We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ankaboyd
Melbourne, Australia

Amazing Honeymoon Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 June 2019via mobile
My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at The Hoxton on the first stop of our honeymoon. We were greeted with an enormous room with amazing high ceilings and a lovely note and ‘love’ balloon on our bed. The whole hotel, including the rooms are beautifully styled especially the entrance and restaurant (which we had a delicious dinner at one of the nights).
The staff are also very helpful where they managed to let us check in straight away even though we arrived very early in the morning.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 16 June 2019
Hi there,

Thanks for your review, and choosing to stay with us as part of your honeymoon <3
We're glad to read you loved the room and styling of the pad, the team made sure you were well looked after and you enjoyed restaurant Lotti's too!

Can't wait to have you back!

x the Hox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$526
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$579
  • Agoda.com
    AU$378
  • Priceline
    AU$440
0.2 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$432
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$433
  • Priceline
    AU$405
  • Hotels.com
    AU$434
0.3 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$261
  • Expedia.com
    AU$261
  • Hotels.com
    AU$261
  • Vio.com
    AU$278
1.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$241
  • Official Site
    AU$264
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$221
  • Priceline
    AU$239
1.0 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$206
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$206
  • Vio.com
    AU$206
  • Agoda.com
    AU$206
3.7 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$92
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$92
  • Expedia.com
    AU$92
  • Vio.com
    AU$92
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
AU$278
  • Booking.com
    AU$277
  • travelup.com
    AU$242
  • Expedia.com
    AU$278
1.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$147
  • Vio.com
    AU$147
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
3.1 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
AU$144
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$144
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
  • Vio.com
    AU$144
2.6 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
AU$103
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$109
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Expedia.com
    AU$107
6.4 km from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,137)
Filter reviews
3,137 results
Traveller rating
2,451
480
132
51
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,451
480
132
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,071 - 1,076 of 3,137 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Just returned from a 3-night stay in this gem of a boutique hotel.

The public spaces have a modern and welcoming vibe, the staff are really attentive and the room (one of the cheaper ones) was well appointed, fashionably decorated and had the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in. Perfect.

It is in a great location beside a canal with some lovely shops, bars etc. literally around the corner.

We did use the restaurant on one evening, I highly recommend the Dutch cheese with soda bread and the catch of the day was the best seafood I have had in ages.

If I return to Amsterdam in the near future, this would be my first choice.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GilbertAMS, Head of Rooms at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

He Malcolm!

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience; we're so happy to read it was such a good one. Glad that you like the vibe of our pad, that the team looked after you so well and you had a perfect sleep in our beds. Great that you enjoyed the food in Lotti's too!

Come back soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2019 via mobile

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful streets in Amsterdam.
Amazing interior design, great coffee/drinks/food, cosy rooms and a brillant mini-breakfast on your door knob!!

We had an amazing stay!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank damians547
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Hi there,

Those 9 streets are a sight for sore eyes aren't they.. Thank you for sharing the love and make sure to come back to us soon!

x

the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Had a great 3 night stay at the Hoxton recently and I honestly couldn't rate it more highly. It's a buzzy and friendly place in a great location, and the bedrooms are exceptionally comfortable (the best night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel, I think) and quiet. Service both on the hotel side and in the funky bar / lounge are excellent. Didn't try the food this time but will definitely do so on the next visit! Highly recommended.

Room tip: Rooms facing into the courtyard in the centre of the hotel (eg 426) are exceptionally quiet - though you do miss out on the canal views!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mysel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Hi there,

Such kind words.. Thank you! We're happy to read that you had such a nice sleep. That is where it all starts after all :) We will make sure to pass on the love to our team too!

We'd love to see you back soon.

x

the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019 via mobile

Our family stayed at The Hoxton for several days while we were in Amsterdam on vacation. The six of us stayed in three rooms. The hotel is located in a nice part of the city. The accommodations are very good and the hotel has a nice vibe.

In particular the staff is amazing and treated us extremely well. While on the trip, my wife unfortunately fell and broke her wrist when we were visiting the Anne Frank Museum (watch out for those steps down in front). So we had an unexpected adventure with the healthcare system in the Netherlands. We we returned to The Hoxton we were greeted righted away and they wanted to know how they could help. After spending some time in the lounge we went to our room to find a heartwarming note and a tray of goodies to help ease the pain.

I would definitely stay at the Hoxton again when visiting Amsterdam.

Many thanks to the staff at The Hoxton.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DanielD_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Hey Dan and fam,

Thank you so much for these lovely words. These Dam streets and stairs sure can be tricky... We sincerely hope that your wife is doing well and was still able to enjoy Amsterdam. Great to read that our staff could help you guys out to ease the pain a little bit.

We'd love to welcome you all back any time, hopefully at full strength :)

x

the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

We stayed for 2 nights in the hoxton. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It's in a great location central to everything. The room was a lovely size. Beautifully decorated and full of quirky decorations. Beds were comfortable and room was very quiet. Breakfast of a banana, yogurt and an orange juice was very much appreciated hanging on the door in the morning. Just enough to keep you going. We were there for my 40th birthday and when we came into the room there were balloons on the bed and a bottle of bubbles which was a lovely touch. Also the water and things in the mini bar were free and refilled every day. Bar downstairs was chilled and had a nice atmosphere and we ate in the bar which was equally as nice. Fab stay, perfect room will definitely be back again. Thank you hoxton x

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Romea1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We are thrilled to see that you loved our design and location but even more so that you chose us for celebrating this big milestone in your life! We couldn't let that pass without a small gift in the room ;) Special occasion or not, feel free to hop in any time when you are around.

x

the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews