We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nery Zapeta
New York City, New York

Stylish hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 June 2019via mobile
I admired The Hoxton in Amsterdam because it was distinct and contemporary.

From the time we check in, till the time we check out. We remained impressed

Unique art details and fantastic decor. Great staff also.

The Hoxton hotel's artwork, decoration, coffee mugs, and bar, mean a nice touch to it.

Plus I got some good sleep those two nights I stayed there along with my mom. I would choose to stay at this hotel again when I'm back next month.

Nery Zapeta
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 16 June 2019
Hi there Nery,

Thanks for your lovely review. Glad to read you were impressed about your time with us and enjoyed the little details. Happy that the team looked after your so well and you got some nice sleep in, those beds are comfortable - right?!

Looking forward to have you with us again next month!!

x the Hox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$503
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$504
  • Priceline
    AU$470
  • Hotels.com
    AU$504
0.3 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$293
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$264
  • Agoda.com
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
1.0 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$315
  • Expedia.com
    AU$329
  • Vio.com
    AU$247
  • travelup.com
    AU$353
1.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$204
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$204
  • StayForLong
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$204
3.7 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$111
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$101
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$100
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$160
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$160
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Priceline
    AU$160
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$238
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
  • Agoda.com
    AU$230
  • Vio.com
    AU$234
0.9 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Exterior view
AU$223
  • Booking.com
    AU$223
  • travelup.com
    AU$197
  • Vio.com
    AU$223
1.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$159
  • Vio.com
    AU$159
  • Official Site
    AU$141
  • StayForLong
    AU$169
3.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
AU$108
  • Vio.com
    AU$97
  • StayForLong
    AU$103
  • Trip.com
    AU$97
6.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,135)
Filter reviews
3,137 results
Traveller rating
2,451
480
132
51
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,451
480
132
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,063 - 1,068 of 3,137 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed here last minute for a few days passing thru Amsterdam. This hotel is very unique, inviting, and comfortable. The staff is top notch including Hanna and Judith. They made our stay extraordinary. Awesome extras included such as drinks in the room, daily breakfast in a bag, and the beds were super comfortable. Not to mention the great shower, extremely clean bathroom, and towel warmer I have never seen before. Eclectic fashion throughout the hotel and the bar, lounge, restaurant is perfectly welcoming. This is one of the most uniquely different (non-cookie cutter) hotels I have ever stayed at and I travel a lot. The location is right on the canal, just a few blocks from the tram, Anne Frank house and far enough away from the crazy areas that it is quiet.

Great job for the management and staff on service that is above and beyond our expectations. I will stay again when I come back.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

He Jon,

Outstanding?! Woohoo! We're excited to read you had such a wonderful experience with us. We will make sure to share your feedback with the team, especially Hanna and Judit.

Come back soon!!!!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

We visited Amsterdam for a weekend. The Hotel room was nice and the employees were very courteous. We would like to highlight the bar, which is well known in Amsterdam.
If you like to take a lunch, the Hotel Restaurant Lotti's is well recommended.
What I dislike is, that you only got a light breakfast included, which means Joghurt, banana and orange juice. Still water ant Tea or coffee for self service are free on the room.
We gave ourself a breakfast in the restaurant Lotti´s. It is good cheer, makes the beginning of the day sunny, but is to pay...

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DonKoppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hiya!

Thanks for your lovely review. We're happy that you found the room nice and the team looked after you so well. Also that you would recommend our restaurant and bar Lotti's! The breakfast bag is a free perk rather than included, but good that you enjoyed the breakfast in Lotti's too.

Come back soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

First, the pros: Great location; good service; really stylish bar and restaurant in the lobby.

Cons: The included breakfast is laughable and the rate we paid was WAY too high for what we got. Advertised room rates are about 200 euro for the room we booked (a cozy, no canal view.) and for some reason we paid around 315 euro (about $350 in US). It must have been luck of the draw when I hopped on the website to reserve three weeks beforehand. To pay that much and get a terrible breakfast that doesn't even include coffee, or even a voucher to the restaurant downstairs, and not even have a good view, but instead a window looking over the loud restaurant downstairs, just left me really cold, no matter how instagrammable everything looks.

Verdict: Do not pay more than 200 Euro for the lower-tier rooms (Cosy) and know that a cab ride to the airport will be 55 euro from the hotel's location. (Staff told us they had a deal with the taxi service that it would be 40 euro but that was not what we were charged.) Don't expect a good breakfast to be included in your high rate. If you don't want to pay the exorbitant rates here, you can always visit the lobby and restaurant and stay somewhere else, which is what I'll be doing next time.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for your time to share your experience. We're happy that you like the located, were well looked after by the team and enjoyed restaurant & bar Lotti's too.

Sorry to understand you did not feel you got value for money. We do recommend to book well in advance for the most favourable rates.

Best, the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019

I've stayed in probably five hotels in Amsterdam now, and this is the one I will be returning to in future. The interior of the building is stunning, with a fantastic bar / restaurant area at the front, with a quieter mezzanine level above. The decor and lighting is also lovely. Our room was excellent, the breakfast system is good, and honestly my only issue is that we were located right by the service entrace (by room 109) and the staff are very loud early in the morning, shouting to each other in the corridors, with the door slamming repeatedly. Absolutely infuriating, but just bad luck I guess. I assume the larger, more expensive rooms are better located. Inredible hotel though, on the whole.

Room tip: Ask for a room that's not right next to a service entrance door.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewestIndustry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

He there,

Wow - thanks for this smashing review! We're thrilled that you're so excited about your stay with us that you're guest for life now. Glad that you enjoyed the look and vibe of our pad and enjoyed all the bits and bobs we offer. We're very sorry to read about the noise you experiences - we will address this to the team to make sure this never happens again!

Looking forward to have you back on your next trip to the Dam!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2019

Spent four wonderful nights at the Hoxton. The location was perfect. Close to everything - we walked everywhere, and on a canal. Perfect. The service was friendly and wonderful. loved the restaurant and bar. Loved the vibe of the hotel - trendy - lobby, bar, restaurant seemed to be full 24-7 with guests having a wonderful time. Not a lot of fancy amenities, but pretty much everything we needed. Loved the free breakfast snack each day and the great front desk staff. Bathroom had a great shower but needed more shelf space. Wish the window opened, and one time the housekeeper came in the room without knocking when we had the do not desturb sign out. I forgive her. We loved our stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Hiya!

Thanks for your review, we're happy that you had a wonderful stay. Glad that you found the location perfect, the team made sure you were well looked after and you feel like you got all you needed. Noted on the shelf space, we'll look into this. Apologies for the unwanted entry - we'll review this with the team too.

Looking forward to have you back soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews