We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$741
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
AU$686
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$687
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JoeyAniorte
Heemstede, The Netherlands

Extraordinary hospitality.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 June 2019
Last week I experienced another brilliant 'Hoxton service' moment. I had left my Coffee mug at the Hoxton for two days in a row (or so I thought), before informing a lovely blonde lady at reception about it. Turns out remembered seeing it somewhere outside the hotel, but didn't realize it belonged to a guest. I figured the mug would have been cleaned by the city workers by now so went on with working upstairs at the hotel. A short while later, the blonde reception lady came up to me, with the mug, which she personally had been looking for outside between the bikes. Service doesn't get any better. This was not in any way expected from her, nor is it something that fits her duties at reception, it's simply the sheer desire of taking care of your guests. Something I experience more often at this Gem of a hotel. In the end, if you look beyond extraordinary F&B, sleek design, three piece uniforms and luxury amenities, true top-standard hospitality is defined by the service. Experiences like the one with the reception lady make the Hoxton a unique, top-standard hotel in Amsterdam.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 28 June 2019
He there Joey,

Thank you so much for sharing this lovely experience. We are thrilled to read (one of) our team went above and beyond to help you out, that's what it is all about for us. We will make sure to find out who helped you out that day and give her a big Hoxton high five. Thank you for recognising the importance of good and genuine service and we hope to see you back in our pad soon!

x the Hox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$455
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$445
  • Agoda.com
    AU$269
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
1.0 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$464
  • Hotels.com
    AU$525
  • Expedia.com
    AU$505
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$225
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$173
  • Priceline
3.7 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$131
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$115
  • Priceline
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$285
  • ibis
    AU$285
  • Expedia.com
    AU$285
  • Hotels.com
    AU$285
1.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$190
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$191
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$191
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$128
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$128
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$128
3.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$233
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
  • Expedia.com
    AU$233
0.9 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Official Site
AU$93
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$162
  • Vio.com
3.9 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$113
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Expedia.com
    AU$113
6.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,099 results
Traveller rating
2,424
476
130
46
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,424
476
130
46
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,022 - 1,027 of 3,099 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2019

I'm not sure you could get a better location!

pros
-room was extremely comfortable
- you need your key card to access the elevator for security
-great toiletries - shampoo, conditioner, soap, bath wash (no lotion)
- bath towels and hand towels provided ( no robes or wash cloths or slippers)
- separate shower and toilet room (but not all rooms are set up this way)
- wonderful shower
- small breakfast delivered to room at 6,7, 8 or 9 - you have to go to the ground floor for coffee (extra charge), if you want additional breakfast this is also additional
- water is available in the fridge and wine/beer are available for purchase on the ground floor (there is a nice bar area on the ground floor also)
- very powerful air con

cons
- shower floods the bathroom because there is no door
- limited wardrobe space and place for suitcases
- some rooms require multiple staircases to access (mine required two) so make sure to mention if you have mobility issues or heavy cases
- had to request the room to be cleaned
-front desk doesn't really explain anything - just expects you to figure it out - there is a guide in the room

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank overpack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us in Amsterdam so detailed, it's much appreciated! We are very happy to read about the pros, especially that you found your room to be so comfortable, like our free breakfast bag perk and the no-rip off minibar concept.

We're sorry to read you struggled with the steps to your room, we should have offered to give you a hand! In regards to the front desk not explaining anything, sorry to understand this came across this way, we usually love telling our guests about everything Hox.

We hope to welcome you back again!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019

Last time I visited Amsterdam I stayed at W. That was nice however we wanted something calming yet still modern. From the moment we checked in the service was wonderful. Nothing too much trouble. We had a cosy room, on reflection we should have got a larger room but the bed was still kingsize and and so comfortable. The rooms have a similar feel to Soho House.
We dined at lotties restaurant which was superb. Also the breakfast was good too. We loved the vibe of the hotel and the staff are lovely. Would definitely return and stay Canal side again.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harknett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

He there,

We are thrilled to read we've won you over ;-)! Thank you for sharing your experience, which seems to be one we would want everyone to have. We will make sure to pass on your kind and praising word to our team and we are happy to read you enjoyed them. Also glad to read you liked your room, we do indeed have some larger rooms which are even more comfortable, make sure to try to those out the next time.

We can't wait!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2019

My girlfriend and I visited Amsterdam at Easter and stayed at the Hoxton for a night. It was very clean, quiet in our room and buzzing in the bar-restaurant area. The stand-out thing was the service: the staff really made us feel welcome and went above and beyond.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrgilber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Hello there,

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to share it! We are happy you enjoyed staying as much as we enjoyed having you. Glad to read your room was clean and quiet and that you like our team.

We are all looking forward to having you back soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019 via mobile

I admired The Hoxton in Amsterdam because it was distinct and contemporary.

From the time we check in, till the time we check out. We remained impressed

Unique art details and fantastic decor. Great staff also.

The Hoxton hotel's artwork, decoration, coffee mugs, and bar, mean a nice touch to it.

Plus I got some good sleep those two nights I stayed there along with my mom. I would choose to stay at this hotel again when I'm back next month.

Nery Zapeta

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Nery Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hi there Nery,

Thanks for your lovely review. Glad to read you were impressed about your time with us and enjoyed the little details. Happy that the team looked after your so well and you got some nice sleep in, those beds are comfortable - right?!

Looking forward to have you with us again next month!!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed here last minute for a few days passing thru Amsterdam. This hotel is very unique, inviting, and comfortable. The staff is top notch including Hanna and Judith. They made our stay extraordinary. Awesome extras included such as drinks in the room, daily breakfast in a bag, and the beds were super comfortable. Not to mention the great shower, extremely clean bathroom, and towel warmer I have never seen before. Eclectic fashion throughout the hotel and the bar, lounge, restaurant is perfectly welcoming. This is one of the most uniquely different (non-cookie cutter) hotels I have ever stayed at and I travel a lot. The location is right on the canal, just a few blocks from the tram, Anne Frank house and far enough away from the crazy areas that it is quiet.

Great job for the management and staff on service that is above and beyond our expectations. I will stay again when I come back.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

He Jon,

Outstanding?! Woohoo! We're excited to read you had such a wonderful experience with us. We will make sure to share your feedback with the team, especially Hanna and Judit.

Come back soon!!!!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews