – a nice addition. There was also some nice Dutch touches to the room, including an art piece of traditional Dutch shoes on the wall.

Amenities to the hotel included free wifi, a gym, a lounge, restaurant/bar, and concierge. Due to the limited time, I was only able to use the free wifi and the concierge. The wifi was free, with decent speeds that were fast enough to stream youtube videos. We used the concierge to ask for advice as well as to store luggage – the advice was decent and the hotel was able to store luggage for almost the entire day.

Overall, it was a nice stay at the Marriott. It was a full-service hotel and felt like it with spacious rooms and convenient access. However, the costs for the room was a lot higher than the surrounding hotels, so I am not sure I saw the value given the higher price.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0504Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

I had the opportunity to visit this hotel to attend a conference that was being held at this place. I did not stay at this place and my access was mostly restricted to the conference rooms of the hotel, but had the opportunity to experience the food here. The lunch buffets were very nicely arranged, they had a variety of salads, all colourful and beautifully arranged. Since I was a vegetarian, and the vegetarian options were very little, they made special arrangements to ensure that we were happy and content with the food. All the staff was nice, friendly and always keen to help you out. Plus they had a nicely arranged dry fruits section, and self-help coffee machines that you can enjoy in between the meals!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreyasi_athalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The staff of the Marriot went the extra mile to make our stay memorable and special for our daughter who was celebrating her 21st….staff very friendly and helpful – done effortlessly. Rooms spacious for a family of 4, very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. A very special mention to Victoria Kargaltseva who responded immediately and professionally to every one of our requests. We were extremely grateful for her help! We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank craighungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf_Vaessen, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear craighungary,

It is great to read your review, we are so pleased to hear that the staff did all they could to make your daughter's milestone birthday a memorable one. We are happy to be able to offer our guests such spacious rooms which can be very hard to find in the center of Amsterdam, we are glad that it was spacious enough for your family. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This was a perfect jumping off point for a day in the city. Easy taxi ride from the airport, and I was able to get an early check in. Just a few minutes walk to Vondelpark for running and to the Van Gogh Museum. The hotel has a nice gym. I got some nice t-shirts in the hotel shop.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf_Vaessen, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Camila T,

We are so pleased to read that we provided the perfect place to explore Amsterdam from, our location is indeed unbeatable. It is great to hear that you had such a smooth and convenient stay, with everything you need right on your doorstep. We hope you also had the time to try out our renowned steakhouse. We hope to see you again soon for another fantastic stay.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews