We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
33
106
71
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
106
71
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightplace to stayfresh orange juicebed was very comfortablevery nice hotelgroninger museumhotel is situatedvisit groningenbilliardsheating
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Pictures we based our reservation on didn't match the room. We got the tiniest, most dated room we've ever seen. Then we needed to pay to get an upgrade to a "standard" room. So what was the other room then. New room was great though. The location of the hotel is great for exploring the city. Make sure you get a 3rd or 4th floor room so you don't hear the students at night in the street.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BastiaanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate S, Guest Relations Manager at Martini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear BastiaanS,

Thank you for writing a review about us. Always good to know how our customers have experienced their stay with us. We will internally discuss your remark about the "standard" room.

Kind regards,
Renate - Martini Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Martini Hotel for one night because there was some trouble with another hotel reservation and I needed a bed last minute. The staff was very friendly and checked me in quickly.
The room has clearly been renovated. The bed was very comfortable, everything was very clean. The bathroom was definitely on the smaller side, but overall I really liked the room.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and the internet worked well. The location is extremely convenient as well (right in the center of Groningen), so overall I highly recommend Martini Hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Szilvi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate S, Guest Relations Manager at Martini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Szilvi K,

Thank you very much for the great rating you have given us! And good to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Renate - Martini Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with 2 rooms as was booked by us 1 1/2 months early. The rooms as advertised are small actually very tiny . Ceiling very low. Rooms are not in a good condition with blockage of water in sink as well as bath area. The windows in both rooms had big cracks. We requested for a change of room and we got a room with a big spider web . I have no idea, looking at the size of the web ,how would they have Missed cleaning it.

The attitude of the ladies at the reception comes out to be very cold . The smile is defiantly not genuine . Many housekeeping staff would not smile or say hello. Interestingly this attitude was seen only in the hotel not outside. People outside ( in Groningen) like those working in restaurants , train and bus are very friendly. Very warm in-fact.

The feeling of grand era ( as advertised 1930) is only seen in the restaurant and bar. I do not think one requires to stay in the hotel to get that feeling ,as the rooms are in quite a bad condition.

The laundry facility as advertised by them needs a special mention. The meaning of laundry as per them is only washing ( I am not sure if they use laundry liquid for clothes) it does NOT INCLUDE IRONING.

Breakfast is absolutely the same every day.
Not a very friendly hotel.

Not recommended at all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yamini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate S, Guest Relations Manager at Martini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Yamini M,

So sorry to read that we have not met your expectations. I will discuss your review with our manager, because the last thing we want is people to think our staff are not friendly and our rooms are not clean. That is most certainly not how it should be!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can only learn from this!

Kind regards,
Renate - Martini Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. The public areas of the hotel are very cozy. Beautiful windows on every landing. Everything very fresh at breakfast. Our room was tiny. You could barely walk around the bed. You went up small wooden stairs to get to a small landing which had a desk and wardrobe. Very dated shower room off this. My husband said the room was clean but I felt it was so dated it felt dirty. Hotel is right in the centre of Groningen which is a lovely town. We were here in June for the Moto GP so know it well. Beautiful restaurants and cafes. Great for shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank skinnersi0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate S, Guest Relations Manager at Martini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear skinnersi0m,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about us. Yes indeed, some of our rooms are dated, but please note that they are indeed very clean.

And should you be in Groningen again some time soon, please be advised that we also have rooms that are more modern than the room you have stayed in.

Kind regards,
Renate - Martini Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel just in the centre of Groningen. Old traditional atmosphere and modernizes to today's standards. Second time here. Very good choice for breakfast. Good service. Groningen is beautiful and the Groninger Museum is grear!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MartenBos55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate S, Guest Relations Manager at Martini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear MartenBos55,

Thank you very much for the good rating and the nice review!

Kind regards,
Renate - Martini Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews