We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #243 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice location”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went on a girls trip, and found this hotel very central. The hotel is like 3 minutes away from some of the most fabolous nightclubs, and 2 minutes away from the shopping street.

The rooms was clean and the staff was quite helpful.
We enjoyd our stay, and we'll definitely stay here again.

XOXO. Oslo

Room Tip: No wifi connections
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    828
    618
    349
    198
See reviews for
254
998
125
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Padova
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Same small and dusty rooms, monumental televisions, bathrooms with bathtubs and anti-hygienic curtains. Maybe in 1998 this situation was OK, but now it's not in compliance with a four stars hotel. Prices are very high: for two nights and 1 person (double for single use) I paid more than 310 Euro, including breakfast an in-room wi-fi (you have to pay for both these last services). The Restaurant Caruso (one of the best Italian restaurants in Northern Europe) has been closed and the launch restaurant just prepares frozen foods.The reception staff sometime is not so polite and friendly (especially the Managers).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anselmodapadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The carlton is in a good position next to the flower market.We had a lovely welcome from reception staff and all other staff we encountered were equally good.Our room was on the 4th floor and was clean and comfortable and had bath and shower.The chairs in the room were suffering from wear and tear but not a major problem.A good buffet breakfast with plenty choice.The hotel is a short walk to Spuistratt which has a choice of bars and restaurants.We particularly liked Luden.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STARKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Myself and partner have just stayed at the NH Carlton, for two nights, March 17/18 2011.

We never really use hotel eating and drinking facilities, so I will ignore these in my review.

Firstly check-in. We met very polite and capable staff, who allowed our security deposit to be paid in cash. No hassle here.

The Room;

It was the 7th floor, room 719. As others have said, the mini bar was empty. No loss to me. It worked as a fridge, and as such we could fill it with our own cheaply bought soda, fruit and water.

I thought the room was fantastic because of the balcony. This more than made up for the 'worn' carpets!!

Bed sheets were spotless, as was the bathroom. Old CRT tv in the room, but we go to Amsterdam to relax and have fun, not watch TV.

Check-out was fast and easy.

Full marks NH Carlton and thankyou for a lovely stay. See you again next month hopefully.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday in Amsterdam staying at the Carlton. The service was second to none and this included all staff from Reception and Bar to the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of food. On arrival our booking was processed quickly and we were upgraded to an Executive Room at no extra charge. If we return to Amsterdam in the future, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,507 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
942 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#98 of 368 in Amsterdam
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,525 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $223 - $423
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing