We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #240 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The carlton is in a good position next to the flower market.We had a lovely welcome from reception staff and all other staff we encountered were equally good.Our room was on the 4th floor and was clean and comfortable and had bath and shower.The chairs in the room were suffering from wear and tear but not a major problem.A good buffet breakfast with plenty choice.The hotel is a short walk to Spuistratt which has a choice of bars and restaurants.We particularly liked Luden.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STARKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    836
    627
    355
    201
See reviews for
258
1,007
128
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Myself and partner have just stayed at the NH Carlton, for two nights, March 17/18 2011.

We never really use hotel eating and drinking facilities, so I will ignore these in my review.

Firstly check-in. We met very polite and capable staff, who allowed our security deposit to be paid in cash. No hassle here.

The Room;

It was the 7th floor, room 719. As others have said, the mini bar was empty. No loss to me. It worked as a fridge, and as such we could fill it with our own cheaply bought soda, fruit and water.

I thought the room was fantastic because of the balcony. This more than made up for the 'worn' carpets!!

Bed sheets were spotless, as was the bathroom. Old CRT tv in the room, but we go to Amsterdam to relax and have fun, not watch TV.

Check-out was fast and easy.

Full marks NH Carlton and thankyou for a lovely stay. See you again next month hopefully.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday in Amsterdam staying at the Carlton. The service was second to none and this included all staff from Reception and Bar to the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of food. On arrival our booking was processed quickly and we were upgraded to an Executive Room at no extra charge. If we return to Amsterdam in the future, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The location of the hotel is the main selling point, within walking distance of many of the main sights and lots of bars and resturants close by. If you go expecting 2* accomodation its fine, but the standard of the room we had was nowhere near what you would expect for a 4* hotel.
Also if you pay the local tax in advance make sure you get a reciept, as they would not believe us on checking out we paid this on arrival!

Room was clean enough and bathroom was fine but the decor and quality of furnature was pretty poor, and although we specifically requested a double we still were given 2 singles pushed together with 2 single duvets. The first hotel I have stayed at for a very long time which still had the old fashioned crt style TV!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Kleve, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is at a walking distance from all the happening places of Amsterdam. The rooms are nice and clean. The serivce staff is great. Good value for your money. The best thing is that you can walk down to all the places you want to be and come back for rest. Great location. Jollly hotel is surrounded by many reputed restaurants and night life locations. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#96 of 367 in Amsterdam
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#123 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,546 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#204 of 367 in Amsterdam
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $196 - $411
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing