We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
James

2 night relaxation break

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 June 2019
Last time I visited Amsterdam I stayed at W. That was nice however we wanted something calming yet still modern. From the moment we checked in the service was wonderful. Nothing too much trouble. We had a cosy room, on reflection we should have got a larger room but the bed was still kingsize and and so comfortable. The rooms have a similar feel to Soho House.
We dined at lotties restaurant which was superb. Also the breakfast was good too. We loved the vibe of the hotel and the staff are lovely. Would definitely return and stay Canal side again.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 23 June 2019
He there,

We are thrilled to read we've won you over ;-)! Thank you for sharing your experience, which seems to be one we would want everyone to have. We will make sure to pass on your kind and praising word to our team and we are happy to read you enjoyed them. Also glad to read you liked your room, we do indeed have some larger rooms which are even more comfortable, make sure to try to those out the next time.

We can't wait!

x the Hox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$485
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$432
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$694
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$609
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$403
  • Expedia.com
    AU$408
2.5 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$310
  • Official Site
1.0 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$183
  • Booking.com
3.7 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$199
  • Expedia.com
    AU$204
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$234
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
3.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
AU$112
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
6.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,121)
Filter reviews
3,121 results
Traveller rating
2,439
478
132
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,439
478
132
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 3,121 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2019

My girlfriend and I visited Amsterdam at Easter and stayed at the Hoxton for a night. It was very clean, quiet in our room and buzzing in the bar-restaurant area. The stand-out thing was the service: the staff really made us feel welcome and went above and beyond.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrgilber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Hello there,

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to share it! We are happy you enjoyed staying as much as we enjoyed having you. Glad to read your room was clean and quiet and that you like our team.

We are all looking forward to having you back soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019 via mobile

I admired The Hoxton in Amsterdam because it was distinct and contemporary.

From the time we check in, till the time we check out. We remained impressed

Unique art details and fantastic decor. Great staff also.

The Hoxton hotel's artwork, decoration, coffee mugs, and bar, mean a nice touch to it.

Plus I got some good sleep those two nights I stayed there along with my mom. I would choose to stay at this hotel again when I'm back next month.

Nery Zapeta

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Nery Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hi there Nery,

Thanks for your lovely review. Glad to read you were impressed about your time with us and enjoyed the little details. Happy that the team looked after your so well and you got some nice sleep in, those beds are comfortable - right?!

Looking forward to have you with us again next month!!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed here last minute for a few days passing thru Amsterdam. This hotel is very unique, inviting, and comfortable. The staff is top notch including Hanna and Judith. They made our stay extraordinary. Awesome extras included such as drinks in the room, daily breakfast in a bag, and the beds were super comfortable. Not to mention the great shower, extremely clean bathroom, and towel warmer I have never seen before. Eclectic fashion throughout the hotel and the bar, lounge, restaurant is perfectly welcoming. This is one of the most uniquely different (non-cookie cutter) hotels I have ever stayed at and I travel a lot. The location is right on the canal, just a few blocks from the tram, Anne Frank house and far enough away from the crazy areas that it is quiet.

Great job for the management and staff on service that is above and beyond our expectations. I will stay again when I come back.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

He Jon,

Outstanding?! Woohoo! We're excited to read you had such a wonderful experience with us. We will make sure to share your feedback with the team, especially Hanna and Judit.

Come back soon!!!!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

We visited Amsterdam for a weekend. The Hotel room was nice and the employees were very courteous. We would like to highlight the bar, which is well known in Amsterdam.
If you like to take a lunch, the Hotel Restaurant Lotti's is well recommended.
What I dislike is, that you only got a light breakfast included, which means Joghurt, banana and orange juice. Still water ant Tea or coffee for self service are free on the room.
We gave ourself a breakfast in the restaurant Lotti´s. It is good cheer, makes the beginning of the day sunny, but is to pay...

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DonKoppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hiya!

Thanks for your lovely review. We're happy that you found the room nice and the team looked after you so well. Also that you would recommend our restaurant and bar Lotti's! The breakfast bag is a free perk rather than included, but good that you enjoyed the breakfast in Lotti's too.

Come back soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

First, the pros: Great location; good service; really stylish bar and restaurant in the lobby.

Cons: The included breakfast is laughable and the rate we paid was WAY too high for what we got. Advertised room rates are about 200 euro for the room we booked (a cozy, no canal view.) and for some reason we paid around 315 euro (about $350 in US). It must have been luck of the draw when I hopped on the website to reserve three weeks beforehand. To pay that much and get a terrible breakfast that doesn't even include coffee, or even a voucher to the restaurant downstairs, and not even have a good view, but instead a window looking over the loud restaurant downstairs, just left me really cold, no matter how instagrammable everything looks.

Verdict: Do not pay more than 200 Euro for the lower-tier rooms (Cosy) and know that a cab ride to the airport will be 55 euro from the hotel's location. (Staff told us they had a deal with the taxi service that it would be 40 euro but that was not what we were charged.) Don't expect a good breakfast to be included in your high rate. If you don't want to pay the exorbitant rates here, you can always visit the lobby and restaurant and stay somewhere else, which is what I'll be doing next time.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for your time to share your experience. We're happy that you like the located, were well looked after by the team and enjoyed restaurant & bar Lotti's too.

Sorry to understand you did not feel you got value for money. We do recommend to book well in advance for the most favourable rates.

Best, the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews