We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good tour, great as a starter for the visit”
Review of Amsterdamsel Tours

Amsterdamsel Tours
Ranked #92 of 384 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please send all requests via our website reservations form for the quickest response. Our small network of expert historians-turned-storytellers make the old city talk, and these walls do have tales to tell! Explore Amsterdam (and other Dutch cities) with this small company, the only female-owned tour operator in town (hence the name AmsterDamsel, of course).
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good tour, great as a starter for the visit”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

3 hour walk, with a 20 min. break in the middle.
Our guide was a yound and vibrant local history graduate, and the group was generally of young people (20's), so we got to walk fast enough, get a lot of information but no too much, tips and hints for further exploring.
We did it as a first thing of a 4 day vacation in the city, and it was perfect as a starter.
There is no fee, but the guide's income is based on the tips, so everyone tipped the guide at the end of the tour.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank iritoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personalised walktour with intelligent and interesting guide Larae”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Initially we were concerned that our guide was a lovely Texan lady who had made Amsterdam her home - not Dutch. However it transpired that her passion for and knowledge of the city was excellent and in fact she saw the quirky aspects we were also curious about. We ended after 2 1/2 hours in a Dutch gin den for a drink that only a local would have dared enter. Her recommendations for dinner and other places of interest to cover the next days so suited us. Very impressed

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank MargaretSydney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific tour”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our family of 4 joined another couple for a historic tour of Amsterdam with Larae. The two hour tour lasted almost four hours and if we didn't need to leave for a visit to the Anne Frank house I don't think Larae would ever have stopped. She was terrific- outgoing, knowledgeable, entertaining and just fun to be with. We stopped for an impromptu snack at a cafe she suggested, shared a beer and some bar food and continued on our way as if we were old friends hanging out for the day. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank DaveLIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We were told she was one of the best - and it was true!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My 9-year-old daughter and I really enjoyed our walking tour with Larae. She had great ideas for where to take us, she gave us the right amount of interesting information without overwhelming us with too much information, and she knew how to keep both adult and child interested. She was open, flexible and accommodating, all of which can be quite important when children are involved. And she gave us some excellent tips for restaurants in the area of out hotel and other place to visit once our time with her had finished. Our tour with Larae will remain one of the great memories we'll have from our long weekend in Amsterdam.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Curiousgeorgette100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant, informative, and charming”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Larae presents the history of Amsterdam as a wonderful weave of story, history and humor filled with colorful characters, meaningful architecture and interpretive events.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiedogjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdamsel Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdamsel Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing