We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel in inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #125 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel in inconvenient location”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hotel was modern and well equipped, and there is a fridge in the room.

Inexpensive by Amsterdam standards.

The room was small compared to Australian hotels but was not small by Amsterdam standards (whereby most rooms are very small), however, being this far out from the centre I would have thought the land would be cheaper and that they could have made the rooms bigger. The room did have a fold out couch which was useful as I was travelling with a friend.

The hotel is close to the metro and tram station. We got the tram to the centre but the trams are not particularly regular and it is a long ride. If you are a tourist wanting to see the historic centre, I would not recommend this hotel purely based on the location. That said, a hotel of equivalent quality in the centre would be more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4sure86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    1,330
    424
    109
    70
See reviews for
727
563
124
815
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monthey, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed at the Novotel Amsterdam for on night in feb, and is not a bad hotel.

The room was nice but small, i got a 2 beds room unfortunately (I hate when I dont get the room I need to get), but that was ok. The bathroom was great, and the minibar was not that expensive).

One funny thing is that the wifi is free, but when you use the cable, you need to pay 5.75eur a day! And for me, this is CRAZY! I found no sign of that fee, and when i go down to leave, the front desk guy told me was because i got "high speed internet" via the cable.... .... I was unable to watch a small clip on youtube, so not sure where was the high speed their!

But except that, if you are in Amsterdam for the RAI, i think this hotel is really good. (just was a bit strange to see the black / dirty nails of the front desk guy at the check in time!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us and other travelers about your stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. I therefore would like to reply on your comments in order to inform other travelers about your review.

WIFI is free of charge and available throughout the entire hotel. If you do not bring a laptop with you, Novotel Amsterdam City also provides computers in our lobby to use free of charge. For cabled, faster internet, we ask a fixed fee per day. This is clearly mentioned on the desk in your hotel room and needs to be accepted before use.
The signal for watching a youtube movie might have been slow due to the settings or restrictions of your company computer. Our security department would have been happy to assist you and solve this matter for you while you were staying with us.

The hygiene- and dress code of the hotel is clearly defined. I have taken notice of your comment. This is discussed internally in order to prevent future occurrence.

Of course, I regret this has affected your overall feeling of your visit to Amsterdam. I do thank you for informing us and it is our hope to better serve you in the near future.

With kind regards,
NOVOTEL AMSTERDAM CITY


Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Fair sized rooms, clean and tidy. Nice re-decorated bar and restaurant area. Breakfast is al-right, order your own omelette is a nice feature. The dinner menu is rather boring, and so is the food. I'd eat out elsewhere if possible. A thank you to the excellent bartender who took very good care of us, mixing up drinks on request.

Room service was slow, 30+ minutes for a simple dish. TV signal kept dropping out for no apparent reason. And Novotel please, one ironing board placed in the hallway to be shared by the whole floor is not good enough. I'd like on in my room.

Location is ideal for visitors to the RAI (convention centre), but not the best choice for exploring the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrejens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here whilst attending meeting at the Rai. So the hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the Rai and 3 minutes from a Train/Metro /Tram station. About 30 min or less from airport wit h about 6 trains an hour to the airport.

Rooms are reasonably sized and shower works well. Good supply of shampoo and body lotion.

Pillows too soft but there are extra in the wardrobe.

Breakfast is fine and they have newspapers to read whilst having your breakfast. Mixed fruit for putting on your cereal, but pineapple mixed with melon and apple, whereas I just prefer pineapple only.

There is nowhere in particular to walk to after the conference - there are some restaurants around which seem OK - I had a pizza in a Sicilian place and it was quite nice and good value - pizza, beer and salad was about €20.

The hotel itself seemed fairly expensive for what was there - €149 incl B'fast + Sales Tax, per night. It would have been better to stay in a hotel near the centre of Amsterdam and then commute to the Rai.

Museums etc seem to close around 5pm so if you want to see anything you need to arrive early.

Room Tip: Stay near centre of Amsterdam and commute to the Rai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinDereDoneDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Although this hotel is not in the centre of Amsterdam it is still a great place to stay.

We spent 2 nights here the beginning of February and were not dissappointed. The hotel lobby is very modern and spotless, even though it had been snowing and people were walking through with wet feet constantly.

The rooms are not the largest we have ever stayed in but there is plenty of room with the usual, TV, mini bar etc. Again the room was spotless, the bathroom had plenty of space, clean towels etc.

We didnt eat there but the menu looked nice enough with plenty of choice and seemed quite good value for money.

Like I said earlier this hotel is not in the centre of Amsterdam, infact it is a good 20 minute tram ride away, but with the trams been very regular and on time this isnt a problem. In fact we bought a 24 hour pass and used it to visit places we havent been to before. The tram (no 4) ends just a few minutes walk from the hotel and there is also a train station at the same place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubs789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,008 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): $162 - $299
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing