We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
612
450
224
165
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
450
224
165
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop on hop boat tour hour bus gassan diamond factory discounted tickets different routes day ticket your bearings rainy day heineken experience the red light district boats canal circuit 24hr app overview
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely way to travel between attractions. Our guide Libertad was exceptionally helpful an pleasant. Bought pass late in day but good for 24 hours do was able to take full advantage the next day. Very clean.

Thank stantonsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear stantonsue,

Thanks so much for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to hear you were able to enjoy our Hop-On Hop-Off services around Amsterdam and that the host Libertad, was “exceptionally helpful an pleasant”, we will make sure to forward her your positive compliments.

Hoping you had a lovely time on the rest of your stay, please receive our kind regards,
City Sightseeing Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

What an amazing service from all the drivers and hosts, especially to one specific host , Katherine! Thank you for your patience in explaining to us the different stops and recommending different tours that you offer. I also notice that she always greets the passengers with a smile and is very pleasant! The driver she was with is a good driver too! Thank you!
I definitely recommend to get the combo boat and bus tour! Worth the money because you get to experience both.
Thank you!!

Thank vksp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear vksp24,

Thank you so much for your uplifting review. Using the hop-on-hop-off boat + bus is certainly, one of the best ways to get around Amsterdam while enjoying the beautiful views of the canals. We are pleased to hear you made the best out of your tickets and that Katherine contributed to making your experience better ;)

Kind regards,
City Sightseeing Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We’ve taken Hop On Hop Off tours all over the world and I’d unfortunately rank this one as one of the worst for a couple reasons:
1) Narration - one of the things we enjoy most about theses types of tours are the history learned describing what you’re seeing. Even on a recent HOHO tour in San Francisco, not only was there ample recorded narration, but a live tour guide providing their colorful narration on the history of San Fran! I’ve been to San Fran many times, but had never taken a HOHO tour and learned so much!!

Here in Amsterdam, a city rich in history, there’s barely a peep from the recording - often leaving you wondering are your headphones broken. There are only about a dozen stops and most of what you hear is dead silence not even filler music!

2) Air flow in the bus - the buses in Amsterdam are closed top. Now, I understand in a city that gets cold if you want your business to be open year round you have to keep your patrons comfortable, but the same should hold true in the summer. It happens to be in the low 80s and although the windows were open it just wasn’t enough. And it’s a glass top the doesn’t retract or open at all. It was kind of like sitting in a greenhouse!! Due to the tour being rather short and city traffic, there wasn’t much opportunity to get good airflow because we mostly stopped at either an actual stop or a traffic light.

So, for these reasons I’m out! I’d suggest finding another tour or do the city on your own.

And one more thing - there are no signs in the city indicating whether the stops are, so you better remember where you got off so you’ll know where to get back on!

Thank pfambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear pfambro

Thank you for sharing your experience though we regret that we could not meet your expectations. During the tour, we try to share as much information as possible, but we also want to give our guests the time and space to enjoy the view. If the sound is not optimal we obviously like to hear it directly so that we can find a solution for this. Unfortunately because of the tram lines, it is not allowed to drive with an open roof for any company in Amsterdam. In the summer when getting high temperatures we do our best to keep the temperature in the bus as low as possible and we regret that you had an unpleasant experienced Amsterdam is not a big city so the bus will stop more often than in places like San Francisco. This way every city has its own charms ..Luckily we also offer several cruises that are perfect for exploring and perhaps this would have given you a more satisfied feeling. We hope we can welcome you again for a new and improved experience.

Kind regards,
CitySightseeing Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Would recommend/advise anyone to do this!
I’ve personally done it many times and it doesn’t get old.
We got the boat and bus ticket.
Amazing way to see the city, with amazing views.
Staff always happy and helpful.
The boat is nice to chill out, listen to the audio if wanted and see what Amsterdam has to offer.
The bus is a faster route of getting around, out of the 2.
Handy if doing any sight seeing/activities as good to use as transport and both bus & boat stop right outside certain attractions.
Useful, knowledgeable and fun.

Thank kbleyting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear kbleyting,

Thank you for sharing your experience. When exploring Amsterdam, our Hop on Hop off service is indeed one of the most convenient and fun ways to get around. With a wide range of stops, you can easily get to all the main attractions, and it is a joy to hear how much you have enjoyed the bus and boat experience. We hope you have a great time in Amsterdam and please come again!

Kind regards,
City Sightseeing Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We had an overnight stay in Amsterdam when on a cruise at the end of May. The ship was docked fairly close to the town but the road into town was very busy especially with bicycles and not a very pleasant walk. Luckily this company has a stop in the port so it was a very convenient way to get into the heart of the town. Unfortunately we prebooked before the trip so had to walk into town to get the tickets so don't do that if you are on a cruise as you can buy actual tickets at the port. You pay slightly more but you then have the convenience of getting into town in a pleasant way on the water. The boat trips covered everywhere worth visiting and it was easy getting on an off the boats. The bus trip however, was probably not worth bothering with as it goes around the outskirts of the city and not very interesting. On our way back to the ship on the last canal cruise for the night it started to rain heavily. We didnt have coats with us and even catching a taxi would have involved a walk from the cruise boat so we would have got soaked. The captain of the cruise boat (Marc Rubén) shouted us back (having checked with someone that it was ok to do it) and said that he had to park the boat outside of the city for the night and offered to take us back to the cruise ship on his way! He saved us getting very wet and on the way, he gave us more information about the city and where to visit. He was a lovely man who clearly enjoyed his job and went above and beyond to help us as tourists - something we haven't encountered in any other city in the world. Well done for employing such an able and enthusiastic employee. All other staff were very good as well by the way! We are going back to Amsterdam to stay longer and will use the service again.

Thank Travelmad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear Travelmad1960,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review! It makes us extremely proud to hear your compliments. We always strive to make each visit a unique experience and hearing about the service our colleague Marc Ruben provided you with is truly wonderful. We are happy that he made sure you enjoyed the cruise and arrived safe and dry back at the ship. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future for another wonderful experience. Hopefully, there will be a bit more sunshine the next time :)

Witg kind regards,
CitySightseeing Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews