We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best place to stay in the Right centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn old Amsterdam
Ranked #93 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in the Right centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed here with my husband and son in the amazing studio room for 3 nights.
The location is perfect and the area offers many good places to have a lovely family diner. All is within walking distance.
The hosts, Daniel & Nikki, were very friendly and hepfull!

We will defintely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamPetra097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bragança Paulista, Brasil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Incredible location, wonderful, spacious and confortable room, the kindest host.
You can trust the website photos. The room is exactly as shown.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreia_MGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here from May 31 to June 3rd. The B & B is located right in the heart of Nieuwmarkt Square, near many attractions and the Red Light District. It was extremely easy to get to it from the Main Central Station and during our stay, we rented bikes one day and walked everywhere else. We stayed in the "Room" right above the Cotton Club. The room is extremely clean, bright and airy and beautifully decorated. The view onto the Square right from your bed is amazing!! There is a small kitchenette in the room with fridge, sink, kettle, coffee maker, dishes...which was really handy; and a small and lovely eating area. The bathroom is right outside your door and shared with the owner. Of course, it would be nice to have your own private bath, but we had no problems sharing the bathroom with the owners and rarely ran into them. Daniel, the owner, was extremely friendly, and more than willing to chat, help with anything and provide suggestions for things to do, etc....

The only suggestions I have is that the breakfast consist of a bit more selection - it is essentially just breads and cheeses. In addition, because the room is over a club, it can be a tad noisy at nights, but we both went to bed with earplugs in and honestly had no problems sleeping.... the bed is really comfortable!!! Other than that however, we had an awesome stay at the Inn Old Amsterdam. We did the Day Tour to Zaanse Schans, Marken, and Volendam and highly recommend it!! Also, the Van Gogh Museum and going for a bike ride in Vondelpark is a MUST!!! My husband and I will definitely be back to Amsterdam and hopefully will be able to stay at the Inn Old Amsterdam again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Nikki was more than accommodating to every request we had. The property is exceptionally clean and well kept; beds and linens are very comfortable. Location cannot be beat; the Inn is centrally located above the Cotton Club although above the club noise is not an issue. The Inn is difficult to locate so make note of the Cotton club, when trying to find. The hidden location gives the feel you are staying in a private apartment. Our next visit to Amsterdam we will be sure to stay at Inn Old Amsterdam.

Only warning the stairs and steep and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We rented the loft for 4 nights prior to Easter. It was so much fun !!! LOTS of steep wooden stairs, but then, what else is there to expect in "Old Amsterdam"? jaja. Two-storey flat, with MANY full-screen windows (we love light, so for us it was great!). Daniel was very helpful, attentive to every detail. Very nice continental breakfast with local cookies and pastry. Opposite a very fanciful square (every day a new move in it !) on the border of the amazing red-light district. Walking distance to everything, with a supermarket across the street and a fridge in the room... will definitively stay here again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera-del-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#25 of 219 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#17 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Property: Inn old Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $108 - $209
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing