We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth flying to Amsterdam for - seriously”
Review of Restaurant Daalder

Restaurant Daalder
Ranked #29 of 4,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 55 - USD 81
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: When you come into our home, you can expect fine, Michelin-quality cuisine in a down to earth environment. We serve a 4-o 7- course pre fixe menu, made with beautiful fresh ingredients, all hand picked in Paris by our head chef and co-owner, Dennis Huwaë. His exquisite dishes look like art, and with their many flavors and textures, his creations are a delight to the palate. Because we don’t like the atmosphere of reverence that this level of food usually comes with, we do things a little different at Daalder. We like to serve these fine dishes with a smile in a joyful, unpretentious atmosphere. And, because we strive to make delicious and beautiful food accessible, you’ll be still smiling when the bill is presented! Warm Regards, Team Daalder
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Maybe you don’t like food, or foodie experiences. If that is true, stop reading. If however, you are willing to eat ramen for weeks just to have the taste bud extravaganza of a lifetime, you my friend, are in luck. I made the mistake of only having the 5 course meal the first time I came, and literally flew back the next time I was in Europe for work, just to have the 7 course - with wine pairings, of course. Was it expensive? Outrageous! Was it worth it - of course it was. Let me start with the first course which was sushi on (wait for it) meringue rice. Really? Yes. Really. Then, don’t get me started on the shot of bisque, the whipped pea course and the pigeon (I lost track of some of them). Save room for the dessert of course. The wines were divine, the service exceptional (brought by the chef) and atmosphere lovely (a dog came to say hello). You must do this, and you must spend the money. I have no time for your whining. Just do it, and report back with your extraordinary happiness.

1  Thank HMason22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantDaalder, Manager at Restaurant Daalder, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ms. HMason22,
Thank you so much for your second visit to our restaurant! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner even more than your first visit. Thanks for all your nice compliments and your review on Tripadvisor.
Hopefully we can welcome you next year again.
Kind regards, Team Daalder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

This restaurant in the Jordaan promises an accessible relax place but with zero concessions on top food. They fully met expectations. Each single dish of the menu of 7 at +/- 80 euro was absolute top delivering a perfectly balanced long lasting taste.Passionated high professionals in kitchen and serving. Wine gets the same attention. The seating is indeed basic, tables are spread over several smaller rooms and there are some seats at a long bar (Chef's table). Seated there close to the corner we could admire a top professional preparing appetizers and later desserts in perfect harmony with the rest of the team and showing how decisive is good "mise en place". Spectacular but definitively the other chairs have less to offer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantDaalder, Manager at Restaurant Daalder, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kr1069,
Thank you for your great review about our restaurant on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear you had a wonderful evening. Thank you for all your compliments, did you visit some other restaurants in Amsterdam? Hopefully you enjoyed it as well.
We hope to welcome you in the near future.
Kind regards, Team Daalder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing food prepared to perfection. Lovely and friendly staff. Worth the visit, i will be back for sure.

Thank wahabalsaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantDaalder, Manager at Restaurant Daalder, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Wahabalsaif,
Thank you for your visit to our Restaurant. Good to hear you loved our concept.
We hope to see you back soon,
Kind regards, Team Daalder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Had a very pleasant experience at Daalder with a 7-course dinner and pairing wines. All courses were delicious and matched with the pairing wines. We really enjoyed the relaxed vibe of sitting around the bar. And Daalder gave the best service we received during our stay in Amsterdam. In particular because staff were generous with the wine. However, for a couple of courses it felt like the food and wine were introduced very quickly (as if staff didn't have time to fully explain, or didn't want to). All in all a place I will highly recommend for a romantic dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Haakon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantDaalder, Manager at Restaurant Daalder, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Haakon A,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor and your visit to Restaurant Daalder!
We are happy to hear you had a nice dinner and you enjoyed our service-level. Thank you for the feedback regarding the speed of the courses. We will discuss this with the team.
Hopefully we can welcome you during your next visit to Amsterdam again.
Kind regards,
Team Daalder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent for food allergies, excellent attentive staff, an amazing discover, could not recommend highly enough !

1  Thank suejwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantDaalder, Manager at Restaurant Daalder, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Ms. Suejwilk,
Thank you so much for your visit to Restaurant Daalder!
We are happy to hear you had an excellent dinner, thank you for your nice compliments! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Team Daalder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing