We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the crowne plaza over valentines and to arrive late on a Monday night after a long day of travelling to the welcome we received was excellent.

A special thank you to Maurice Janssen for everything you made our stay extra special we will never forget valentines 2012. Spoilt to say the least.

The hotel is fantastic, rooms very modern, clean and spacious and staff are very professional and polite they could not do enough for us. If you are thinking on staying at this hotel you will not be disappointed. Every inch was luxury to us. We are already thinking on our next trip with our baby boy at Xmas!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleeire23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Littleeire,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are delighted to read you were warmly welcomed. We forwarded your comments in regards to Maurice to him and he was pleased to read your comments as well. It is a pleasure to find, he assisted in making your Valentines trip so special.

We also appreciate, you qualified the hotel as "fantastic" and found the rooms to be modern, clean and spacious and staff friendly and polite.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you back over Christmas this time with your baby-boy. We look forward making also that holiday as memorable as your Valentines.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,069
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,369
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent location absolutely spotless and was a pleasure to stay in .would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for you kind review commenting on your stay with us.

Your review being short, comments on a lot of things. The location is indeed very central in Amsterdam City Centre. Just steps away from Amsterdam Central Station and near a lot of Amsterdam favorites such as Dam Square and the Royal Palace, the nine streets shopping area, The canals with typical Amsterdam Canal Houses.

We are pleased to read that you furthemore enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear guests would recommend us to their colleagues and friends.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just a quick review of a 2 night stay with friends.

Firstly the location is fantastic! It is a 5 minute walk from Central station and we found it really easily. Check in was quick and all the staff greeted us with a nice friendly smile.

Rooms were very comfortable and had all the facilities you would need, safe, ironing board, hairdryer, tea and coffee. One really good feature was the room had 3-pin UK plugs, as well as 2-pin European plugs.

Although Wifi was chargeable, you can goto the Business Centre on the -1 level and use the internet and printer there if you do need to check in online for your flight. Which was free of charge!!

On our last day , we checked out but we were still able to store our luggage free, which was great!

Overall, no problems or issues! Would definately book here if I ever need to stay in Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HT-Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments following your recent stay with us.

We are honoured you qualify our hotel as "one of the nicest Crowne Plaza!" Here at the Crowne Plaza amsterdam City Centre we strive for service excellence and are very happy to have achieved this for you during your visit.

When the hotel was renovated we redesigned the hotel with our guest in mind. We are happy to find you enjoyed the little touches like coffee and tea facilities, the in-room safe and all the other extras in your room.

It is great to hear that you used our business centre where complimentary usage of computer terminals and printers are available to our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Firstly i would like to say that the actual hotel is in an ideal location and the decor makes you feel so comfortable as soon as you enter. But in saying that it is a very classy hotel with loads of extras . We had been told in error when checking in our rate included breakfast,so when we went to the restaurant the next morning we were informed that we were not on the list.The receptionist said that we now couldnt have the reduced rate now has we would have had to book it on check in?Obviously had we not been told our rate included breakfast we would have done so,i was a bit upset about that but we left the hotel that day and ate elsewhere. But this was totally rectified by the manager who on our return to the hotel that night had left us a card with an apoplogy asking us to contact him. My Husband did so the next morning and he gave us breakfast on the house.Which we were not expecting atall.Also i had woken in the morning in need of tampons and not able to find any in the hotel bathroom i asked at reception.Within 5 minutes a whole box was delivered to my door. Also i must mention the increible conciege desk who are always there to offer fantastic advice. In conclusion i would totally recommend this hotel to all my friends superb hotel ,superb room staff amazing ,even though we had that slight problem it was delt with so professionally that we left very happy. Thankyou Amsterdam Crowne Plaza

Room Tip: we over looked main street interesting to see whats going on ,no noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for writing your kind review following your recent stay to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry ro read about the misunderstanding in regards to your breakfast but pleased to read we were able to turn your experience around.

The hotel is indeed centrally located in Amsterdam making Schiphol Interntational airport but also the various Amsterdam tourist destinations easy to access.

The hotel is fully renovated in 2009 and we are pleased to hear you find the decor comfortable yet classy and the room staff superb. We shared your comments with the entire team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and will be pleased to be at your service once again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here on a business Trip February 2012 and the Crowne Plaza fulfilled all of our expectations. The check in was easy, quick and courteous, and the room was immaculately cleaned with a good range of facilities. There is a pleasant lounge area, and the bar is bright and popular with guests. The prices may seem a little steep at almost 6 Euros for a beer, but the dingy looking pub a couple of doors away charges 5. The hotel is just across the road from Amsterdam Central station, and a few minutes from Dam Square and other attractions. In the immediate vicinity there are a number of bars, steakhouses, kebab shops and cafes, and right across the road you will find Resin, one of Amsterdam's famous coffee shops. Checkout was as smooth as check in, and I will definitely consider the Crown Plaza for my next stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel and for sharing your experiences with the travel community.

We are happy to find you were able to have a bit of fun during your stay. The hotel is indeed centrally located and in the vicinity of Central Station and all the city centre of Amsterdam has to offer. Dam Square and the Royal palace, 9 streets shopping area, red light district and many other Amsterdam novelties are within walking distance of the hotel.

Allthough the hotel is in the middel of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam we have some great areas in the hotel to relax and unwind. We have a small gym and sauna area located on the -1 level of the hotel. We also have the lobby connect which provides you with an area where you can have a glass of wine near the fireplace, watch some television, read a book or hold a little meeting with colleagues.

We furthermore have a clublounge where, once a clubroom is booked, one can sit back and relax in a private, serene area of the hotel. Breakfast, drinks and all day snacks are served, computers and internet are available as well are magezines and family board games.

We hope on your next visit to Amsterdam you won't just consider us, but book with us. We will be looking forward to be at your service once again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#88 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#59 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $372 - $568
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing