We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room on quiet street near all the action!!!”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful room on quiet street near all the action!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I loved the Mauro. We arrived at the Amsterdam HBF and easily walked the 10 minutes to the hotel. A very nice quiet street on a canal. The staff and hotel were exactly as all the other reviews state! We had a great room overlooking the street and the canal. We were several streets over from the center of the action, just close enough to get there quickly but far enough to not have all the crowds. Our room was HUGE! The owners were very thoughtful, laying a rose-petal heart on our bed and providing champagne for our anniversary! The huge windows even opened up! Breakfast was wonderful too. There was nothing at all bad to say about this hotel, it was absolutely amazing and a perfect home base to explore all Amsterdam has to offer. Book it, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    133
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
741
47
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The location is great, an easy walk from the train station, on a quiet street and over looking a canal. Our room was large. Dispite being on the 2nd floor and facing the canal, it was very quiet. The decor was delightful and the bed comfortable. Initially it was quite warm but we didn't need to use the air conditioner as the fan was perfect. Marcel insisted on carrying our bags upstairs which was helpful as they are steep - normal for a townhouse in Amsterdam. Breakfast was coldcuts, fresh baked breads, yougart, the standard European fare, however they also have an espresso machine for latte lovers. Berry and Marcel are excellent hosts, friendly and informative.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front, quiet and a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyPym97035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aucklad - New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Besides ourselves we had organised to meet up with two other NZ couples in Amsterdam and we booked the Mauro for the 6 of us hoping that it would be as good as what we had read about the place.
Well it WAS and more.Excellent value for money.
Berry and Marcel are excellent hosts, always ready to help with information and suggestions, and the location of the Mauro could not be better especially for first timers to Amsterdam. It really is only an easy 10 min walk from the central station.
The rooms are a good size, clean, comfortable and well appointed. It was a really nice touch to have a small fridge in each of the rooms with some complimentary drinks inside. The honesty bar downstairs was also a very good idea and the prices were very reasonable.
Breakfast each day was an experience with some sort of surprise arriving on the table each morning.The food selection was perfectly adequate for all our needs and the coffee machine worked just great.
As we 3 couples all left to go on our river cruise which by the way was conveniently only a 10 minute stroll from the Mauro to the ship we all agreed that the Mauro was a great place to stay. Next time any of us visit Amsterdam the consensus of opinion was that we would certainly go back there again

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GN&YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We recently spent four nights at the Mauro Mansion and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is very close to the train station and right on a canal. There are also many restaurants very near. Our room, which was on the third floor, faced the canal and had a lovely and memorable view. The room was large and very clean and fresh. The bathroom was modern and again very clean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a refrigerator in the room. The free WiFi was also greatly appreciated, as was the large flat screen TV and DVD player (a large selection of DVDs is available for use). Owners Berry and Marcel were wonderful hosts. They offered excellent restaurant suggestions as well as other very helpful information about touring the city and environs. Breakfast was great every morning with special little touches like fresh melon, strawberries and pineapple. This is a very charming and unique hotel. We would recommend it to anyone and we would stay there again in a heartbeat when we are in Amsterdam the next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoFLTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This place is sensational if your looking for a quiet, very convenient location, great hosts and lots of character. It is a boutique hotel with some very interesting features. Basic, modern, minimalist - but stylish. Free WiFi in room or Mac in the lounge - great

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $179 - $305
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing