We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel, great location”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #21 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel, great location”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great location, friendly staff, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Even the breakfast was wonderful. This was my 4th time in Amsterdam and I would definitely stay in the Canal House again.

Room Tip: rooms are small, but it is Amsterdam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kma1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    180
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
385
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I came away with mixed feelings ...

We booked 2 rooms with canal views but ended up with NO view at all other than the walls of a light shaft about 1 meter away from the window.The windows only opened out about 10 cm which made the rooms very claustrophobic and the airco didn't work. The receptionist's rather displaced sense of humor certainly did not put a smile on our face when, pointing to the old black and white picture in the light shaft, she said: "But you do have a canal view!" Such behavior is quite disrespectful to guests paying 320€ (+tax) per room per night.
This issue was raised on our departure and we were offered the dinner we had on the night we dined in. The receptionist also apologized for her misplaced joke.

We had room 6 which could only be reached by walking through the open kitchen and room 19, reachable by a neck breaking winding staircase. Both are so called "better rooms". The rooms themselves were quite nice, excellent Vi-Spring mattresses and soft bed sheets, enough towels and a bathrobe. Both had open bathrooms & separate toilets, tiny basins, good shower... no privacy though!

The breakfast included in the price was a very meager buffet indeed: matured & young cheese slices (you'd expect more of a country known for its cheeses!) & some smoked ham, a selection of yoghurt, jam, bread, some danishes (if you were early enough to get some), cereal & fruit juice. Anything from the kitchen (eggs etc) was an extra charge.
The staff serving breakfast (with the exception of a helpful young man) was rather loud and not discrete at all. The lady cook who came to our table even made some lengthy remark about supplements she saw beside my plate!

So overall this is a very well located and beautiful boutique hotel but its standard unfortunately does not compare to its price!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linne-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for a week at the Canal House in November. We had a "great" room overlooking the garden on the third floor (#17-we asked for a canal view but were told it was unavailable) and my daughter had a "good" room also overlooking the back garden on the second floor (#10). They were both nice -- room 10 had a higher ceiling and original windows, while room 17 was larger.
The rooms were kind of dark, as the walls are essentially black, which got a little dreary in November. There aren't a lot of light fixtures, but there is a good reading light by the bed. There was supposed to be a ipod dock that was missing in room 17, but we didn't need it so didn't ask reception about it. The toiletries are very nice, although they only gave us one tiny bar of soap and never replaced it even after it got down to a tiny chip. It was hard to control the room temperature - either too cold or too hot.
We really liked the restaurant and ate dinner there twice. The breakfast buffet was a little small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The only fruit is a kind of sad fruit salad, and eggs and smoked salmon cost extra. There were no pancakes or waffles to be had. The service was fast and friendly, and we felt comfortable and welcome.
We loved the bar and had drinks there most evenings.
The location is wonderful, away from some of the grunge of the downtown area. It's near the "9 streets" shopping area as well as the Jordaan which are fun places to walk and shop. There are a lot of wonderful restaurants within walking distance.
All in all we would stay at the canal house again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Loved it completely. Found the staff very nice and we loved the building and feeling of the hotel - not too hotely. I´ve stayed in their other hotel in Paris which is a dream, L´Hotel in St Germain. It was great to see they have kept the character of the building and original features mixed with a very modern trendy makeover. Location is just as good as the reviews say, food was good and our room was very romantic...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed for a weekend at hotel Canal House in Amsterdam. The hotel is a nice and small boutique hotel with only 22 rooms.

The personnel was very friendly and kind. I.e. they suggested and helped us with buying tickets to the Anne Frank museum online, so we didn't need to queue. The location of the hotel is great! Everything on a walking distance.

The room was cool with a bath tube in the middle of the room. It was a bit dark with a lot of black and purple colours. Different, but cool. They had free wlan everywhere. The restaurant was really good. We had a late arrival on Friday night and had dinner there, it was a nice surprise! Actually the best food that weekend :) Breakfast was small but okay, great coffee! I would stay here again and can recommend the hotel for couples and business people. The hotel belongs to the chain "small luxury hotels".

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinki-Mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $392 - $954
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing