We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and relaxing houseboat!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jordaan Houseboat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
robjdmeie...
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing houseboat!!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The houseboat was very clean and very comfortable. We stayed almost 10 days and truly enjoyed everything about it. Sitting on the deck was such a fun experience, watching the busy canal life happen while we were having breakfast in the mornings and chilling at night. Feeding the swans was also really nice. The kitchen is so cute and perfect view of the boots coming by with people waving back and forth. We highly recommend this houseboat! :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Great review! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Apartments Unlimited thanks you too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for 4 nights on the houseboat, my husband, my father and I. It was delightful. Everything there we needed. Location is fantastic. I highly recommend Karins Houseboat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your feedback. We Apartments Unlimited are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and hope seeing you soon again.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive4569
Andorra
1 review
“Perfect location to experience all Amsterdam has to offer”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

karin's house boat is in a great location for accessing the centre of Amsterdam whilst being quiet too. The boat gives you a real experience of living in a houseboat in Amsterdam. It is well equipped and feels like home from home. The lounge area and the bedroom are spacious , the bathroom is modern and the kitchen is fully equipped making self catering easy. Karin is a great host and communicated with us well. We felt confident that we knew where to find the houseboat and that we would be met on arrival . Highly recommended! Thanks Karin

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review. Very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Apartments Unlimited has many more different properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleMe...
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Floating Oasis in a Beehive of Activity”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I traveled to Amsterdam last year and stayed in a four star hotel but were resolute to stay in a canal houseboat on this trip. Most were booked, but Karin's Houseboat had availability and we are SO glad it was. I don't have much to add to other reviews - they well cover the 'property'. Just a few observations/comments:

1) The location is fantastic. Walking distance to all major city sites plus the Central station if you want to head out of town.

2) The Prinsengracht canal is the 4th from the city center but is one of the busiest in terms of tour boat traffic. You will have steady stream of tourists passing only feet from your boat most of the day. You can enjoy their envy as they watch you drink proseco from your small deck which gets great afternoon sun (shaded by trees nicely too).

3) The Saturday market is amazing and RIGHT outside your door. Incredible selection of food. Make sure to hit that if you stay over a weekend. You can prepare anything in your kitchen. The Monday market is mostly clothes. Not as interesting to us, but if you are into vintage clothes or fabric, be prepared to spend time there.

4) Our minuses are the same as those mentioned by others. The male latrine outside is unfortunate for Karin, but hey, your in Europe - go with it. There is a washer/dryer on the boat but it was out of order. My sense was that was more or less a permanent status. But there is a laundromat just a block down Westerstraat that is easy to use. Bring plenty of Euro coins.

5) The kitchen on the boat is small, but well equipped and has two big windows out on the busy canal. We spent MUCH less on food than we did when we stayed at a hotel as we found ourselves making most meals. There are two really nice small grocery stores just down the street on Westerstaat. We liked the "Jumbo" store on the right. We were amazed how affordable the meat, cheese, wine, and other fresh food was. There is a liquor store down a bit farther on right.

6) For a fun and quick trip out of town, check out Haarlem - just two train stops away or rent bikes and make that your destination. Wonderful city square with an incredible church.

This is a wonderful option for a couple to enjoy and discover Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - overall experience of staying on a canal boat.
Liked least: Would love for more windows to open.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and happy to hear that your experience in the city has been that nice.
Hope to host you again soon
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynan...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped house boat in good location”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Karin was perfect host she was patient when our flight was delayed, then quickly took us through how to use tv, heating etc. Thoughtful touches too like - vase of fresh flowers, wine, beer and nuts on arrival. The boat is great, comfortable and tastefully furnished and with everything you need if you actually want to cook while on holiday (we do)! The only small negatives were the shower - which had been recently installed but the screen wan't ready so we had a shower curtain taped to the shower tray, not ideal. The water pressure is low so we struggled to get a hot shower. The rest of the bathroom is gorgeous though and I'm sure it will only be a temporary issue.
The only other point in terms of location - there is a men's public urinal very close to the boat, which is rather off-putting when you sit on the deck as the smell wafts across. Perhaps some strategically placed potted plants may help? We picked this place so we could sit out so this was a bit disappointing considering the relatively high cost of the houseboat. Otherwise a very nice place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Dear Karin,
thank you for your review.
We and the owners always try to make your stay confortable and nice, so yes: the shower issue is temporary, and we are working on it.
About the men's urinal: its position is not up to us, but your idea about put some plants is actually very smart: thank you for that!
Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing