We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #110 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is slightly outside Amsterdsam Central per se, but it is still very convienent, as there are tram stops very near by. The conceirge in the hotel was more than happy to give us directions and walk us there when we requested. But then again, that wasn't peak tourist season.

The room in my case was exceptionally large and spacious. The bed was huge, and it was just a double room with a single bed. The views fom the hotel in winter is exceptional, espeacially at the bar and the restaurant where breakfirst is served. The only problem was the bathroom door lock in the room refuses to be accessible, but that is probably one off.

The breakfirst was also good for 2 days.

Room Tip: You can change the room if it is exposed to sunlight etc. Being an European hotel, the rooms vary in...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blah_by_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Sir,Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location with the beautiful views. I would like to apologize for the problem with the door lock with the bathroom door lock; at all time you can ask the reception, they are happy to help you!

Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,112 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was a very quiet neighborhood with wonderful rooms. Only problem is you need a taxi everywhere you go. Or take a bike which you can rent there.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Lcaligiuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay!

Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Welcoming staff.rooms With views over the canals of Amsterdam. Nice location and perfect place to discover Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying-birdîe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am pleased to hear that the hotel staff was friendly and that you have enjoyed the location at the canals.

Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here for a Show at RAI. Very convenient, about a 10 minute walk. Also walkable to museum area and a few blocks to tram 5 and the center city. Front desk is helpful, friendly, and polite. Restaurant is a little indifferent; like they were trained by a different company.

I screwed up on check-in and can never figure out which countries count the first floor as zero. Thought my key was bad. Front desk personnel hand carried my luggage back up and made sure all was OK. Refused a tip! (Dorothy, we're not in Kansas anymore). Everyone speaks English as if it were their first language, oddly with seemingly more of an American than British dialect.

Decor scheme is "what can we do with a bad-looking 1950s (on the outside) 40+ year old hotel and make it hip, fashionable, and euro-traditional at the same time. So you get a little of it all from a decor scheme. To be fair, its really all fine and some is very nice inside.

Breakfast is very steep at 22.50E for a typical spread, nothing special. Internet is 7.50 per day, not too bad and worked fine.

Beautiful view overlooking the canals. Upgraded to a small suite; I sense the regular rooms are a bit tight, but this was fine. Of the RAI area hotels, this was a value when I booked. I think I did very well.

Room Tip: Overlooking canal is nice.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemus_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Sir,Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am pleased to hear that the service of the hotel staff was good and that you have enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for leaving your comment about the staff in the restaurant, could you let me know what you mean with ‘trained by a different company’?

And in responding to the hotel decor scheme, we are currently in a renovation process which means that all rooms will be renovated to make everything look like the same style. Also I would like to point out the additional costs for Internet, we offer free Wi-Fi for Wyndham members which you can ask for at the reception. Membership of Wyndham by Request is free of charge.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The hotel is situated a little bit south of Amsterdam centre, but trams or a rental bicycle will easily take you into the centre in no time.
The hotel itself is a mixture of business and tourist hotel, and the surroundings are very quiet. It's also nice to sit in the bar, watching one of the many canals around.
The staff is really nice, and mostly very attentive. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are of standard size, and just what you need for a long-weekend in lovely Amsterdam.
The room rate for the week-end was around what you expect for a hotel of this standard in a city like AMS. What makes me slightly disappointed are that you have to pay extra for absolutely everything. It seems a little petty, to charge customers for Wi-Fi connection these days, when even most hotels in "tax-loving" Norway gives you that for free. Another thing is the price for the breakfast. Special rate was 16 Euros pr. person pr. night. Standard rate is 22 Euros.
The breakfast was good, but I’m not sure it’s worth this kind of money. You can go out, and walk for 5 minutes to a nearby café, and they'll charge you 8 euros for 2 big sandwiches and coffee. The only reason why we chose to have the breakfast at the hotel was that we prefer to be able to go up to the room to brush our teeth etc. after eating. So for that you pay a price.
Having visited several hotels with lower standard than this, both inside and outside Europe, with both Wi-Fi and breakfast included in the price, I found that having to pay extra for this, makes the hotel, or at least the Wyndham chain look a bit “greedy”. I know that they also need to earn money, but how come other hotels around the world can manage? We also experienced bus-loads of tourists on the Saturday and Sunday which brought the logistics to a collapse during breakfast, as they all came in at the same time. But that's something they have to expect. They could have foreseen this by looking at the bookings in advance, and prepared for this scenario. The poor guys and girls working there did their best, but they were not properly staffed for this amount of people. As long as they accept the number of guests to the hotel, they should prepare for this kind of things to happen. We told the reception afterwards, and they agreed totally, and made no excuses, which for us proved matureness, and insight. They offered us to give us the two breakfasts for free, and that's professional. The staff and the hotel itself are very good, but why not add another 10-15 Euros to the room-price, and let the breakfast and Wi-Fi be complementary? I will however recommend the hotel for a nice week-end in a beautiful town. After all the breakfast and Wi-Fi are voluntarily.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raviolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location and that you had a good overall stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with the touring busses during breakfast. I will take this as a serious point for improvement and I will make sure this won’t happen again.

I would like to point out that we offer free Wi-Fi for Wyndham members which you can ask for at the reception. Membership of Wyndham by Request is free of charge.

Thank you for leaving you comment and for giving your advice about to make the breakfast and Wi-Fi complementary, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,508 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,366 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $182 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing