We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully decorated, conveniently located B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, conveniently located B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I booked the B&B for a 1 night stay as we'd extended our P&O mini cruise from Hull to Amsterdam. Booking was online on the B&B's website was quick and efficient and I immediately had a confirmation of the booking and a few hours later had an email from the B&B with a request for an estimated arrival time and to exchange contact details.

We were later than expected on the transfer from Rotterdam to Amsterdam so I had to call as we would be slightly later than I'd said. I thought we'd be even longer finding the place but it was really close to the Centraal station. We were welcomed by Camillo, and although our room was not ready we were able to leave our bags as the room was being prepared. Camillo provided us with a map and gave us a few pointers for sites in the city.

Note that this is a B&B in a traditional Amsterdam building so there are steep stairs (with a sturdy banister to cling onto) and no lift. The stairs are also a bit squeaky and weren't the sort which you could work out the quietest route!

The room was on the 3rd floor, beautifully and tastefully decorated with bright colours. A small dining table with chairs in the corner, a large comfortable double bed, TV, DVD player, kettle and a selection of teas, coffee and milk. Bath towels are provided, as are bath robes which is a nice touch. We also had fresh roses in our room which were lovely and added to the colourful theme. Wifi was available but we didn't use it.

There is double glazing and although there is a bit of background street noise, the B&B is situated at the corner of an alley off the main road so we weren't disturbed at night or during a well deserved siesta later on arrival. My husband is a very light sleeper and he wasn't disturbed at all.

The bathroom is shared but it is clean, spacious and is situated between the two bedrooms. There is a fancy shower which has jet sprays and there were bottles of gel, shampoo and conditioner provided in the shower. Again, a nice touch.

Breakfast was the only disappointment but this is because it is not being served in the B&B temporarily and a voucher is provided for a cafe only 5 minutes away from the B&B. The food wasn't to our tastes but may appeal to others. You can have any of the set breakfast menus available ranging from British breakfasts to omelette and chips to club sandwich with chips. I did like the chips and the fresh orange juice but the omelette, although substantial in size, was not very tasty.

If I were to visit Amsterdam again I would definitely stay at this B&B as it felt safe, clean and was centrally situated. Camillo, one of the owners, was also very friendly and would be on hand for any advice if needed.

Room Tip: Our room (on the left as you get to the floor) faced the street, views are restricted because of nar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vayase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    44
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
247
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We wanted a place close to the train station, and this B&B fit the bill! It was close to everything we wanted to see in Amsterdam, and Camillo was an excellent host. Although we arrived early, he welcomed us and gave us tips for sightseeing and maps of the city. The room was clean an comfortable. The steep staircase was a bit daunting, but once we got used to it, no problem!
Thank you Camillo for a great place to stay in your city!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Camillo was friendly and informative; he keeps his 2-room B&B very clean and neat. Caution: two flights of ladder-steep stairs, not good for big suitcases! They no longer serve breakfast but have an arrangement with a local cafe where the food was excellent. Full eggs and meat breakfast. Handy location to trains, boats, trams, shops etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSalt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I and our neighbours stayed at CityCenter B&B for three nights prior to joining a river cruise from Amsterdam. The location was excellent - just a few minutes walk from the Centraal Station (with 8 suitcases!). The stairs to the rooms is a bit tricky, but well worth the struggle. The rooms were very nice - everything we needed and very clean and well-maintained. We were not provided with breakfast on site, but the breakfast vouchers we were given for the restaurant gave us a great breakfast/brunch each morning. Our hosts were fantastic. I was trying to find a monument that was erected after WWII that had my uncle's name enscribed. After a bit a research, they managed to find the location of that statue without any problems. We would stay here again when/if we ever return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Surprisingly spacious, nicely decorated and immaculate rooms in an extremely convenient central location. Both the room and bathroom were spotless, and the daily cleaning even tidied up belongings scattered about. While we had a little noise in our rooms from people outside on Saturday night, overall it was pretty quiet for a place in the heart of a major city (and I'm quite sensitive to noise). In 2 weeks of travel around Europe, this was definitely the best place we stayed.

What you might not like:

Stairs. Camillo did help bring our luggage up, but be advised that if you have problems climbing stairs, the rooms are up 2 flights, there's no elevator and the second flight is somewhat steep and windy.

Shared bathroom. We were traveling with friends so booked both rooms, but be advised you will be sharing with the other room.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank oceandreams08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Sint Jacobsstraat 21, 1012 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $141 - $183
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast CityCenter is just a minute walking from Central Station and Dam square. The romantic and quiet b&b Amsterdam CityCenter is located in the historical center of Amsterdam. Here Camillo likes to make you feel at home. This is your place for a more personal accommodation then a regular hotel. When you wake up, you will expect a rich and delicious breakfast served in room. With free internet Wi-Fi and all tourist information available in our b&b you have all ingredients to discover the best that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citycenter b&b Amsterdam
Citycenter Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing