We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novelty”
Review of Vita Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vita Nova
Ranked #148 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Me and a friend started our Europe trip in Amsterdam and decided to try something different and novel and stay on a boat! Well it was great, the owner of the boat was extremely helpful and lovely! The location is perfect for the trams and train or even if you want to walk into the centre. It's very basic but then again you are on a boat! Rooms are small and the bathroom is basic but perfect for students on a low budget and who just need a base! Breakfast was lovely and there was a Drinks fridge with a payment honesty box which is a very trusting touch! All in all we had a great time here! Nice bit of novelty to start off our trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatEtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Vita Nova is ideal for tourists in their late teens/twenties who want to be able to explore the wonders of Amsterdam for a great price. It is fairly central, being only 10 mins walk from Centraal Station and the well-priced eateries of Zeedijk, and even Vondelpark at the very edge of the centre is only 35 mins walk away. The lady owner is very pleasant and accommodating; we arrived well before the 2pm check-in time but this was not a problem, and she let us leave our bags there after we checked out, to pick them up in the late afternoon to catch our coach.

The rooms are small-ish, but at the end of the day you only really use it as a convenient base for exploring the city and somewhere to sleep at night. Speaking of which, the beds are very comfortable and although I am 5, 9" I had no problems with height. All the guests when I stayed were well-behaved and the owner did intervene if she thought anybody was disturbing others attempting to sleep in the evening.

There were two showers for men and two for women, and although one of each shared with the WC and you could find it wet on the floor when going to the toilet. However we found this was not a problem; it is an understandable solution given the space the owners have to work with and as such is better than only having one shower for men and one for women.

The included breakfast was more than adequate for our needs. There is bread, which you can toast; juice, coffee and tea; ham, cheese, peanut butter, butter and jam for your bread.
All in all, we were very impressed by the location, service and facilities; for the price, it is pretty much perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Location is perfect. 10 min walk from train station, 10 min walk from city center. Reseved a room with shared bathroom, and the owner gave us (my girlfriend and me) private room with our own bathroom. That was a great surprise. Breakfast was great, eggs, cereal, sandwich, tea, coffee, realy big selection. Would recommend to anyone with limited budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlo_Zadro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We arrived at 9am after an unexpected early flight. 10 mins from the station and we arrived at the Vita Novo. The location for us was perfect being easy to get to the sights of Amsterdam. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we left our bags and came back around 6pm. The cabins are small as expected but plenty of room to stretch out on the bunk. Small sink in room with shared toilets and showers. Didn't like that the shower was in the same cubicle as the toilet so often wet floor. Would recommend trying to get a cabin either on the top floor otherwise under the deck area as it was noisy and we didn't sleep well. Great atmosphere, laid back and a fun stay. Breakfast was good. Wifi was available on our mobile devices. Code is given to you. Great idea having drinks with an honesty box.

Room Tip: Upstairs or under main deck away from showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The owner is super nice and friendly. The upstairs dining area is really cute and you get a very nice breakfast for free! cut meats and cheeses, including a big ole round and some creamy cheeses, cut slices of cucumber and tomato! yogurt, several types of cereals, two or three types of bread for toast, a bun for making a sandwich, jams, tea....very nice!

The rooms are very small, but as you are on a boat turned into a hostel, you shouldn't expect it to be too spacious. I think it is ideally suited to couples or friends. My husband and I had a great time and thought the room was really cute. All rooms, as far as I know, are double bunk beds.

The boat is very cute but cramped. Not ideal for tall people. Two people left after one night to another place solely because they were too tall for the place.

Luckily, my husband and I aren't tall, so we didn't have any issues.

The women's bathroom is pretty short though. I am inbetween 5'5 and 5'6 and my head touched the ceiling! I couldn't stand to my full height (as someone does to prove they are taller than someone else, not as a normal standing posture).

Any way, height issues aside, this is a great place!

My only complaint would be lack of wi-fi. There is a laptop in the main lobby/dining area but it is slow. We didn't have any issues with competition for its use though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persephone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Passengership Avanti
Passengership Avanti
#112 of 338 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#103 of 338 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Q-Factory Hotel
#120 of 338 in Amsterdam
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#279 of 338 in Amsterdam
115 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#156 of 338 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Angeline
Hotelboat Angeline
#25 of 338 in Amsterdam
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vita Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vita Nova

Address: Oosterdok 4, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vita Nova 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Vita Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vita Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing